Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robot-tastic
I have 2 of these on pre-order for my nephew and myself for christmas.

Dark side of the moon is ten pounds all by itself so having all 3 in one boxset for fifteen pounds is a complete and total bargain.

I will update the review to inform you of the special features if any that are on the discs although apart from a few audio commentary's by michael...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by Beanie Luck Spud

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont be expecting a top notch script from bay
As Hollywood knows you want a film full of explosion and Excellent CGI you go to Bay. Don't get me wrong the effects in this movie are out of this world but the story and acting is a big miss which I know going into a bay movie is what I was expecting. All three movies has action and effects nothing more which becomes tiresome all storylines feel the same which is why...
Published 6 months ago by greendayavenger


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robot-tastic, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have 2 of these on pre-order for my nephew and myself for christmas.

Dark side of the moon is ten pounds all by itself so having all 3 in one boxset for fifteen pounds is a complete and total bargain.

I will update the review to inform you of the special features if any that are on the discs although apart from a few audio commentary's by michael bay i dont think there are any extras, but then i never actually watch the extras i buy the dvd's for the movies themselves.

Not everyone loves transformers, im a nerd so i love them, i loved the 1st film, the 2nd one sucked and the 3rd one was fantastic and a great way to end it for now as michael bay has said he wont do anymore.

Mind you this is the decade of the reboots so dont be surprised if someone picks it up in a few years and tries it again.

For the price you cant go wrong and in a few years the boxset will be worth some money.

The choice is yours..

**Update**

Disc 1 Transformers - Special Features - Audio commentary with Michael Bay. Running time 138 minutes.

Disc 2 Revenge of the Fallen - Special features - Audio commentary by Michael bay, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman. Running time 144 minutes.

Disc 3 Dark of the Moon - Special Features - *None* - Running time 148 minutes.

Also all 3 discs are available to select in the following languages upon disc insertion:

Dansk
Norsk
English
Suomi
Nerderlandstalig
Svenska.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 28 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two transformers movie are amazing, all characters, especially the transformers themselves are fantastic to watch and transform, the first two movies are nice alternatives to other action movies. Both the first and second film have great story-lines and all characters are enjoyable. Even my nephew who is six years old enjoyed these movies! Anyone of any age can easily enjoy these movies.

But the reason for the four stars and not five is because of the final film, 'dark of the moon'.

Sam who was the 'lovable' hero in the first two movies as now turned into a screaming baby, in almost every action scene he's screaming, no exageration. Megan Fox has left the franchise and has been replaced by a trophy girl, she is beautiful but cannot act to save her life and the relationship between her and sam is awful and not interesting in the slightest and all she does in the movie is scream for Sam's help, where as Megan Fox had her own story and unique qualities and had much more of a significance.
The autobots have seemed to have been 'dulled' down, Bumblebee almost seems static! The storyline in theory is quite good but lacks the 'energy' in the first two films.
The film drags on for way too long and the ending is terrible, for literally 45 mins in the film, sam and his girlfriend are trapped in a building, just screaming! The final film is just full of explosions and screaming.

All in all, the first two films are great, story lines, characters everything but the third film is just awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gret box set great price, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got for partners xmas present ideal for anyone who enjoys that type of film,entertaining and fun. great price very well recieved.delivered in time excellent service as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont be expecting a top notch script from bay, 9 Feb 2014
As Hollywood knows you want a film full of explosion and Excellent CGI you go to Bay. Don't get me wrong the effects in this movie are out of this world but the story and acting is a big miss which I know going into a bay movie is what I was expecting. All three movies has action and effects nothing more which becomes tiresome all storylines feel the same which is why it's a three star . About 7 hours in total for the same thing repeated over and over and now a fourth one to me the saga has run its course. A good over the top CGI action movie is what you'll only get from this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformers action has never looked so good., 1 Jan 2012
By 
David J. Hayward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already owned the first 2 on dvd and decided to buy the blu-ray box set when the tird fil came out.
These films have never looked so good as they do in blu-ray.
Every second of these films looks so much better in blu-ray and the effects definately stand up to the high def of blu-ray.
There are not many extra features on these discs, but to be honest after owning the 2 disc editions of the first 2 there was not a lot to be missed.
If you like thee films they are well worth the money!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love these films!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers Movie Set [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Films that do their job!
Outstanding special effects, good plot and you get to see Megan Fox. 'Revenge of the Fallen' is my favorite, but they're all great and greater in Blu Ray. Cheap price and worth the Blu Ray upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transformers: Trilogy of the Potential, 4 Jan 2012
The Transformers Trilogy, "Transformers" (2007), "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" (2009) and "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" (2011) have been three of some of the highest grossing films of the decade, and at the same time three debateably overrated sci-fi films although many have given the films extreme amounts of criticism, particularly the worst installment out of the three - Revenge of the Fallen. Whilst not familiar with the original series, but knowing that this was just three movies about giant robots I approached the trilogy and have the following reviews on each film.

Transformers: 3 stars
The trilogy begins with a race against time with two races of mechanical beings from Cybertron, Autobots and Decepticons searching for a cube which can rejuvinate their planet, but the humans are caught in the middle and one of them, Sam Witwicky holds the key to the end of a civil war that could destory the human race. Whilst out of the three this is the one many fans support the most, I seriously didn't like it on initial release and with the two sequels now released that opinion has little changed, although the comparison to its immediate sequel puts this one in a better light. Transformers has got excellent CGI, an excellent opening sequence with plenty of intrigue and explosions required. The film as a whole moves at a quicker pace than Revenge of the Fallen and introduces us to the characters in an effective, if extremely tiresome on the part of the humans, manner. But the main problem of the film is recurrent throughout the entire trilogy - and that's that the Transformers, Autobots and Decepticons alike play second fiddle to humans like Sam Witwicky and Lennox. The movie moves at quite a slow pace, although not nearly as slow as its sequels do and the Transformers basically have very little to show, if this is a movie about giant robots, then it fails because they are always shoved aside by the humans who are either unlikeable, vaguely comedic, plain distracting or plot devices. Despite it's many flaws, the dialogue is terrible here for humans and transformers, it makes an OK flick.

Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen: 2 stars
And then this came up, the worst of the Transformers movies and for a great many viewers of this piece of meandering incoherence, the worst flick of 2009, and for some even further, of all time. The plot is complicated, Sam Witwicky goes to college but the Government want the Transformers off their planet becuase they believe (somehow) that the Decepticons are hunting the autobots and that if they leave, then peace on Earth will occur. But an ancient Decepticon has a plan to rebuild an army through destroying the Sun and therefore Earth's life. It's another race against time to find Sam, protect him, climaxing with a battle in Egypt. Stupid, ludicrous, racist, plain silly, sexist and with a terrible shaky camera which means we can't see who's fighting who or what. The reasons for hating this film are reasonable, whereas the defence is always the same and that's that there's some excellent CGI, yes there is but there's too little of it, every good fight scene has a huge amount of time with bad acting and terrible plot development around it, and when the CGI does come along it's done with a visual effect which presents us from getting barely any good shots. It does get above one star though becuase the CGi is the only thing saving it, but it's not the reason for supporting the movie and giving it four or five out of five, popcorn entertainment yes, but it's still a terrible incoherent, time-wasting film with so many pointless human characters and plot developments, and the fact the Transformers have very few lines.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon - 3 1/2 stars
A political thriller, american comedy and sci-fi thriller, Part 3 of this trilogy reveals that a Transformers ship crashed on the moon and onboard is the Einstein of the Transformdrs, Sentinel Prime, but when he's not all he seems and the at-first welcoming return of their former leader turns into a far more sinister nature then it turns into an all out battle for the future of Earth - and Cybertron. Out of the three this is the one I like the most although it's still incredibly flawed, Michael Bay not only doesn't learn his lesson after the feedback of Revenge of the Fallen, but goes even further by defying both the laws of physics and once again giving us the same badly acted human distractions for at least half the film. Megan Fox having been fired by Michael Bay is replaced by Victoria's Secret model Rosie Huntingdon-Whitely and actually I prefer her, mainly because she does what she;'s meant to do, play hostage and scream - which in the context of the film is less annoying than the works of Fox. Wilst acitng is no better and similar to its predecessor another pointless Government character to slow things down and make things awkward is introduced, Dark of the Moon offers some improvement. he Transformers get much more screentime and develop more, Optimus Prime develops out of a Superman defender into an anti-hero and the Transformers get a little more dignity in battle and out, with the Racist Twins of ROTF gone. The battles are far better staged then in the past with some exceptional shots and a steadier camera.

Coming to the point, one thing that all three films had was potential but it was never utilised effectively, Micahel Bay spent too much time on the humans and their subplots, and not enough on the autobots, but the films had some epic CGI and the best part of all three which adds a star (Revenge of the Fallen gets as high a rating from me probably for this reason more than the CGI) and that's that all three films have beautiful scoring, thanks to Stephen Jablonsky who creates a unique, breathtaking collection of musical themes for all the films and provides some excellent battle music whilst at it. So whilst flawed films, they're worth seeing just to understand how even those with huge budgets can completely ruin a flick, and if you want to go brain dead and enjoy just some terrible scripted CGI, not a bad place to look - in some ways, it stands as an example of one of the greatest cinematic anomalies - that bad films often make loads of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Box Set, 21 Jun 2014
By 
L. Whitaker (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers Movie Set [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a must buy for any Transformers fan - my Son bought this with his birthday money and is well satisfied with his buy - thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autobotically Brilliant, 17 Jun 2014
By 
phillip (Tottenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers Movie Set [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen these movies singularly its great to have them in one boxset. No extras within but worthy.of the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transformers 1-3, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic bargain and the copies are in excellent condition so glad i purchased this it was a great bargain and love all three movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers Movie Set [Blu-ray]
Transformers Movie Set [Blu-ray] by Michael Bay (Blu-ray - 2013)
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews