Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic spy novel in the mould of the top authors.
Totally agree with the comments of hyperian. A really absorbing story which screams out to be made into a BBC produced series or British produced film ( to catch the atmosphere of the like of Tinker,Tailor). The author gives the real feel of how we were " up against it" and that the strategies of the intelligence services, when needed most, played a critical part. It...
Published 9 months ago by joe the peterman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars different
Still reading last chapter but getting there. More about behind the scenes than actually at the coal face so to speak.
Published 4 months ago by P. G. Gomer-Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic spy novel in the mould of the top authors., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Paperback)
Totally agree with the comments of hyperian. A really absorbing story which screams out to be made into a BBC produced series or British produced film ( to catch the atmosphere of the like of Tinker,Tailor). The author gives the real feel of how we were " up against it" and that the strategies of the intelligence services, when needed most, played a critical part. It looks as though DCI Garvan is in the position to provide further adventures into the doings of the cloak and dagger brigade and I look forward to reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the style of all the great crime writers!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
Very well researched superb detail, highly believable characters and a gripping and flowing storyline. Look forward to Toby's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent spy novel - well worth a read, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Paperback)
I entirely agree with Joe the Peterman’s comments about this book being an absorbing story which screams out to be made into a BBC produced series or British produced film ( to catch the atmosphere of stories such as Tinker, Tailor). I really can’t believe that the Amazon customer from Wales was actually reading the same book. For me it was well researched and a good read, I look forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched mystery, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
An easy to read, believable tale. Leaves you wondering. Hope there's a sequel in the offing! A budding new author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wartime novel with a very interesting twist., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
A thumping good read that moved a fast rate to keep the reader interested and turning the pages. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt by lack of editing, 18 May 2014
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
This could have been a good book but lack of editing has resulted in at least one spelling, punctuation or grammar error on each page. It makes it very difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars different, 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
Still reading last chapter but getting there. More about behind the scenes than actually at the coal face so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book (sadly not so great proofreading?), 11 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
Firstly, this was a great read. WWII murder and espionage in war- torn London, written in the style of the most popular authors in that genre. Excellent.

So why not 5 stars? My enjoyment was only marred by what seened to be a singular lack of proofreading. As Another reader had mentioned this, I thought I'd mark those i found, as some reviewers are overly critical of such things. After 10 pages of highlighted examples (notes on my kindle) I stopped.

Puntuation, spelling, omitted words & so on. Forgiveable in an author's draft, written as the "juices flowed", but less so in a published draft. But that's my only criticism.

Fortunately, the style and story lifted me above what might otherwise might have spoilt both. So I recommend this book to anyone who likes the genre and can get over their annoyance at these things.

I honestly hope to see more from this author and earnestly hope this will be the start of a series involving Garvan and the crew of intriguing, engaging characters. Please just invest in better proofreading to reward the author,s efforts.

(I felt guilty in giving 4 stars, so please ease my conscience in allowing me to give 5 next time!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
Well written and a greatwhodunit, without really bring a classic. The plot is complicated with many twists and turns and a lot of historical references. The characters are well written and the relationships within the groups are clearly defined.
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slow-paced story, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Codename Nicolette (Kindle Edition)
selected this book for star rating. Slightly disappointed as rather a mild story for my taste. However it gave a realistic description of the effects of bombing in London. A real criticism is not so much the author as Amazon as yet again, the grammar is so often mis- copied with the word a missed out and sentences copied incorrectly very often, givng me the impression that someone whose first language is not English has edited or copied the text.. This appears to be a regular feature of digitalised books of the less than favourite authors it seems. The story itself was fairly interesting with a lot of detail but was a bit pedantic and I couldn't get into the character of the female spies, whereas the two detectives were much more "alive", on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Codename Nicolette
Codename Nicolette by Toby Oliver
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews