Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars604
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2011
Excellent story, which my daughter has been listening to for several years. This CD replaced the tape we had. She is nearly 13 and still listens to this story most nights. Having listened to it she then chose to read the book. It also opened her to a whole world of timeless classics, such as The Secret Garden, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables and the Famous Five. It's been great for her education too. Her English teacher commented on her use of vocabulary.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
One of the better read and produced childrens' audio books. The story is still relevant today, and the kids asked to listen to it 10 times
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
as a teenager growing up in the 21st century i couldn't love this more. this kind of feel good book is the kind of thing my mum would read and i would look straight past. i first read the secret garden which is also a puffin classic and really enjoyed it and therefore decided to read another. having seen the film every christams for as long as i can remember this came top of my list and it didn't disappoint. it contains both tense scenes and enjoyable family ones.

this book has everything and should have a space on everyones bookshelf. in this edition it has been left as was when first printed with the addition of an introduction by popular author jacqueline wilson.

though first published over 100 years ago it has not lost any of the charm that would have been enjoyed by the children of the early 1900's. well worth 5 stars and has compulsed me to invest in a few more puffin classics.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2008
The brilliance of the Railway Children is that E Nesbit refuses to talk down to her readers - she handles a variety of complicated emotions, and she does so in a way that enables us to see things we wouldn't have worked out for ourselves about the character, but that are very true and beautifully observed. Okay, a few too many things happen to these kids - even the film removed one or two sensational twists too many - but those things all bring new insights and emotional rewards. It's a great book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I think everyone must know the basic story of this classic, either through reading the book or seeing the film The Railway Children [DVD], (I was only little, and I immediately fell in love with Jenny Agutter). If you have only ever seen the film before though, there is a lot more in the book.

Roberta 'Bobbie', Peter, and Phyllis live in the suburbs with their mother and father, in some comfort. One day though, their father mysteriously disappears and the rest of the family are forced to move into the country, where they live in straightened circumstances. As the children grow accustomed to their new surroundings they start to gradually make friends, helping people and getting into all types of adventure.

Why I think this story works so well, whereas others have fallen by the wayside and not been so popular over the years is the way that Edith Nesbit portrays the children. If you have siblings yourself then you know the bickerings and other things that go on when you are little. This is shown really well in this book, and surely has led to its popularity. I know you have probably read it when you were young, but it is a nice book to come back to when you are older, and something that your children should also love.
44 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
Before J.K.Rowling and Roald Dahl, there was E.E.Nesbitt; the most prolific and inventive children's author of all time, even if the inventor of Harry Potter may be close to usurping that title. Even though her books were written a century ago, such was the universal appeal of her themes and the ease with which children could identify with her characters that she has remained in print to this day and the stories are just as good now as they were then.
As with any children's classic - and "The Railway Children" is both a classic and most probably her best book - its appeal lies in a cracking plot, good character development and adult accessibility; parents are as keen to read as their children are to listen. The plot is simple: well-to-do-kids living ideal life in London suddenly have to "play at being poor" in the country after Daddy mysteriously disappears. After a series of adventures, all based around the railway that runs near their house, events coalesce into a satisfying finale.
The story centres on Roberta (Bobbie), the eldest daughter through whose eyes the story is narrated. She is one of my own favourite literature heroines and, as she suffers loss and hardship; and gains friendship and love, I would challenge even the most hard-boiled cynic not to shed the odd tear. The story is not, however, nearly as fluffy as all this may intimate. Like Rowling, Nesbitt loved to include magic and enchantment in her stories (it is, perhaps, ironic that her best tale contains none although it is certainly enchantING). Like Rowling, her stories also tend to have a dark side: many contain, and even hinge around, an absent, idealised father, reflecting the loss of the writer's own parent when she was just six. I've worn my way through two copies already!). Buy dozens! Spread them around your own children, their friends, nephews, nieces, grandchildren, neighbours ... any child who can manage joined-up writing will be enchanted by this story - and so will their parents
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Purchased for my 4yr old son.

Since he loves books and stories in general, audio books have become a big part of our weekly lives with our daily commutes interupting book time, he loves the audio ones though, the dramatisations even more.

The Railway Children is what I consider to be a classic childrens story and this version with its cast of voice actors has really brought the story to life, taking you back to a time when life was simpler but by no means easier as the family relocate and change their way of life and the adventures they have along the way.

This is a story I do think all children should hear but with affirming corrections that it is dangerous to go on the tracks (something that is never mentioned at any point in the story).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
This is a very pleasing dramatization on 2 CDs of "The Railway Children". While it doesn't include everything in the book it does include the main incidents, and it is a full cast dramatization so that we can feel that we are with these children through their adventures. One day strange men come and take the children's father away, and soon their mother is telling them that they are moving to the country. Their country cottage does not have the luxuries they were used to in suburban London - but there is a railway nearby with trains to see - and the local station not far away. There they make friends with the staff and especially with the porter, Mr Perks. The children also get to know an old gentleman who end up helping them in various ways! The children have all sorts of adventures - rescuing a baby from a burning canal boat; finding a Russian refugee; preventing a serious railway accident; finding an injured boy in a tunnel; and various other things that they do. But one day Bobbie, the oldest girl in the family, finds out the truth about what has happened to her father. All seems hopeless - but Bobbie doesn't give up, and turns to her friend the old gentleman for help. And he does help, and on another never-to-be-forgotten day the people on a station platform hear the heartrending but joyful cry of "Oh! My Daddy! My Daddy!" as Bobbie meets her father at last. All these things and more are brought to us by this great CD drama produced by the BBC.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Excellent for its intended market and purpose. Bought for six year old young reader. Lots of illustrations. Plot simply but accurately related.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Reading The railway children was something I've been wanting to do for a while as my auntie always talks so well of the film. I have never watched the film and I wanted to read the book before I did. This book was interesting as it was done from the point of view of the three siblings, which not many classic books are told from the aspect of a child or children. I didn't find the overall story Particularly interesting, but the one thing that kept me going back to finish the book was the big question Why and Where was their Father taken?. There is many adventures in the story that the children get up to involving the railway track and station as well as other areas, and it's great to see how imagination really was a work of art before technology came into place that children use so much nowadays.
The story also goes on to show how big life changes affect children and how well children adapt to things, such as moving home and settling into new surroundings and integrating with their new community. Which many adults find especially hard to do.
The characters experience great growth during the story as they go through different challenges and assist with crisis and injury as well as building new friendships and creating fond memories.
Overall I would say it was a different book to I'm used to reading but that's why I chose to push myself to read it. I would recommend to those who enjoy these sorts of books but personally it wasn't my type of read.
I hope this review helps you, please rate it, it really means a lot. Thanks for reading:)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.49
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)