Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that the music industry isn't all terrible nowdays
Seriously. She's that good. Just listen to the samples. I first heard Lorde a while back, and thought she'd just be another one of those artists that I love and nobody else really knows about. Bought her EP, Royals, and loved it to death. But then to my joy, she started showing up on TV and things, getting mainstream recognition and generally becoming super popular, and...
Published 9 months ago by Meis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
BORING! BORING! BORING!

Nothing Else To Say. As I Was Most Disappointed 😡 x
Published 7 days ago by HillbillyStevie 😉 x


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that the music industry isn't all terrible nowdays, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Seriously. She's that good. Just listen to the samples. I first heard Lorde a while back, and thought she'd just be another one of those artists that I love and nobody else really knows about. Bought her EP, Royals, and loved it to death. But then to my joy, she started showing up on TV and things, getting mainstream recognition and generally becoming super popular, and it's so well-deserved! People really need to support these kinds of artists - show the industry that people care more about talent and good music than 'image'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good first CD, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
This is one of the strongest CDs I have purchased for a long time. Very good to listen in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, brilliant [and moody] from start to finish. Get it!, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Did you know that Ella Yelich-O'Connor (let's call her simply Lorde) created and produced this album, "Pure Heroine" almost by herself, at the tender age of 16, and what she created feels really organic, living (and swimming in its own melancholia) and pure (yes, I almost refer to the title). Not to sound like a proud relative praising a precocious teen, I must underline that I did not really care how old she was, I was (and still am) juts enjoying the album - simple as that!

Okay, Lorde sounds a bit like Lana Del Rey, but does not Miley Cyrus sound like Taylor Swift, and Christina Aguilera like Britney Spears and vice versa. I do not mind the comparison and similarities, what the heck, bring them on, if the result will be so hypnotising and despondent (in the best possible uplifting way) and full of low murmur and gentle laughs and delights and intelligence.

Seriously, the more I listen to "Pure Heroine", the more I like it, it is definitely a grower. Just an example: while it is playing in the background, some songs will always bring my attention to them, no matter what I am doing. Which I think pretty much equals to the fact that there is more to the album than musings of some "bored" (as NME called her) teenager, yes, some of the songs are much catchier than the others, but I've listened to so many albums which, when played in the background, forever stayed there.

This is a beautiful, atmospheric if not a bit moody and impressive debut which has an almost magical feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (MP3 Download)
BORING! BORING! BORING!

Nothing Else To Say. As I Was Most Disappointed 😡 x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Loved Royals on Jools Holland, so this prompted me to buy the album. Didn't regret it. This girl will go far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
I brought this because I love Tennis court and Royals, all the songs are good though which is a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Cool voice for young girl
Easy listening
Songs can sound repetitive and similar
Wouldn't listen to more than once a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Great album, good talent from such a young girl from New Zealand. Well worth a listen and good addition to the music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lorde of Light (entertainment), 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (Audio CD)
Amazing song writer and singer. Not a bad track on the album. Lorde is going to be very big indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album ., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Heroine (MP3 Download)
Just travelled around New Zealand , beautiful country. Pure Heroine played a lot in car. Very fond memories of this wonderful country made ever so special when I listen again to this album . 5 star plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Heroine
Pure Heroine by Lorde (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews