Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly moving book
this book is for anyone who has lost someone who means the world to them. the only thing which I didn't like was the constant going back and forth in time.
Published 7 months ago by Karen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a diary of bereavement
Not what I expected. Jumps back and forth through the years of her parents illness. I think it helped author to heal and move on from her parents deaths by writing it down, but not if you are looking for help with bereavement, shows that we all have our own way of coping with death.
Published 6 months ago by CaroleTaylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw account of grief, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
I liked the innovative structure of this; although the author moves about in time, relating episodes in a non-linear sequence, I found it worked well, added to the idea of fragmented nature of memory. The narrator isn't self-pitying, which is quite a feat, as she's been through a lot. I dislike misery memoir fiction but this didn't read like that at all. Very absorbing. My only criticism would be that it seemed a bit too dispassionate at times, but maybe that's the point: to provide a detached view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly moving book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
this book is for anyone who has lost someone who means the world to them. the only thing which I didn't like was the constant going back and forth in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic memoir with wonderful insight into grief. The details of the authors life as she tries to comes to terms with her parents deaths are riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
Really good read and well priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
This book captivated me from the first line. Heart warming and heart breaking all in one. It was a privilege to share this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant book if you have experienced the loss (especially your mum) - It has put into words many of the feelings I haven't yet been able to acknowledge I'd even been feeling.
It's very honest, account of loss- grief and living on anyway. Well done Claire you are an inspiration .
My only criticism would be the amount if humping from past to present to future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is easy to read and you feel drawn into the main "character" - I assume it's based on a true story. Very sad at times - a real tale of someone coping with grief
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
Read the book in less than 5 days and found that I could relate to parts of the book lending itself to being so compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a diary of bereavement, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I expected. Jumps back and forth through the years of her parents illness. I think it helped author to heal and move on from her parents deaths by writing it down, but not if you are looking for help with bereavement, shows that we all have our own way of coping with death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules of Inheritance (Kindle Edition)
It was Hard at times to read this book, the grief was well written to help me understand such a difficult process . A very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rules of Inheritance
The Rules of Inheritance by Claire Bidwell Smith
£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews