Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting story
This is the very exciting story of Bernard,Mavis,Kathleen and Francis,and how they rescued a mermaid.They are playing on the beach when a hand comes out of the sea and grasps Francis's foot,and they hear a sweet voice say,"Save her.We die in captivity."When they get back to their lodgings they learn that a memaid has been captured and is being exhibited by a local...
Published on 25 Feb 2003 by C. M. Collier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Daylight Snobbery
This is not, alas, as classic as Nesbit's other books. There's a streak of condescension towards the lower classes that strikes the modern reader as patronizing. The undersea wars are a bit tedious, but do reveal a lot about Edwardian military attitudes - after all, this is the generation that went off to die in the trenches. If you're a Nesbit fan, approach with Cuation!
Published 19 months ago by Andrew G. Matthews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting story, 25 Feb 2003
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wet Magic (Hardcover)
This is the very exciting story of Bernard,Mavis,Kathleen and Francis,and how they rescued a mermaid.They are playing on the beach when a hand comes out of the sea and grasps Francis's foot,and they hear a sweet voice say,"Save her.We die in captivity."When they get back to their lodgings they learn that a memaid has been captured and is being exhibited by a local circus,and the race is on to save her.
After this escape,there are plenty more adventures under the sea and,as usual,the original illustrations are a joy.All in all,this is another cracking E Nesbit tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charming mermaid fantasy, 24 July 2010
By 
Ms. L. Anani "vampi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Enchanting children's underwater fantasy, that has been criminally overlooked. E Nesbit manages to capture the essence of childhood. Reading this as an adult I loved it, but would have adored it even more when I was younger. An absolute must for mermaid fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 15 July 2013
By 
T. Jaray (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wet Magic (Kindle Edition)
I have always loved this book, I have it as a 'book' and got it on my Kindle as back-up.
Again, a very old-fashioned story, but it does take place about 100 years ago, so what else would you expect.
It is a children's book, but personally I think I have enjoyed it as an adult more.
I say "Sabrina Fair" whenever I am by the sea - and it is very fitting, as I live near the River Severn, which is also called Sabrina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still good!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Seagull (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wet Magic (Kindle Edition)
I read - and loved - this book as a child, so was a bit wary about re-reading it as an adult. Happily I was not disappointed. Her characters are engaging and believable, their adventures are original and absorbing. Even if this book is not regarded as one of E.Nesbit's classics, the excellence of her writing shows just why her books remains in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treat!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Martin J. Valenttine (Lake District, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wet Magic (Paperback)
I have enjoyed Edith Nesbit's work for years and this one of the lesser known works is a sheer delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Daylight Snobbery, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wet Magic (Kindle Edition)
This is not, alas, as classic as Nesbit's other books. There's a streak of condescension towards the lower classes that strikes the modern reader as patronizing. The undersea wars are a bit tedious, but do reveal a lot about Edwardian military attitudes - after all, this is the generation that went off to die in the trenches. If you're a Nesbit fan, approach with Cuation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wet Magic (Illustrated)
Wet Magic (Illustrated) by Edith Nesbit
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews