Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big bang!
A gripping account of the famous physicists diagnosis of motor neuron disease at the age of 21, and his subsequent discoveries in the field of cosmology, in particular his work on the big bang and black holes. Hawking's neurological demise is excellently portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch, and the blossoming relationship between Hawking and his future wife Jane, in the...
Published on 16 May 2005

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had a seen this film before watching The Theory of Everything
I wish I had a seen this film before watching The Theory of Everything because this is good, but the latest film is so much better. And it's made better by a superior screenplay. Cumberbatch is good, as he always is; but Redmayne's performance is heartrending, and it is all down to the screenplay. This TV version tries to be too superior and clever; too intelligent for...
Published 1 month ago by Gullible Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big bang!, 16 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
A gripping account of the famous physicists diagnosis of motor neuron disease at the age of 21, and his subsequent discoveries in the field of cosmology, in particular his work on the big bang and black holes. Hawking's neurological demise is excellently portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch, and the blossoming relationship between Hawking and his future wife Jane, in the face of his rapidly diminishing health, is beautifully depicted. Hawking's realisation of the concept that led to his explanation of the big bang is an incredibly uplifting moment. I could not recommend this highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang Cumberbatch, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
Jen (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
So while there's all the buzz about the Theory of Everything, no-one's mentioned that Cumberbatch had given a portrayal of Hawking at university and the time of his diagnosis in this quiet, understated film from the BBC for which he was Bafta nominated. Great British supporting cast with well-known faces, Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Ticked all my boxes', 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
Have been interested in SH since 1980+/-. Am inspired and encouraged by people's heroic struggles against the odds and this is really one of those. Enjoyed the 'fictional' private life that was depicted, and loved the scientific parts. For someone who does not know that much, this film neatly sorted out precisely what SH accomplished when it came to the 'static universe' debate. As for the scenes depicting the two Nobel Prize winners who discovered the residual hiss of the big bang, this movie was worth watching for that alone. And of course am a big Cummberbatch fan, and enjoyed his performance just as much as I always do. I wish there'd been more, but what was there was really worth it, and is a movie that will be watched again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physics and disability as a human adventure, 4 May 2014
By 
Shirley Herbert (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
What a beautifully done, inspiring film which several times brought tears to my eyes as it celebrated both the human spirit and physics as an adventure of the mind! It also reminds us what a good actor Benedict Cumberbatch is. Here he uses his physicality to portray a body becoming more and more disabled. In his recent role as the Frankenstein monster, he labors in anguish to gain control of his newly created body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible performance, 27 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
Hawking is one of the better BBC productions, and Ben Cumberbatch manages to portray the scientist in his early years both beautifully and saddening. Not only does the film cover the most important of Hawking's ideas, but, more importantly, his disease and his way of dealing with it and fighting a fight that everyone thought he had already lost. It's a very inspirational film with a perfect performance by the actors.

I highly recommend this film, because it shows how strong a human being can be when both physical and professional obstacles are thrown in his way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my mind I'm free !!, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or MND is a terrible condition that in most cases leads to death in 3 years with only 4% surviving up to 10 years , Stephen Hawking is unique in having survived for 50 years with the affliction and it is testament to his incredible intellect that has been able to contribute so much to the understanding of cosmology specifically the " big bang " and the existence of black holes. Benedict Cumberbatch brilliantly portrays Professor Hawking when he was diagnosed with MND at the age of 21 and still a fledgling Ph.D student. The rest of Stephen Hawking's life is well documented but this early account is worth watching as it shows that even when presented with the most terrible prognosis it is still possible to lead a fulfilling life. Not many scientists can have had a more profound effect on our understanding of why we exist and where we're going , he is an inspiration to all those who come into contact with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic production and valuable history, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Myllyluoma (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
The contribution of the cast as well as the production crew (many familiar names here for Sherlock as well as Who fans) need no further comment. Other reviewers have already expounded at length upon exactly how top-notch all of it is, and it is all true.

The film focuses upon a few but very important years in Hawking's life; his time as graduate student at Cambridge 1962-1965.
The timeline is slightly blurred for dramatic reasons -- e.g. in reality, Hawking was admitted to Trinity Hall in 1962, and was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in 1963, while the movie flips these events around -- but the movie has a very interesting device in that it occasionally flashes forward to 1978 and an interview session with Robert Wilson and Arno Penzias on the eve of their Nobel Prize. And while it's all just a matter of historical record, the following may contain some plot spoilers:

In experimenting with the Holmdel horn antenna 1964-65, the pair had discovered a persistent background noise, but had absolutely no clue as to what might be causing it. They even went to the point of shooting the pigeons nesting in the antenna and removing their droppings (or "white dielectric material") as one, for them, plausible source for the signal.
At the same time, Hawking had had an epiphany about applying Roger Penrose's theorem of a spacetime singularity in the centre of black holes to the university as a whole, and how the flow of time of an implosion reversing in the singularity would instead cause a bang -- a Big Bang. In 1965, he wrote his thesis on this topic.

In the movie, Professor Fred Hoyle challenges his conclusions by stating that according to Hawking's theory, there ought to be residual heat in the universe, and that somebody ought to have detected it by now...
Which ties in with the flash-forwards, because the cosmic microwave background radiation that Wilson and Penzias got the Nobel Prize for having accidentally stumbled upon, was of course nothing but the residual heat that Hawking had predicted in his PhD thesis. Neither Hawking, nor any of the other people -- David Wilkinson, Robert Dicke, Jim Peebles, etc -- that contributed to actually explaining the discovery, shared in the 1978 Physics Prize.

Interestingly enough, to date Stephen Hawking, the one cosmologist who must have had the most profound impact of all upon Humanity's understanding of the origins of our cosmos and our appreciation of the grand design of the universe -- beyond even that of Albert Einstein -- has, himself, not been awarded a Nobel Prize.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was a brilliant film. I'm a big fan of Benerdict Cumberbatch ..., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a brilliant film. I'm a big fan of Benerdict Cumberbatch and he really does do the story justice.
It's a very thought provoking film about love, disability and working independence. A brilliant mind and a failing body, how some people cope and don't give up. Well worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely TV film with an excellent plot and cinematography, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawking [DVD] (DVD)
Exceptional performance by Benedict Cumberbatch! A lovely TV film with an excellent plot and cinematography. It would have made a great film to see on big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 2 nobel prize winner interview is very funny, all in all a good film to, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Hawking (DVD)
Very well played, however the story stops abruptly I found. The 2 nobel prize winner interview is very funny, all in all a good film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawking [DVD]
Hawking [DVD] by Philip Martin (DVD - 2013)
£9.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews