Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THRILLER, CHILLER about a KILLER
Will Burton (David Tennant) is considered the number one barrister by his peers; he has a perfect track record, never loses a case. Maggie Gardner (Sophie Okonedo), the number 2 barrister, resents him. She resents Burton even more when he is under the spotlight yet again when he successfully gets a sociopath called Liam Foyle (Toby Kebell) freed on a technicality. Liam...
Published 8 months ago by Valerie J.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing ending
We bought this having seen the first episode when it was televised but missing the remaining two parts when we were away. The premise was fascinating and the acting from Tennant, in particular, was excellent, but we found the denouement a little unconvincing and thus rather disappointing.
Published 6 months ago by F. Henry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THRILLER, CHILLER about a KILLER, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Will Burton (David Tennant) is considered the number one barrister by his peers; he has a perfect track record, never loses a case. Maggie Gardner (Sophie Okonedo), the number 2 barrister, resents him. She resents Burton even more when he is under the spotlight yet again when he successfully gets a sociopath called Liam Foyle (Toby Kebell) freed on a technicality. Liam Foyle had tortured, mutilated while still alive, and ultimately killed his female victim. Furthermore, he gloatingly admitted he's just not a very nice person. While Burton thought his client guilty all along and could barely conceal his disgust, he never expected his family to become the killer's target upon his release. And he never thought he would be forced to act outside of the law to protect them.

While some might question the authenticity of The Escape Artist's plot so far as legalities, and the actions of lawyers, barristers, and judges are concerned, all I can say is 'it's a film, meant for entertainment'. And entertain it does. It's a thriller, chiller, killer movie. This is a three-part, 180 minute, TV mini-series, BBC at its best, but it really needs to be watched in one stretch, which is how I watched it. The evil of Foyle is palpable and the tension nicely builds up. When it got to the last half hour, the sting in the tail, I thought the storyline and character actions had turned ridiculous - but that too was all part the plot. Of course, David Tennant and Sophie Okonedo were outstanding as always, and so was Toby Kebbell.

By the way, there is a bit where Sophie Okonedo's character, Maggie Gardner, is frightened after receiving a mystery gift left in her apartment. It's not very clear what it is and she doesn't say although the audience is supposed to know. Well, I can tell you. If you look up close you will see it is a caddy of tea. Earlier in the movie she is asked by Foyle (who is being held for yet another murder) what she is drinking and she snootily says it is 'tea; my tea'.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun - if a guilty pleasure!, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't take this too seriously it is great fun! A case of "the biter bit" - the story of a barrister who gets off a guilty man and then pays a big price - is very similar to one of P.D.James novels. The audience is manipulated into a very questionable moral position and ends up fully rooting for "the hang em and flog em " brigade!
That said it's addictive - if rather absurd and decidedly simplistic - viewing which is certainly entertaining and well acted morally questionable fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of drama, 12 Nov 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Crime dramas are ten-to-the-dozen at the moment - but 'The Escape Artist' is different as a mixture of an excellent story line and emotional acting have created a dramatic master-piece.

The basis of the drama is ingenious - a barrister who goes on the hunt off a man he successfully defended after he murders his wife (will say no more for those who have not watched). The switch between the lawyer and the criminal really allows us to sympathize with the characters. But no story is complete without good actors, and this has top class! Sophie Okowendo and David Tennant are amazing here and they bring an excellent script to life.

Overall, I think this is one of the best original drama's that the BBC has produced in recent years. I would recommend to all and I really hope that a second series comes along next year! 10/10 - Thank you BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fine and dark drama, 3 April 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
David Tenant plays hotshot barrister Will Burton who has yet to lose a case and is the darling of his chambers and the envy of his rivals, chief among whom is Maggie Gardner (Sophie Okonedo). Will is happily married to Kate (Ashley Jensen) and they have a young son, Jamie (Gus Barry). The series opens as Will successfully defends a particularly nasty client, Liam Foyle (Toby Kebbell), on trial for murder, by spotting a legal technicality in the prosecution case, and chalks up another victory, at the expense of prosecuting counsel, the aforementioned Maggie.

We get glimpses of Foyle's domestic circumstances, which leaves us in very little doubt that this is a very odd individual indeed. One would, of course, have expected the not guilty verdict to have invoked within the accused a feeling of gratitude towards the person securing his freedom. However, with this individual abnormal is normal and things take a horrible turn for the worse at the expense of Will, his family and their continued well-being.

Following on from the equally outstanding, What Remains, this first rate film, originally aired on BBC as three one hour episodes, is suitably eerie with gothic overtones. As might be expected the whole cast is magnificent, with Toby Kebbell outstanding as the creepily evil Foyle. It examines the usual `law story' themes of guilt, retribution and the nature of justice and is a right up there with the best of BBC drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark thriller with the wonderful David Tennant, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Lys Smith "Lys" (My fantasy world...) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this with a little trepidation, at first. A legal drama is something I love, but a legal drama that deals with a vengeful former client? I thought it might be too clichéd. I was happily wrong.

This is a thriller, first and foremost. It operates within the legal world, but it's far more removed from it than, say, 'Silk'. David Tennant was particularly breathtaking in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We both enjoyed the Escape Artist, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
We both enjoyed the Escape Artist, David Tennent is great as the clever lawyer who can convince the jury that the sadistic murderer is not guilty after all. He is hesitant to defend the man, but as they say, everyone has a right to a defence. David Tennent finds his own method of dealing with his wife's murderer. It is exciting and full of suspense and the acting impeccable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
great drama fro, start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
It keeps you on tenterhooks until the end. The acting is superb and the plot extremely well developed. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Escape Artist BBC mini series, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Riveting drama, David Tennant is masterful in this gem of a mini series. Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed each part of this BBC production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and chilling, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] (DVD)
One of the scariest and most suspenseful series I have seen in a long time. David Tennant heads a strong cast and the script is brilliant - just the right balance of light and dark, and not a word wasted. A must-see for those who appreciate high quality British drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Escape Artist [DVD]
The Escape Artist [DVD] by Brian Welsh (DVD - 2013)
12.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews