Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Love Of Jerry
Bob Weir organised a party at his TRI Studio (in effect a concert with a load of guests) to celebrate Jerry's 70th birthday and this film is the result. It's a combination of concert footage intermixed with extracts from various interviews which include members of the Dead, Tiff Garcia (Jerry's brother) Mountain Girl, Steve Parrish, Jerry's daughters, Carlos Santana,...
Published 13 months ago by Cornish Deadhead

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninteresting
On August 3, 2013, Bob Weir organized a concert to commemorate the 70th birthday of the late Grateful Dead singer and guitarist Jerry Garcia. It was held in Weir’s TRI Studios in San Rafael, California, and was filmed by Justin Kreutzmann, son of the Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzman. The result is on this DVD and Blu-Ray, with about 2 hours of music and...
Published 10 months ago by Kirk McElhearn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Love Of Jerry, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Cornish Deadhead "Happy Harv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Me Brightly - Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Bob Weir organised a party at his TRI Studio (in effect a concert with a load of guests) to celebrate Jerry's 70th birthday and this film is the result. It's a combination of concert footage intermixed with extracts from various interviews which include members of the Dead, Tiff Garcia (Jerry's brother) Mountain Girl, Steve Parrish, Jerry's daughters, Carlos Santana, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Cassidy, Mike Campbell and others. The main film includes performances of:
Cumberland Blues
Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
Mission In The Rain
Shakedown Street
He's Gone
Eyes Of The World
Terrapin Station
Days Between
Franklin's Tower
US Blues

The running time of the main movie is about 2hr 10min, but there are extras which take it up to over 3hrs with additional songs being:
Dupree's Diamond Blues
Friend Of The Devil
Tennessee Jed
Ship Of Fools
Bird Song
New Speedway Boogie

So all in all not a bad selection of songs. The picture is high quality with the sound absolutely superb, and takes you almost there. However, the overriding feeling that came, indeed exuded from the movie was the love expressed for Jerry. I guess as his music has been an integral part of my life for so many years, I found it quite moving. His sense of fun and love of life was expressed by many, and it sounded as if a guitar was hardly ever out of his hand.

I consider the film a wonderful experience for anyone who loved Jerry's solo work or the Dead, so get yourself a copy soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The spirit of the Dead lives on., 8 Jan 2014
By 
G. H. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Me Brightly - Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
What I found particularly great about this was the fact that , musically, this was not some mere jam run-through of some Garcia songs. Instead, the musicians involved, led by Bob Weir, managed to find the right balance of respect and seriousness for the songs with a sense of adventure and fun. In other words, the approach the Dead adopted themselves. This makes for really uplifting and quite lovely music and it was truly encouraging to see Garcia's legacy being both celebrated and carried forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting tribute !, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film, well filmed with good sound and of interest to many music fans other than Dead Heads. Although a fan of the Dead I certainly did not like all they did but you have to respect the ability and musicality of Jerry Garcia and also Bob Wier who comes across so well in this tribute. A pet hate of mine is interviews that cut in to band performances and although it happens a couple of times here it does not really detract from enjoyment of the film. Pleased I bought this, great value and something to watch more than once for sure. A fitting tribute to a rock legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninteresting, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Move Me Brightly - Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
On August 3, 2013, Bob Weir organized a concert to commemorate the 70th birthday of the late Grateful Dead singer and guitarist Jerry Garcia. It was held in Weir’s TRI Studios in San Rafael, California, and was filmed by Justin Kreutzmann, son of the Grateful Dead drummer Bill Kreutzman. The result is on this DVD and Blu-Ray, with about 2 hours of music and interviews.

I was looking forward to this, but, man, was I disappointed. It’s Bill’s party; other than Donna Jean Godchaux who manages to sing about half the songs, the only other member of the Grateful Dead who plays is Phil Lesh, and only in one song. There are interviews with drummers Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart, but neither of them picks up the sticks. The band is made of mostly of musicians I’ve never heard of, and is pretty lethargic.

One thing that makes this a dull concert is the audience. Presumably made up of friends of the musicians, there were maybe 200 people in the tiny studio; it’s not a concert hall, after all. Weir could have organized something in a real concert hall with well-known musicians; it could have been a Last Waltz type of concert. But it was just a small show, for a select few, and it shows. The musicians had a few days to rehearse, but for the most part, the songs were sedate. At times, Bob couldn’t hit the high notes, and some songs – especially Shakedown Street – were just bad.

Actor Luke Wilson interviewed Jerry’s daughters and older brother, with banalities that, for the first few songs, cut into the music, then were later used between songs. (It’s a shame that one of the best-played songs – the first, Cumberland Blues – was cut with interviews.)

None of the stories any of the musicians or family members told were very interesting, the music was humdrum, and it just seemed like Bob Weir wanted something to celebrate himself, not Jerry. I could have done without this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Move Me Brightly - Celebrating Jerry Garcia's 70th Birthday [Blu-ray] [2013]
£12.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews