Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolliking Ride Through The Hidden Meanings Around Us
This film is wonderful. It attempts to show us the tinted spectacles we are viewing the world through without knowing it. I found it very stimulating and full of penetrating insights. Although in the form of a lecture, it is never boring as it uses witty changes of scenery and extensive use of film clips from the world of cinema. Some are classic which films everyone will...
Published 18 months ago by NotBob

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Speaking as a philosopher ...
As, inter alia, a philosopher, I was naturally interested in this film, presented as it is by someone also so describing himself. Many of the ideas -largely borrowed from left theory of the last sixty years or so - are gripping and persuasive. The disastrous element of the film is that some things, including complex ideas, do not lend themselves to presentation as clever...
Published 12 months ago by Giles Penfold


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolliking Ride Through The Hidden Meanings Around Us, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
This film is wonderful. It attempts to show us the tinted spectacles we are viewing the world through without knowing it. I found it very stimulating and full of penetrating insights. Although in the form of a lecture, it is never boring as it uses witty changes of scenery and extensive use of film clips from the world of cinema. Some are classic which films everyone will have seen but the author shows us how to read them differently (eg. "The Sound of Music"); others are little-known, or forgotten, gems which you will want to look up and see afterwards. There are some clips of shocking propaganda films which everyone should see although they are difficult to watch such a Nazi anti-Semitic propaganda. I saw this at the cinema and quite literally sat forward in my seat the whole time trying to follow every word. I intend to buy a DVD copy to study it again at leisure. Well worth buying. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but insightful, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
This series (Perverts Guide To..) takes a humorous and quirky approach to academic study. It is a great way to get older teenagers interested as it is funny and perceptive and tends to make complex ideas accessible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideology attacked and sent to the gallows for rehabilitation, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
David Wineberg "David Wineberg" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to see this film because Zizek is quoted more and more often in books I review. I wanted to see who he is. He is a twitchy philosopher and political scientist with a lot to say. What is most interesting is that he frames his philosophy in popular films from all over. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of films, and extracts the points he wants to make from the unlikeliest of them. It makes his theories instantly relevant, possible and palatable, and keeps you in your seat. You never know what's coming next.

Most entertaining is Zizek putting himself in recreated sets of the films he uses as examples, in costume. He appears in Jaws, Titanic, Seconds, Dark Knight, West Side Story, Taxi, Sound of Music and numerous others that he employs to dismantle the foundations of modern society. He shows the undermining of justice, of authority, of religion, of The Big Other - and uses them to show that they actually demonstrate the very opposite of what they appear to stand for. That's an accomplishment.

There is plenty to disagree with. Zizek comes up with a theory that love and couples are incidental to the stories in films. But there would be no film industry without the love interest, the struggle to consummate a relationship, the sacrifice, the betrayal, and all the other mechanisms that make film stories attractive to audiences. You almost want to stop the film and call him up and say - how can you say that?

It is a long film that covers a lot of territory. But it covers it entertainingly on several levels: the explanation from within the set, the clips from the films themselves, and the linking of them to make his points. If this lecture were a book, the pages would be soaked with highlighter.

David Wineberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good in places, 24 May 2014
Essentially a Marxist Criticism of Hollywood, Slavoj Zizek has some interesting observations on famous Hollywood movies. But some of the movies he reviews are so obviously flim-flam light entertainment ie Sound Of Music!?, that the horse has long bolted! I couldn't get all his ideas (the Last Temptation of Christ has an underlying atheistic message?!) but it's great to watch something that requires a little thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
This film allows you to read between the lines of movies and gives you a deep insight into the ideologies behind past and recent motion pictures. Perfect for a film student!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Speaking as a philosopher ..., 20 May 2014
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
As, inter alia, a philosopher, I was naturally interested in this film, presented as it is by someone also so describing himself. Many of the ideas -largely borrowed from left theory of the last sixty years or so - are gripping and persuasive. The disastrous element of the film is that some things, including complex ideas, do not lend themselves to presentation as clever soundbites, and it is this simplification which leads to distortion and indeed absurdity. Secondly, some of the ideas themselves - such as that Catholicism is not 'really' anti-sex, anti-pleasure, homophobic and sexist but secretly, as it were, blesses and encourages the sensual hedonist - are simply irresponsible drivel, having no evidence to support them. Indeed, the whole film is a series of assumptions which would have benefited from the adducing of evidence rather than the display of so-called examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zizek Rendered (Almost) Comprehensible, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who has perused Zizek's literature will be aware of his confusing lexicon and impenetrable prose. Happily, this DVD seems to boast old wacky Slavoj at his simplest. The ideas are interesting whether one finds them convincing or not, and Zizek is engaging and at times humorous. I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential viewing if you want to understand why the world is in such a mess, 20 April 2014
By 
Clive Menzies (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
Our political and economic systems have created a global oligopoly which has evolved through total control of our world view through media - we've been collectively brainwashed for over 100 years. Zizek's analysis gives us insights into how advertising and Hollywood have created the illusion of freedom and choice while enslaving us into an ideology of consumption and celebrity. We need to fight to put on the glasses of reality and retake control.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
loved the movie downloaded it via TPB then bought it to support good movie makers.

Good movie makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] (DVD)
Good fun and stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD]
The Pervert's Guide To Ideology [DVD] by Sophie Fiennes (DVD - 2013)
£18.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews