Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've Cancelled My Ticket to Mars!
A team of astronauts lead by Captain Charles Brunel (Elias Koteas) have spent six months on Mars looking for signs of life. Nineteen hours before they are due to leave and be replaced by the next team of astronauts, one of the scientists, Marko Petrovic (Goran Kostic), discovers a virulent bacteria in a sample of soil which has been brought back to their base for...
Published 12 months ago by Valerie J.

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar stuff, but well done.
This entertaining Mars set thriller delivers a decent hour and a half's viewing. When scientists exploring Mars make a groundbreaking discovery they need all their resolve to overcome the perils their find brings with it. Liev Schreiber is perfect as the stoic leading man and the rest of the cast do a great job with characters that are familiar but surprisingly well...
Published 12 months ago by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar stuff, but well done., 3 Nov 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This entertaining Mars set thriller delivers a decent hour and a half's viewing. When scientists exploring Mars make a groundbreaking discovery they need all their resolve to overcome the perils their find brings with it. Liev Schreiber is perfect as the stoic leading man and the rest of the cast do a great job with characters that are familiar but surprisingly well written. The Mars landscape looks vast, the fx are good, the dust storms are particularly well rendered. The music really helped to rack up the tension and the frantic shooting style complimented the action scenes without being too jumbled and shakey. The sets are terrific and the story tips a wink to similar movies like Aliens, Red Planet and The Colony. I was really pleasantly surprised with this, even with the ambiguous ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've Cancelled My Ticket to Mars!, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
A team of astronauts lead by Captain Charles Brunel (Elias Koteas) have spent six months on Mars looking for signs of life. Nineteen hours before they are due to leave and be replaced by the next team of astronauts, one of the scientists, Marko Petrovic (Goran Kostic), discovers a virulent bacteria in a sample of soil which has been brought back to their base for testing. Wanting to keep the discovery for himself, much to the vexation of colleague Kim Aldrich (Olivia Williams), Petrovic goes back again to the testing site but while checking out the source of the bacteria has an accident. The others find him dead, but not for long.

The Last Days on Mars (2013) is a decent enough SciFi if your expectations are not too high but it doesn't, possibly never could, match the standards of Ridley Scott's Alien (1979) when the character played by John Hurt goes and sticks his too inquisitive face in the alien's egg capsule and becomes rather attached to the little critter. In 'The Last Days on Mars' Liev Schreiber plays the role of Chief Systems Officer Vincent Campbell who has his work cut out for him just to stay alive. There's a fair amount of action in this movie and I have to admit that some of the time, with the space helmets and all, I couldn't tell who was doing what or why. But anyway, the movie passed one and a half hours without being dull and that is all I asked of it.

I've cancelled my ticket to Mars.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, if somewhat derivative, sci-fi/horror epic, 13 April 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
**** Slight spoilers ****

It all gets off to a great start by the very fact of setting this movie on everyone's favourite extra-terrestrial planet. I've always been fascinated by Mars and couldn't resist going to see this movie. The surface of Mars looks pretty convincing here, with its rusty dust coloured soil and hazy pink sky. A couple of slightly questionable elements crept in though, namely the huge size of the sand-storm which, as far as I know, was far greater than anything filmed by the current Mars rovers or orbiters, and the size of the sun which, surely ought to be virtually half the size it appears from Earth? No big deal though - I'm not that much of a geek to let trivia such as that ruin my enjoyment of a movie.

OK so onto the good stuff. Firstly the film generates a genuine sense of wonder about the prospect of detecting alien life. There is plenty of tension - I loved the efforts to keep the solar-electric powered vehicle going, when something nasty is in pursuit. There are several effective make-you-jump moments - not the least of which is the first shocking sight of the "entity", and there is some nice zero-G action - obviously not up there with Gravity, but subtly done all the same. The way our hero brushed the floating droplets of contaminated blood to one side was a clever touch.

A couple more negative points; The Last Days on Mars does owe a fair bit to the likes of Alien and the more recent Apollo 18. Most obvious similarities being the crawling through tunnels sequence and reaching the escape ship, only to find it has an unwelcome resident. But I'm willing to consider those nods as laudatory hat-tips rather than rip-offs. Also one action sequence was spoiled for my by the gross overuse of flashing lights and an extreme shaky-cam effect, which rendered it unwatchable - rather like the squid alien/caesarian sequence in Prometheus.

It's solidly acted throughout (with the possible exception of the slightly hysterical/hammy Yusra Warsama) and the score is memorable and complementary. Some may find the ending a bit of a cop-out, but I felt it was cleverly enigmatic and at least it gave us something to discuss over dinner afterwards.

Overall, this movie looks good, sounds good and the action is for the most part very good.
Sci-fi fans shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..GREAT SCI-FI..", 27 Aug 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great fun sci-fi with a good story, basically a research team on mars is in its last few hours before coming home, one of the team discovers fossilised bacterial life and comes into contact with it with devastating results as the mission gets ugly very quickly and they all start to die as they get infected, the movie has a great pace and keeps you interested, it may have a whiff of other movies mashed in here but its really great building horror and thrills, its kind of like watching 28 days later in space almost with zombie looking infected corpses running around, there is some bloody moments' not too gory, the effects are top notch overall lots of lovely shots of mars and its surface etc, the music is good too and of course so is the strong cast of new and old talent, this is worth checking out for sure if you like a good gritty sci-fi, for a small release movie its a gem I think!!
Only one short feature on effects, quite good but only 6-minutes long.
Great Blu-ray picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 12 May 2014
By 
On the last day of a manned mission to Mars, signs of bacterial life are discovered, but an accident uncovers a virus, one that would be at home in a George Romero feature.

Part 'Alien' with Zombies is the best way to describe this low budget movie, part science fiction, part horror, it really can't make up it mind, but at a relatively short running time it's worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weekend On Mars, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Last Days On Mars (Blu-ray)
Horror-Sci Fi has kind of developed into a genre all of its own ever since Ridley Scotts movie "Alien". Since then there have been numerous attempts to get the right kind of isolation and otherworldly horror that is unique to this particular genre. "The Last Days On Mars" seems at best to be a half hearted attempt to achieve this.

The plot focuses a group of astronauts who are coming to the end of a routine survey mission on Mars when things start to go wrong. People start to get killed in mysterious circumstances and it soon appears that Mars may not be uninhabited after all. I can't go into too much detail without giving away what little plot there is, suffice it to say that we have seen it all before. This film borrows liberally from several other Mars related movies most notably "Ghosts of Mars" and "Mission To Mars", and has very little that is original to offer.

Liev Schreiber, Olivia Williams and Elias Koteas are normally very good (if somewhat B List) actors but they all look like they don't want to be in this movie. None of them seem to be making any real effort to act, and the script gives them very little to work with. The special effects are passable for what seems like a relatively low budget movie, but at the same time there is nothing really ground breaking.

Overall its a movie so bland and unoriginal that watching it engages no emotions at all. Describing it as a horror movie would be very generous as there are few scares or any real suspense. The characters are unengaging and one dimensional and by the end of the movie you don't really care if any of them make it out alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent and Entertaining Sci-Fi Movie, Even if the Alien Zombies Are a Tiresome Cliché Strangely Mixing Sci-Fi and Horror Genres, 1 Nov 2014
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
Despite the many negative reviews of this film, which certainly is no masterpiece, but makes for good viewing, "The Last Days on Mars" is worth a try for those who enjoy sci-fi cinema. Certainly, if they can bear pleasurably with "Red Planet" (2000), they can find "Last Days on Mars" to be at least as enjoyable. Yes, the alien creatures which the earthlings discover (after having found microbial and other lower life forms) are zombie-like Martians and, yes, they do turn their human victims into zombie-like critters when they die and then come back to life as zomboid anthropoids, also with terrific blood-lust, and with the ability to breathe the Martian atmosphere. However, there is much suspense and gripping action to all of this, the ending of it bleak and grim for the space crew. For more clues to the film's action, see the other reviews, especially on the Internet Movie Data Base and on Amazon-U.S.

I would suggest renting rather than buying this on DVD or on Blu-Ray, but, for my own part, anyway, I think that I shall be watching it again sometime in the future. In essence, "The Last Days on Mars" and "Red Planet" both are rather old-style (1950s-like) sci-fi, so far as their respective plots go, but the two movies have a modern look to them, the sets being anything but hokey. Mars itself looks, in the film's setting, rather like some reddish stretch of Utah's Painted Desert. These two films are not reversions, from the visual standpoint, to "Buck Rogers" and "Flash Gordon" style films of the mid-20th century (which, anyway, will remain belovèd for the sake of their exuberant and boyishly handsome leading actor, Buster Crabbe, of cinematically blessèd memory). For that matter, adding it all up, "Last Days on Mars" is a lot more vigourously worthwhile example of this type of sci-fi movie than such a motion picture, similarly of Martians' sabotage of human visitors, as "Red Planet" (which stars Val Kilmer) these two films alike happen to be.

Since the space crew is portrayed as international, it is not surprising that there is a variety of accents, of Brits, Canadians, and of others whose first language is not English. This can make it difficult at times to understand much of the dialogue and, alas, there are no subtitles on the North American DVD edition viewed (M.O. 1 Pictures DVD-5230), one that is distributed here in Québec, to aid comprehension. Other North American and editions for other countries, however, do have subtitles, such as the one to which this review is being posted. However, I would say that this film is worth the time spent viewing it, despite the cavils. Judging "The Last Days on Mars" upon its own terms, rather than from the bias of some pre-existing sci-fi aesthetic, this motion picture really is rather good stuff. At least, it is good enough to take one's time enjoyably to view it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 21 Oct 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a sucker for a bit of sci-fi, especially the remote, claustrophobic kind so I was pretty biased heading into this one. With that in mind, I found much to enjoy although not much that I hadn't seen before.

We start with a skeleton crew of researchers on Mars who are winding down their stint and preparing to return home. Just before they leave, they stumble across a strange new organism and before you can say George Romero, they have a mini zombie(ish) outbreak on their hands. Can anyone stay alive and uninfected long enough to get off planet?

As well as the usual zombie flicks there are plenty of other influences on show here - Alien, The Thing, Moon etc etc. It's all quite familiar but it gets to the point pretty quickly and rolls along at a good pace for the breezy running time. The acting is good for the most part, the highlight being a hard faced, foul mouthed turn from the always dependable Olivia Williams.

The film took a bit of a critical kicking upon release so I may be in the minority here but such is life. It's not a classic by any respect, more of a modern day B movie but I enjoyed it. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars YAAWOLSTMIAZ, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet Another Alien World Oooh Look Something's Turned Me Into A Zombie film

I wasted a whole £3.49 renting this! (shocking I know), I'd have got more lasting entertainment from a pint. As others have said the set is good and some of the effects are also good but the poor story line, dialogue and dull bordering on catatonic acting just turned me off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies On Mars!, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
The Last Days On Mars (DVD)

DVD Info.
Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: Ukrainian
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Universal Pictures UK
Running Time: 94 minutes

Cast.
Liev Schreiber as Vincent Campbell
Elias Koteas as Charles Brunel
Romola Garai as Rebecca Lane
Goran Kostić as Marko Petrovic
Johnny Harris as Robert Irwin
Tom Cullen as Richard Harrington
Yusra Warsama as Lauren Dalby
Olivia Williams as Kim Aldrich

What's The Story.
On the last day of the first manned mission to Mars, a crew member of Tantalus Base believes he has made an astounding discovery – fossilized evidence of bacterial life.

Unwilling to let the relief crew claim all the glory, he disobeys orders to pack up & goes out on an unauthorized expedition to collect further samples, But a routine excavation turns to disaster when the porous ground collapses & he falls into a deep crevice and near certain death.

His devastated colleagues attempt to recover his body. However, when another vanishes they start to suspect that the life-form they have discovered is not yet dead., As the group begins to fall apart it seems their only hope is the imminent arrival of the relief ship Aurora.

Timelord Thoughts.
I thoroughly enjoyed this sci-fi zombie movie that after a very slow start begins to build up the tension leading to a very ambiguous ending which may hint at a possible sequel.

The sci-fi aspects of this film were intelligent & believable, the action sequences are well directed by director Ruairi Robinson while the special effects are impressive considering this was a $7 moillion dollar budgeted movie.

Audiences may see comparisons with Alien & Prometheus, but this is a completely different tone too those movies, has Last Days On Mars has a 28 Days Later feel to it except it's location is set on Mars & the contagion is alien/zombie like.

If you're a fan of sci-fi or horror movies you may enjoy this film as it does have some great jump scare moments that builds up the tension creating suspense, while the acting is decent especially Liev Schreiber who is believable as astronaut Vincent Campbell who gives a great performance here while the supporting cast do well with the exception of actress Olivia Williams who plays Kim Aldrich who's character was annoying with her tantrum like behaviour & becomes very annoying rather quickly.

Overall, Last Days On Mars is a underrated sci-fi film that has a lot to recommend, with decent performances by the relatively small cast, well directed action & jump scares, this is 94 minutes of pure escapism & a film that stands on it's own merits, for fan's of sci-fi & horror this is excellent entertainment.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Days on Mars [DVD]
The Last Days on Mars [DVD] by Ruairi Robinson (DVD - 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews