Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic of scientific and literary history
Freud's investigations into the question of motivation in our lives form the basis of much of psychopathology today and this book provides a readable introduction to his theories about dreams and what they can tell us about our waking lives. Each chapter has several dreams (including Freud's own) and detailed analyses of them to demonstrate how we are more affected...
Published on 27 April 1999

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars OK for the academic
I am sure this is a very useful book if you are studying Freud or Psychology, but for the lay person it is difficult to read and I have to admit I have given up trying to get through the endless reviews included by other pwople and never got to the actual bit written by Freud!
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by Mrs. E. A. Brockway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic of scientific and literary history, 27 April 1999
By A Customer
Freud's investigations into the question of motivation in our lives form the basis of much of psychopathology today and this book provides a readable introduction to his theories about dreams and what they can tell us about our waking lives. Each chapter has several dreams (including Freud's own) and detailed analyses of them to demonstrate how we are more affected by thoughts and concerns than we like to admit to ourselves. Not only is it an interesting read, but it's quite accessible, the reader doesn't need to be familiar with any of Freud's more complicated concepts in order to be able to understand what he's writing about. His style is thorough and thought-provoking, even if you don't find yourself agreeing with everything he writes. It's easy to criticise his theories without knowing too much about them, so this book provides a welcome introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Freud's seminal work 'The Interpretation of Dreams. This is probably Freud's most popular work and, if we maintain Freud's own logic that what is remembered is most important, it perhaps also his most important work. Freud presents numerous case studies of patient's dreams and takes the reader through his process of interpretation. The work not only suggests how we might interpret dreams themselves but also reveals Freud's fundamental understanding of the structure and functioning of the psyche; the primary processes of condensation, distortion, and representation and figurability as well as secondary revision. These processes not only affect dreams but all memory and experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quality was perfect, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the must-read of Freud books. especially, this version because it is very easy, the paper are in semi-yellow and the book is light. you can bring it everywhere.
I received it very soon, sooner than my expectations.
This is a revolutionary book about interpretation of dream. it is very important that the language and terms are chosen in a way that everybody can read it, not just specialist in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bestseller in its time - and still gripping!, 12 April 2006
By A Customer
reading this volume will stir your own dreams, and make them more significant for you - Freud's journey into his own psyche is compelling reading and full of saucy and dark elements that will resonate with any reader who is honest with themselves - a bestseller once it was recognised in its time (in the first year it sold maybe 100 copies), it is strong narrative and Freud succeeds in shaping the book so we start before he recognises that dreams and their interpretation can provide insights into the human personality - a page-turner, and not technical - written early in his career, he had not developed the specialist language of his later writings. He won prizes for literature, and this is one sample of his deftness. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freud rocks, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A timeless classic from a legend in psychiatry, whether you like or dislike his theories there is no denying his influence on modern psychiatry and thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fundamentally challenged the view of man, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As other reviewers have pointed out, some of Freud's groundbreaking theories have since been challenged, moderated, even overturned - but that doesn't render this book irrelevant to current readers and students. What is so critical about Freud is that, like Marx, he fundamentally changed the way we think about 'man' and what it means to be human.

Freud's understanding of the unconscious and particularly his work on dreams and the work they do ('dream-work') effectively rendered a person mysterious to themselves, challenging, for example, Descartes' view that the human mind - and, therefore, man him/herself - was completely knowable.

Freud, thus, has a huge impact on the way in which we think about what it means to be human, and the way in which 'humanness' is represented in, for example, art and literature.

For a scientific text this is immensely readable, even playful and mischievous in parts. We may have moved on from a literal application of Freudian theories, but this is still a ground-breaking text in the history of human thought, and one which still has implications for the way in which we think about ourselves, the products of our imaginations, and the way in which we create meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Top top top very interesting subject and very explanation ! No need to rate delivery as it was on my kindle !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Dreams (Kindle Edition)
very good book, would recommend buyer to freinds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is great, delivery was quick and the condition of the book was as described. Recommended read as the content is thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cases mentioned are all interesting and the style is very humoristic, which makes the reading easy for the non experst in the matter, as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Interpretation of Dreams
£0.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews