Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've Cancelled My Ticket to Mars!
A team of astronauts lead by Captain Charles Brunel (Elias Koteas) have spent six months on Mars looking for signs of life. Nineteen hours before they are due to leave and be replaced by the next team of astronauts, one of the scientists, Marko Petrovic (Goran Kostic), discovers a virulent bacteria in a sample of soil which has been brought back to their base for...
Published 8 months ago by Valerie J.

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar stuff, but well done.
This entertaining Mars set thriller delivers a decent hour and a half's viewing. When scientists exploring Mars make a groundbreaking discovery they need all their resolve to overcome the perils their find brings with it. Liev Schreiber is perfect as the stoic leading man and the rest of the cast do a great job with characters that are familiar but surprisingly well...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've Cancelled My Ticket to Mars!, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
A team of astronauts lead by Captain Charles Brunel (Elias Koteas) have spent six months on Mars looking for signs of life. Nineteen hours before they are due to leave and be replaced by the next team of astronauts, one of the scientists, Marko Petrovic (Goran Kostic), discovers a virulent bacteria in a sample of soil which has been brought back to their base for testing. Wanting to keep the discovery for himself, much to the vexation of colleague Kim Aldrich (Olivia Williams), Petrovic goes back again to the testing site but while checking out the source of the bacteria has an accident. The others find him dead, but not for long.

The Last Days on Mars (2013) is a decent enough SciFi if your expectations are not too high but it doesn't, possibly never could, match the standards of Ridley Scott's Alien (1979) when the character played by John Hurt goes and sticks his too inquisitive face in the alien's egg capsule and becomes rather attached to the little critter. In 'The Last Days on Mars' Liev Schreiber plays the role of Chief Systems Officer Vincent Campbell who has his work cut out for him just to stay alive. There's a fair amount of action in this movie and I have to admit that some of the time, with the space helmets and all, I couldn't tell who was doing what or why. But anyway, the movie passed one and a half hours without being dull and that is all I asked of it.

I've cancelled my ticket to Mars.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar stuff, but well done., 3 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This entertaining Mars set thriller delivers a decent hour and a half's viewing. When scientists exploring Mars make a groundbreaking discovery they need all their resolve to overcome the perils their find brings with it. Liev Schreiber is perfect as the stoic leading man and the rest of the cast do a great job with characters that are familiar but surprisingly well written. The Mars landscape looks vast, the fx are good, the dust storms are particularly well rendered. The music really helped to rack up the tension and the frantic shooting style complimented the action scenes without being too jumbled and shakey. The sets are terrific and the story tips a wink to similar movies like Aliens, Red Planet and The Colony. I was really pleasantly surprised with this, even with the ambiguous ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, if somewhat derivative, sci-fi/horror epic, 13 April 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
**** Slight spoilers ****

It all gets off to a great start by the very fact of setting this movie on everyone's favourite extra-terrestrial planet. I've always been fascinated by Mars and couldn't resist going to see this movie. The surface of Mars looks pretty convincing here, with its rusty dust coloured soil and hazy pink sky. A couple of slightly questionable elements crept in though, namely the huge size of the sand-storm which, as far as I know, was far greater than anything filmed by the current Mars rovers or orbiters, and the size of the sun which, surely ought to be virtually half the size it appears from Earth? No big deal though - I'm not that much of a geek to let trivia such as that ruin my enjoyment of a movie.

OK so onto the good stuff. Firstly the film generates a genuine sense of wonder about the prospect of detecting alien life. There is plenty of tension - I loved the efforts to keep the solar-electric powered vehicle going, when something nasty is in pursuit. There are several effective make-you-jump moments - not the least of which is the first shocking sight of the "entity", and there is some nice zero-G action - obviously not up there with Gravity, but subtly done all the same. The way our hero brushed the floating droplets of contaminated blood to one side was a clever touch.

A couple more negative points; The Last Days on Mars does owe a fair bit to the likes of Alien and the more recent Apollo 18. Most obvious similarities being the crawling through tunnels sequence and reaching the escape ship, only to find it has an unwelcome resident. But I'm willing to consider those nods as laudatory hat-tips rather than rip-offs. Also one action sequence was spoiled for my by the gross overuse of flashing lights and an extreme shaky-cam effect, which rendered it unwatchable - rather like the squid alien/caesarian sequence in Prometheus.

It's solidly acted throughout (with the possible exception of the slightly hysterical/hammy Yusra Warsama) and the score is memorable and complementary. Some may find the ending a bit of a cop-out, but I felt it was cleverly enigmatic and at least it gave us something to discuss over dinner afterwards.

Overall, this movie looks good, sounds good and the action is for the most part very good.
Sci-fi fans shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from drunkenmovieramblings.co.uk, 12 May 2014
By 
On the last day of a manned mission to Mars, signs of bacterial life are discovered, but an accident uncovers a virus, one that would be at home in a George Romero feature.

Part 'Alien' with Zombies is the best way to describe this low budget movie, part science fiction, part horror, it really can't make up it mind, but at a relatively short running time it's worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monsters on Mars, 11 May 2014
By 
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
On their last day on Mars two scientists go to a site that appears to have cells of life. An accident occurs and people start getting infected. Bloody and violent but with some humanity. Similar to The Thing (2011) [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE SKIES AROUND THE CORNER, 18 Nov 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
This film is about the Aurora 2 International Mars station. It is a 6 month one way journey. Their mission is for 6 months. They are in the final 20 hours of the mission before they return to Earth. The characters are introduced with Kim (Olivia Williams) being a person everyone would rather not work with. She is upset because their mission failed to find any life. Meanwhile the Russian scientist (Goran Kostic) is out repairing a gamma sensor...when....

The set and background was pretty decent. I didn't know if the film was going to be:
a) boring like "Gravity"
b) a smart horror like "Ghosts of Mars"
c) something stupid like a big rubber headed monster or something really dumb like zombies.

Yup. It was "C." I couldn't believe they wasted a nice looking set. It seems a Martian bacterial infection causes people to not only go crazy and want to harm other people, but it also allows the organism to operate in the near non-existing Martian atmosphere. I hate it when a military doctor says, "Sorry, penicillin isn't going to work this time" but nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition, which at this point would have made the film better.

People who enjoyed "Apollo 18" might like this one. I saw it as wasted potential. Works as a rental.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A descent low budget sci-fi horror, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
I was so looking forward to The Last Days On Mars. It seemed to be one of those movies that could take you by surprise and be a sleeper hit. Unfortunately the viewing public did not think so. I think I first caught sight of this movie by seeing a trailer for it on You tube. It looked fantastic and had so much potential. But I could not find a cinema in my area that ever screened it. I think the marketing and distribution campaign for this movie sucked, big time. How the hell can people view it if no one wants to screen it. Well either I missed the boat or it had a very, very limited theatrical run. Thus I turned to the Net to see it and it's a good job I did. I would have paid to see this little gem on the big screen because I eventually found out it's quite a descent low budget sci-fi horror.
This movie cost just 7,000,000 (estimated) to make and when you watch it, it seems as though it is in league with movies at least 3 or 4 times that budget and you should bare this in mind to really give the film makers the credit they deserve in making you believe it is more than it actually is.
Because this is a sci-fi movie you'd expect a lot of CGI but actually (and remember the budget) there is very little. The sets look great and most of the movie is shot on location in Jordan doubling for Mars which works nicely as well as sound stages for the interior scenes. All this works in favor for the movie giving it a sense of realism that masses of green screen and digital matt paintings would not. When watching it I was reminded of 2001 and Moon it has that kind of feel to it in terms of art direction. Probably the biggest strain on the budget might have been securing the two American actors, Liev Schreiber and Elias Koteas which make up a cast filled mainly with British actors. Schreiber's involvement gives the movie pulling power from a marketing point and he is a fairly descent actor so I was happy that he took a chance on this project.
Now the story. Well, it really deliver's nothing that breaks the mold or sets a bench mark in this kind of genre but it handles it's limitations well and deliver's some nice tense scenes and the odd shock. However if you have seen Ridley Scott's Alien (and lets face it who hasn't) then again you have seen this kind of thing before. There are no aliens here though. Only a microscopic virus which changes infected persons into Zombie like crazies much like 28 Days Later and World War Z. That said, it's an enjoyable ride while it lasts and should be viewed on it's own merits rather than being compared too much to other movies such as mentioned here. I for one enjoyed it a lot even though I would have liked to have seen it on the big screen. I know there are some people out there that will slate it and hate it and well, you can't please everyone but for a low budget British movie it looks visually stunning and proves you don't need massive amount of money to fund a movie just to make it look amazing. Note to the producers though, you need to put more into the marketing. I bet this movie passed a lot of people by the first time around and in doing so it did not make up it's returns at the box office. A real shame.
So then. If you liked Alien, Moon, 2001 A Space Odyssey, Mission to Mars, Pandorum, and Prometheus you should really give this one a go. It may end up hitting the Zombie genre rather than bringing us something unique but then again I don't think I have seen a Zombies in space film before this. I for one will be ordering this, probably on Blu-ray as soon as Amazon gets a release date. I just hope there are some nice bonus features to look at as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Spolilers, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Film, the effects were excellent. I enjoyed the suspense throughout but the plot isn't anything new. I would definitely recommend it to any sci-fi nuts like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spiders... I mean, zombies of Mars, 24 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dear Hollywood: Please stop making bad movies about Mars. The Red Planet alone is not enough to carry a movie.

The best example possible is "Last Days on Mars," which has no plot or concept beyond "there are zombies... ON MARS!" I can't imagine that anyone involved put any more thought into this movie than "zombies... ON MARS!", because there is literally nothing else to it. It's a mediocre, unscary zombie story transplanted into a shallow copy of "Alien."

And while it stars two actors that I adore, their good performances couldn't save this wretched pile of festering fetid celluloid -- it has no plot, no real climax, a third act that drags on forever, and characters with the depth of a shopping list.

Mankind has landed on Mars, and now scientists have gone there to do... stuff. Their goals are never really explained. Then a team finds a mysterious bacterium growing on Mars, but before they can study it further, one of the astronauts falls into a sinkhole and dies. Then he comes back as a desiccated mummy, and immediately power-drills one one of his crewmates... and no, that is NOT a euphemism.

Yes, the mysterious bacteria turns people -- living or dead -- into zombies, and it takes almost nothing to infect people. The astronauts frantically try to stop the zombies who (for some reason) are desperate to kill them, and must find a way off Mars before all of them are infected. And since this is trying to be "Alien" with zombies, they want to keep it from reaching Earth.

It is honestly difficult to summarize this turd. Here's how I imagine the conception of this movie went: two inept Hollywood producers were sitting together, having a conversation.
"Hey, I've got this idea. It's zombies..."
"Totally overdone."
"... ON MARS."
"Genius! It technically hasn't been done before! We're greenlighting it!"

That is the entire plot. No twists. No unexpected discoveries. No suspense about how they will stop the bacterium. It's just a string of zombie attacks that lead to nothing, placed in a third-rate "Alien" clone -- there is literally nothing to watch except the astronauts being infected and zombified one by one. It's not suspenseful, just depressing.

First-time director Ruairi Robinson just doesn't have the chops (yet) to pull off a full-length movie. Most of it is shot at night, where it is impossible to see anything except darkness and clouds of red dust, and the assorted astronauts all look identical in their suits. Even worse, the ending drags on forever. The final half-hour is the longest third act I've ever seen in a movie -- just a slow, climax-free drag that finally putters out when Robinson runs out of things to do.

It also has characters just deep enough to give you paper cuts. There's a halfhearted attempt to give Liev Schreiber's character a tragic past, by hinting at a disaster that has made him claustrophobic (for some reason). But the disaster is never expounded on, and it's just sort of dropped halfway through the movie. The rest of the characters can be summed up in one or two words -- Abrasive, Leader, Perky, Coward, et cetera.

And honestly, the actors deserved better. Liev Schreiber gives a sort of halfhearted but serviceable performance; Romola Garai seems to be pouring her heart into a thanklessly shallow role, but she does give the movie its only moment of real pathos. There are other good actors here -- Goran Kostić, Elias Koteas -- but they're pretty much cannon fodder. Tossing out a mention of a character having kids does not make them three-dimensional.

"Last Days on Mars" is just another dumb, inept zombie movie, and setting it on the maligned Red Planet doesn't really improve matters. Only die-hard fans of Schreiber or Garai should even bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lame and derivative, 13 April 2014
By 
J0n G (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Last Days on Mars [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never seen Alien you might enjoy this. One and a half hours of my time that I'll never get back. There are lots of good movies out there - do yourself a favour and give this one a miss. At times I almost fell asleep. Those last days on Mars felt like weeks. A crew of people in space suits who use swearier language than you get in Alien, presumably in order to convey "realism", accidentally get infected with Martian bacteria. The result is extremely predictable. Usual stuff - you think you've knocked them down but they keep getting up again. Lots of stabbing with sharp implements, fist fighting and smashing equipment against helmets. No original angles, no original outcome, no character that you actually feel sufficiently interested in to root for. Even if you are a sci-fi fanatic there's nothing for you here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Days on Mars [DVD]
The Last Days on Mars [DVD] by Ruairi Robinson (DVD - 2014)
10.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews