Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN WAYNE AT HIS BEST.
There is little point in writing this review. If you are thinking of buying this film you are almost certainly a fan of the "Duke" and you probably know all about this film. If not, then just go and buy it. Undoubtedly my favourite film of all time. I could watch it over, and over again, endlessly.
There are so many parallels between this film and the great...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Christopher Smith

versus
39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor digital mastering and few extras
This is my favourite film. I've had it on video for some time, and expected the DVD version to be much better.
The picture is sharper, and sometimes too sharp when the artificial backdrops really show up - but that's just part of the quality of the time (1952), and not realy an issue.
What is an issue is the obviously sausage machine way that the mastering has...
Published on 14 May 2002


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN WAYNE AT HIS BEST., 17 May 2009
By 
Christopher Smith "Crusty" (The Black Country, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
There is little point in writing this review. If you are thinking of buying this film you are almost certainly a fan of the "Duke" and you probably know all about this film. If not, then just go and buy it. Undoubtedly my favourite film of all time. I could watch it over, and over again, endlessly.
There are so many parallels between this film and the great Westerns of John Wayne: same cast, same themes (tough guy wants quiet life but baddy won't let him) that you would be forgiven for thinking this film was just like the others. And there's the rub! If it were just formulaic John Wayne I would still love it. But it's not. It is so much more.

The scenery, the gentle Irish humour, the insight into quainter times is just enchanting. Everything I like about a John Wayne film is here but it is somehow better. The beautiful Maureen O'Hara is more attractive in this film than ever. The comedy is priceless. Victor McLaughlin is brilliant and there are equally brilliant performances littered throughout.
Then there is the music. Utterly fantastic, totally contrived diddle-de-diddle-dee-dee Irish folk type music but perfect and infectious. I love it, I love it, I love it! Go buy. It's impossible to regret owning this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old irish (blarney), 6 Sept. 2003
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The quiet man , (my eye) .
this film is a must for any film buff, it is a master piece of comedy, blarney, tragedy, & most of all just about the best film J.W.& M.O. ever made.
the 1 liners are timless,(he"ll regret it till his dying day ,
if ever he lives that long ) &(do yer see that road down there, well dont take that one, it"ll do you no gud at all ).
all in all an escalating film with a ending to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand movie it is!!, 23 Mar. 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
When one thinks of John Wayne they usually imagine Calvary, Indians and the Old West. But John, on occasion, did venture into other areas. In this instance, Ireland, and produced one of his most beloved films. It teams him with long time friends, Maureen O'Hara, Ward Bond, Victor McLaglen, Arthur Shields and Barry Fitzgerald (Shields & Fitzgerald were real life brothers), in a project that was near and dear to John Ford. If you think the old town patriarch resembles Ford, it's with reason - it was his father. Stocked with wonderful Irish character actors like David Farrar and Sean McClory, the ever delightful Jack MacGowan, Ken Curtis (Festus of TV's Gunsmoke as Dermot Fahy uncredited and singing! Former Sons of the Pioneers!!), Mildred Natwick as the Widow Tillane, along with Wayne's kids at the horse race scene.
Wayne is Sean Thornton, a quite peace loving man come home to Ireland. There is much speculation about the Yanks and why he has returned to the wee humble Irish village where his family was from. He was a fighter in the States named Trooper Thornton, but accidentally killed a man in the ring. Haunted by this he wants to go 'home' to his mother's Ireland and find peace. But his factious neighbours do not understand his reluctance to take on the town Bully Red Will Danaher in order to win the love of his wife O'Hara.
Often this movie is criticised as being the "Brigadoon" of Ireland, and that is so, but it's the Ireland of our hearts and imagination and obvious of Ford's heart and imagination. The dialogue is Witty, full of Irish quirkiness. Beautiful location work and the dynamite teaming of O'Hara and Wayne. With marvelous songs like Turalye Anne, Galway Bay, Isle of Innisfree and The Humour is On Me Now and more ( There is a soundtrack available on CD this movie as well).
For many years the version on VHS was a pale washed out copy, but this version gives you the 40 shades of green of Eire and the brilliant red hair of O'Hara, they way it should be. The DVD is so sharp, it's truly like seeing it for the first time.
At this steal of a price, every DVD should have a copy.
'Tis Grand, Aye, Grand indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rural Irish life in the 1920s, 23 Aug. 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
A mysterious yank (The Quiet Man) arrives on the train and asks for directions to Innisfree. This quiet man turns out to be returning to his home after a hard life in America. There he purchases his old home to the shegrim of the neighbor Red Will Danaher (Victor McLagen), who covets the house himself. We learn a few Irish no-nos; such as you do not play patty fingers with the holy water. I will not go through the whole story as it is fun to watch it unfold. However there is a good example of horse sense as the horse knows to stop at the pub for Michaeleen Oge Flynn (Barry Fitzgerald) whom has a very dry throat.
The scenery gives the story a run for its money.
Note the stars are always for content as different media is mixed in the reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor digital mastering and few extras, 14 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This is my favourite film. I've had it on video for some time, and expected the DVD version to be much better.
The picture is sharper, and sometimes too sharp when the artificial backdrops really show up - but that's just part of the quality of the time (1952), and not realy an issue.
What is an issue is the obviously sausage machine way that the mastering has been done with occasional green ring marks on the film which, if more carefully monitored would have been removed.
The sound is not great, but acceptable.
The extras are almost non-existant. The US version has more - e.g. the making of ...
Overall the DVD has better picture, and sound than the video, but could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oirish in the extreme, 10 Aug. 2003
By 
Liam Tighe "tighertie" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The quiet man is sexist, racist, derogitory. It approves of public disorder. The use of violence to settle disputes, wife beating, gambling, excessive drinking and the ancient practice of dowry. It is simply BRILLIANT. Once one realises that this world as portrayed by John Ford and crew never really existed (or did it) then you can enjoy this lark of a movie, which Wayne should have been awarded his second Oscar for. ( He should have got his first for "The Searchers") Pure hokum in the worst possible taste sure and begorra it was wonderful to behold. Relax and don't take life so seriously, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Irish 'Western'...., 20 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
With both the Duke, and Maureen O'Hara as his intended love interest plus John Ford returning to the land of his ancestors and directing in Technicolour, this has many ingredients of a decent Western. Whilst this isn't my favourite film to be filmed in - and about Ireland - David Lean's 'Ryan's Daughter' is, The Quiet Man remains one of the most loved, across all generations.

With everything centred around the pub, the colourful characters and fights over women, this is has yet more Western ingredients. Winner of two Oscars (Ford as director and cinematography) plus two venerable and charismatic actors providing much of the irascible blarney - veteran Ford regular Victor McLaglen, though always playing Irish is actually from Kent, England and Barry Fitzgerald as the matchmaking tippler.

If you've holidayed in Ireland, as I have, then that's a nice bonus as it brings back memories and, in for instance, the horse racing scene on the beach, the vast empty sands are a far cry to my jam-packed nearby beaches on the south coast. The scenery in this isn't always sunny and glossy - it's often a bit glum, with rain - this isn't a picture postcard from the Emerald Isle, but a rich slice of Irish life.

John Wayne is measured and sedate as ex boxer Sean Thornton, who has some demons to conquer when he's continually goaded into a fight. Once he gets over them, the fisticuffs at the end are brilliantly - and amusingly staged and well worth waiting for. Maureen O'Hara is as radiant as ever and, dare I say it, the Duke actually looks comfortable as her suitor.

My DVD copy (part of a 3 DVD set, with Rooster Cogburn and Stagecoach) is rather poor quality with a magenta fringe at times and rather a soft definition. I can't say whether transfer's differ for different releases. This does spoil one's enjoyment a bit but the strength of the film easily shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic John Wayne film, 10 Aug. 2013
By 
George Galli "paul" (gourock,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a great remastered version of the John Wayne classic film with clear vibrant colours ,the best version of it , thoroughly recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD Re-Master, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This re-master is faultless. I've read what others have said about the Universal versions and was put off buying a copy on account of already owning a slightly iffy print of 'She Wore a Yellow Ribbon' on the same label. This Paramount re-master is a totally different kettle of fish. A crisp, vividly defined and colourful picture. Buy a copy. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice Story, But ...., 27 Aug. 2007
By 
Mr. R. F. Shurvinton "shurvinton" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I remembered watching this film on TV when I was younger and thought at the low price of under £4 it would be a steal.

The storyline itself is amusing, and it's nice to see Mr Wayne in something other than a stetson.

However the quality of the film transferred to dvd is very poor. It may be that the master tape they used was dodgy or inferior to the studios' master copy. This fact made me rate what is a rather amusing story a lowly 2 stars.

Perhaps there is a better quality version of this film available on dvd by another distributor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews