Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely compelling viewing.
I came across The Escape Artist by accident, thought I'd give it a go as I'm a fan of David Tennant, and ended up watching the whole series in one sitting. To go into any great detail would be to offer too many spoilers, but suffice it to say, it's a cleverly constructed and well acted piece.
Published 7 months ago by Thingamajig

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Premise, But Daft Actions Ruins It, For Me
Tennet does his job of providing suspects with their best legal defense very well; he's an impressive 100% record. His latest client is accused of a particularly nasty crime.

Dramatic events unfold to place him somewhat at the other end of the process he normally works on. Its hard hitting, the acting and film quality is good as is the build up with some...
Published 20 months ago by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely compelling viewing., 11 Dec. 2014
I came across The Escape Artist by accident, thought I'd give it a go as I'm a fan of David Tennant, and ended up watching the whole series in one sitting. To go into any great detail would be to offer too many spoilers, but suffice it to say, it's a cleverly constructed and well acted piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fine and dark thriller, 3 April 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
David Tenant plays hotshot barrister Will Burton who has yet to lose a case and is the darling of his chambers and the envy of his rivals, chief among whom is Maggie Gardner (Sophie Okonedo). Will is happily married to Kate (Ashley Jensen) and they have a young son, Jamie (Gus Barry). The series opens as Will successfully defends a particularly nasty client, Liam Foyle (Toby Kebbell), on trial for murder, by spotting a legal technicality in the prosecution case, and chalks up another victory, at the expense of prosecuting counsel, the aforementioned Maggie.

We get glimpses of Foyle's domestic circumstances, which leaves us in very little doubt that this is a very odd individual indeed. One would, of course, have expected the not guilty verdict to have invoked within the accused a feeling of gratitude towards the person securing his freedom. However, with this individual abnormal is normal and things take a horrible turn for the worse at the expense of Will, his family and their continued well-being.

Following on from the equally outstanding, What Remains, this first rate film, originally aired on BBC as three one hour episodes, is suitably eerie with gothic overtones. As might be expected the whole cast is magnificent, with Toby Kebbell outstanding as the creepily evil Foyle. It examines the usual `law story' themes of guilt, retribution and the nature of justice and, although some slightly 'dodgy' plot points in a few places, is right up there with the best of BBC drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling to Watch and Awesome Acting All Round, 23 Dec. 2014
By 
Crafty Marie "mariej30" (Cambs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I probably would not have chosen to watch this if David Tennant had not been in as a main character. It's not the usual type of TV viewing for me but he is such a brilliant actor that I felt it was worth taking a chance to watch something different to the norm.

The story really gripped me right from the start. It's just a little bit creepy and there are some great twists and turns - especially the ending. David plays a great part and it is interesting to see his performance as his cool, calm and collected character starts to unravel. It's hard to say too much because it would totally spoil this viewing to give the plot away.

However, he's not the only great actor in this because I have to say that Toby Kebbell who plays the antagonist puts in an absolutely stellar performance. He had me creeped out no end because he plays such a convincing part. I would definitely recommend this. It's the best thing I've watched in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A THRILLER, CHILLER about a KILLER, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Will Burton (David Tennant) is considered the number one barrister by his peers; he has a perfect track record, never loses a case. Maggie Gardner (Sophie Okonedo), the number 2 barrister, resents him. She resents Burton even more when he is under the spotlight yet again when he successfully gets a sociopath called Liam Foyle (Toby Kebell) freed on a technicality. Liam Foyle had tortured, mutilated while still alive, and ultimately killed his female victim. Furthermore, he gloatingly admitted he's just not a very nice person. While Burton thought his client guilty all along and could barely conceal his disgust, he never expected his family to become the killer's target upon his release. And he never thought he would be forced to act outside of the law to protect them.

While some might question the authenticity of The Escape Artist's plot so far as legalities, and the actions of lawyers, barristers, and judges are concerned, all I can say is 'it's a film, meant for entertainment'. And entertain it does. It's a thriller, chiller, killer movie. This is a three-part, 180 minute, TV mini-series, BBC at its best, but it really needs to be watched in one stretch, which is how I watched it. The evil of Foyle is palpable and the tension nicely builds up. When it got to the last half hour, the sting in the tail, I thought the storyline and character actions had turned ridiculous - but that too was all part the plot. Of course, David Tennant and Sophie Okonedo were outstanding as always, and so was Toby Kebbell.

By the way, there is a bit where Sophie Okonedo's character, Maggie Gardner, is frightened after receiving a mystery gift left in her apartment. It's not very clear what it is and she doesn't say although the audience is supposed to know. Well, I can tell you. If you look up close you will see it is a caddy of tea. Earlier in the movie she is asked by Foyle (who is being held for yet another murder) what she is drinking and she snootily says it is 'tea; my tea'.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of drama, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Crime dramas are ten-to-the-dozen at the moment - but 'The Escape Artist' is different as a mixture of an excellent story line and emotional acting have created a dramatic master-piece.

The basis of the drama is ingenious - a barrister who goes on the hunt off a man he successfully defended after he murders his wife (will say no more for those who have not watched). The switch between the lawyer and the criminal really allows us to sympathize with the characters. But no story is complete without good actors, and this has top class! Sophie Okowendo and David Tennant are amazing here and they bring an excellent script to life.

Overall, I think this is one of the best original drama's that the BBC has produced in recent years. I would recommend to all and I really hope that a second series comes along next year! 10/10 - Thank you BBC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
i don't usually write reviews often, mainly because I forget but I needed to share how fab this is. As a massie DT fan I had to purchase this as it was such a good price too. I love his portrayal of characters in these murder and justice storylines (like broadchurch) and this just took it to a whole new level. I watched it all in one night because I just couldn't resist the next episodes, the storyline and characters are all fab and if you haven't watched this yet, what are you doing?! Buy it! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this NOW.!, 14 Dec. 2014
This is such a compelling well acted drama that will keep you guessing and fully entertained.Very moving and intelligent plot.All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very dramatic, edge of your seat viewing! Cleverly written, amazingly acted by David Tennant - light and shade and all variations in between by DT, from confident successful barrister to loving father and husband, to grief stricken, to calmly planning and carrying out his scheme (trying to word this so no spoiler). Our villain is also very well acted - suitably chilling. all in all a super-duper drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Drama, 9 Dec. 2014
Excellent...Cant believe I have only just discovered this...looking forward to episode two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and chilling, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
One of the scariest and most suspenseful series I have seen in a long time. David Tennant heads a strong cast and the script is brilliant - just the right balance of light and dark, and not a word wasted. A must-see for those who appreciate high quality British drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013]
The Escape Artist [DVD] [2013] by Brian Welsh (DVD - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews