Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Film of the Ancient Mariner
Robert Redford is alone. He's nameless, listed as "Our Man" in the credits. For unknown reasons, he's drifting on a yacht in the Indian Ocean when he collides with a cargo container, damaging his vessel. This incident is the first of many. Over eight days it starts to look like some kind of test from the Almighty. All is Lost is a film about hope: how long it can stay...
Published 15 months ago by R. J. Lister

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!
Awful film. Redford seems to have forgotten how to act - was he even bothered that his yacht had a great hole in it? I couldn't tell, and judging by how long it took him to get around to fixing it, I presumed not! I never really got any sense of danger from this film, occasionally he looked a bit annoyed about getting a bit wet, but as he was dried off by the next scene...
Published 5 months ago by Wadders


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Film of the Ancient Mariner, 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: All Is Lost [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Robert Redford is alone. He's nameless, listed as "Our Man" in the credits. For unknown reasons, he's drifting on a yacht in the Indian Ocean when he collides with a cargo container, damaging his vessel. This incident is the first of many. Over eight days it starts to look like some kind of test from the Almighty. All is Lost is a film about hope: how long it can stay burning, and when the candle will be pinched out.

Ironically, the films this most resembles are The Perfect Storm and Gravity, both of which suffered from a badly miscast George Clooney. Here, the casting of Redford is perfect. An actor of his history and status comes with enormous baggage; and, like Tom Hanks's Captain Phillips, it is remarkable and moving to see him throw all that baggage overboard and deliver a selfless and subtle performance of real force.

This is an "experience" movie, almost entirely without dialogue. It's all about the details of a man, alone with his skill and his temperament. The storm scenes are terrifying. The quiet scenes are equally devastating. Coming hot on the heels of Gravity, an equally high concept disaster movie, I would say All is Lost is the less showy and more effective film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A titanic film about the will to survive, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Is Lost [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
***This review is for the film only***

Where do I start? First off, my apologies for the title, it's terrible I know but hey ho :-)

As for the film, it's basically one man in a boat, there's no backstory, no other people, almost no dialogue and no unnecessary Hollywood fluff, just simply the story of one man against the elements and what a wonderfully gripping story it turns out to be.

Robert Redford plays an unnamed yachtsman, deep on a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean, when out of nowhere, he is hit by catastrophe.
What follows is an epic struggle for survival between man and the elements, the will to live and to survive the very worst of what mother nature can throw at you.

It's amazing that Redford is almost 80 years old and yet still has the character and athleticism to perform the stunts and challenges that he faces. He doesn't look a day over 55 and copes with all of the climbing and jumping, far better than I would at 37. You'll be knee deep with him as he lifts, climbs, carries, pushes and pulls his way around the boat to keep it afloat. and by the end of the film you'll almost feel exhausted for watching him do it. It's exciting and at times claustrophobic but it's also tense and seat edging to the very end.

This film might not be to everyone's tastes and I do understand that, it's more of an experience than a simple movie, but fans of Redford himself, or simply fans of battle for survival against the elements films, such as The perfect storm for example, will find something of value here.

For a film with only one actor in it and very little dialogue, it's certainly never dull and keeps your attention throughout.
It's beautifully shot and expertly directed and you really do care about what happens to Redford's character.

Does he survive? Now that would be telling.

A must see movie experience. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One setting + no dialogue + old man determined to survive = brilliant film!, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Three of us saw "All Is Lost", a near dialogue-free film about a man battling the sea at the BFI London Film Festival's "Thrill" section, for the whole duration of the film the sold out cinema were holding their breath.

The "lone man" is Robert Redford, "the sea" is Indian Ocean. Redford (no name is given for the hero) is awakened one morning to find his yacht damaged by an astray shipping container, and taking on water through the wreckage. The yacht is restored within a couple of days, but all the electric equipment is more or less damaged and we are shown dark and ominous clouds on the horizon. And then all hell breaks loose, which lead Redford to abandon the vessel in favour of an inflatable life raft. By plummeting the audience directly into the action and refusing to fill the viewers on the material background of our hero (who is he, why is here alone in the middle of the Indian Ocean, what are his regrets), in my opinion brilliant J.C. Chandor (whose debut was brilliant Margin Call [DVD]) creates an severe and sombre shot of one man's struggle, skills, and determination to survive - all fantastically performed by Redford, who projects a quiet dignity of this unnamed sailor without the past in his attempt to navigate the Indian Ocean's shipping lane in the hope of being rescued (one of the most sad and breath-taking scenes of the film are the scenes where cargo liners pass literally meters from Redford's survival raft, oblivious of his struggles).

"All Is Lost" is simply a visually striking story about a struggle between a man and nature, this is not a film for everybody, but if you like the idea of such film - you will enjoy it thoroughly! But make sure you see it in the cinema. TV won't do this film justice. Moreover, it is in the cinema where you will be able to enjoy to the fullest the sound effects of this tale of struggle - the lapping of water, the groan of the boat straining to hold together, the creaking, the lapping of the ocean and the thunderous storms. The soundtrack is also good. The music in a film with scarcely any dialogue, the film about isolation, is important - and here it plays a big role, given the absence of any narrative.

J.C. Chandor seemed to uncover an unusual formula for success: one setting + no dialogue + old man with only sailing skills determined to survive = brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE MAN'S STRUGGLE FOR SURVIVAL' (STUNNING PERFORMANCE FROM 'ROBERT REDFORD'), 27 Feb. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW ! WHAT AN AMAZING FILM !!
A floating container that had obviously tumbled from a cargo ship begins
our man's fight for survival, his 37 foot yacht has floated into the obstacle
the hull has been breached, the water rushing in, this is the beginning of
his eight day fight for survival.
Our sailor patches up the hole as best he can, however much of his vital
equipment including the radio-transmitter is saturated, he's in the middle
of the 'Indian Ocean'
Attempts to contact anyone has failed even though the transmitter has
dried out.
He's hoping to sail his patched up yacht to safety.....the ;last thing he needs
is the storm that is brewing........will the patched up hull hold up ?
Things are about to turn somewhat desperate for our lone yachtsman.
What an extraordinary performance from 77-year old 'Robert Redford'
To take a part in which you are submerged in water, thrown about,
climbing on and off a yacht, would be one hell of a task for a younger man,
from a man in his late 70's....frankly ....remarkable.
The film will tie your stomach in knots as the tension builds throughout
this terrific watch.
Additional features include :-
* Filmmaker documentary.
* Preparing for the storm--featurette.
* Big Film, Small Film--featurette.
* 3 Vignettes 'The story' 'The filmmaker--J.C.Chandor'
and actor 'Robert Redford'
* The sound of 'All is Lost' featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully simple, but gripping, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Is Lost [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A tour-de-force of acting from Redford. This is a beautifully structured film that has you watching his every move and holding your breath time and again. I liked the stripped-down approach to narrative, dialogue (i.e. none), and was particularly impressed by how it defies one's expectations (though I won't write more on that count).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could almost hear his thoughts saying "If I don't fix that I will be in a far worse situation - I will fix it" - even after .., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Is Lost (Amazon Instant Video)
Captures the feel and atmosphere of solo life at sea very well. There is almost no dialogue at all, the film concentrates on what "our Man" has to do to survive, most of this is the day to day life aboard, including the repairs of damage done by the elements. Redford plays the part very well, the quiet determination, I could almost hear his thoughts saying "If I don't fix that I will be in a far worse situation - I will fix it" - even after it already seems all is lost, and there have been so many breakages, so much damage and he carries on relentlessly slogging against the odds - this is what solo sailing is about.
As a sailor I enjoyed it and it reminded me of my own solo voyages, It is what it is - and for that the film is near perfect, if you expect more than one man and his struggle, a yacht and the elements then you might find the struggle for life, the questions about how our dreams compromise the needs of our families (mini Ahab?), but you won't find a fast paced, dialogue packed thriller. It is a quiet film, that I think will appeal most to those with an interest in the sea, sailing, one-man's fight for survival against the elements, or to boat nutters, or Redford nutters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Titanic, jr., 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Is Lost [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A man wakes up to find his tiny yacht sinking in the middle of the Indian Ocean. He's alone with no radio, but his experience and resourcefulness help him save the boat (until the next disaster strikes). Again and again, he uses every bit of knowledge he has to pump, patch, fix, and dry out. And that works...for a while.

This outstanding survival movie has just one character, Our Man, played by Robert Redford. He utters only a handful of words, there is no sentimental subplot or corny flashbacks filled with regret to pluck at our heartstrings. Our Man is stoic and smart, and though the repair-the-boat scenes border on documentary-style, it's all riveting, and I gasped and sighed aloud often. We hear very little music but a lot of the relentless, all-powerful water and wind.

Going in, I thought this was a true story and was disappointed to learn it wasn't. It's intense and exciting and Redford is perfect in it. Highly recommended, especially for anyone who is anyone who is (crazy enough to be) going boating on the open sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful!, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: All Is Lost (DVD)
Awful film. Redford seems to have forgotten how to act - was he even bothered that his yacht had a great hole in it? I couldn't tell, and judging by how long it took him to get around to fixing it, I presumed not! I never really got any sense of danger from this film, occasionally he looked a bit annoyed about getting a bit wet, but as he was dried off by the next scene each time it wasn't much of a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Wilson in sight......., 9 May 2014
A man is sailing alone and wakes up one morning to find that a shipping container which had been adrift has rammed into his boat, gashing a hole which has allowed water into the boat's cabin.

The damage to the boat is more than superficial as many of the electrical and communications are no longer working, so he doesn't know his exact location, and he cannot communicate with anyone.

When he hits a storm, his situation worsens.......

Its a sound idea, and if it wasn't castaway on the high seas, it would have been more than just the Robert Redford show. Redford is good, he has to be, but sometimes you hear yourself thinking 'yes Robert, you've still got it, you don't have to prove it anymore, stop going into the water'.

One of the big problems is that there is no real danger or peril to the narrative. He hits a couple of storms, does something really silly after (the Burining of the paper is ridiculous) and then finds a solution to a problem.

Its beautiful to look at, some of the underwater shots are awe-inspiring, and the score is suitably haunting.

So all in all, it should have been something really special, but come the end you just keep thinking what happened to the tiger called Richard, and then realise your watching a different film.

Would make a great double bill with The Last Castle, another film where Redford shows he's still got it by taking his shirt off and move a lot of rocks....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Understated, perhaps too much so, 6 May 2014
By 
JD (Salisbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I'm a fan of this type of film and was looking forward to it, particularly to see Redford's performance. And, while I found plenty to admire, the main element of a tense film such as this way missing, leaving me feeling strangely detached for much of the running time.

The main reason for this is the understated performance from Redford and lack of back story surrounding him. The opening section suggests he has family, but there is no other reference to this or attempt made to give us a glimpse into his personality.

The total lack of dialogue or emotion he shows throughout the film shows strength perhaps, but it doesn't endear you to him - how can you relate to a guy who seems calm in everything he does, barely mutters a word and, despite days in despair, doesn't utter a word to himself or curse his bad luck? It just comes across as weird. The only explanation for his silence and calm is that it fits with a gimmick the filmmakers were determined to stick to - that the film would be virtually dialogue free.

While that will make headlines and make the film 'brave', it's also not a great choice. Just a few muttered words would have been enough - a sign of his frustration and despair here and there, maybe a bit of surprise or momentary panic when he first discovers his boat is filling up with water. But we get nothing. So, while there is a lot to admire in understated performances, this one takes it a tiny bit too far.

In a one character film surely the movie stands or falls on whether you care for that main character? Sadly, while feeling for his situation, I can't say I ended this film feeling any more for the character than I did in the beginning, or knowing any more about him bar than he is incredibly in control of his emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Is Lost [DVD] [2013]
All Is Lost [DVD] [2013] by J.C. Chandor (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews