Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
317
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2013
Robert Redford is alone. He's nameless, listed as "Our Man" in the credits. For unknown reasons, he's drifting on a yacht in the Indian Ocean when he collides with a cargo container, damaging his vessel. This incident is the first of many. Over eight days it starts to look like some kind of test from the Almighty. All is Lost is a film about hope: how long it can stay burning, and when the candle will be pinched out.

Ironically, the films this most resembles are The Perfect Storm and Gravity, both of which suffered from a badly miscast George Clooney. Here, the casting of Redford is perfect. An actor of his history and status comes with enormous baggage; and, like Tom Hanks's Captain Phillips, it is remarkable and moving to see him throw all that baggage overboard and deliver a selfless and subtle performance of real force.

This is an "experience" movie, almost entirely without dialogue. It's all about the details of a man, alone with his skill and his temperament. The storm scenes are terrifying. The quiet scenes are equally devastating. Coming hot on the heels of Gravity, an equally high concept disaster movie, I would say All is Lost is the less showy and more effective film.
33 comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2014
***This review is for the film only***

Where do I start? First off, my apologies for the title, it's terrible I know but hey ho :-)

As for the film, it's basically one man in a boat, there's no backstory, no other people, almost no dialogue and no unnecessary Hollywood fluff, just simply the story of one man against the elements and what a wonderfully gripping story it turns out to be.

Robert Redford plays an unnamed yachtsman, deep on a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean, when out of nowhere, he is hit by catastrophe.
What follows is an epic struggle for survival between man and the elements, the will to live and to survive the very worst of what mother nature can throw at you.

It's amazing that Redford is almost 80 years old and yet still has the character and athleticism to perform the stunts and challenges that he faces. He doesn't look a day over 55 and copes with all of the climbing and jumping, far better than I would at 37. You'll be knee deep with him as he lifts, climbs, carries, pushes and pulls his way around the boat to keep it afloat. and by the end of the film you'll almost feel exhausted for watching him do it. It's exciting and at times claustrophobic but it's also tense and seat edging to the very end.

This film might not be to everyone's tastes and I do understand that, it's more of an experience than a simple movie, but fans of Redford himself, or simply fans of battle for survival against the elements films, such as The perfect storm for example, will find something of value here.

For a film with only one actor in it and very little dialogue, it's certainly never dull and keeps your attention throughout.
It's beautifully shot and expertly directed and you really do care about what happens to Redford's character.

Does he survive? Now that would be telling.

A must see movie experience. 8/10
44 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 October 2013
Three of us saw "All Is Lost", a near dialogue-free film about a man battling the sea at the BFI London Film Festival's "Thrill" section, for the whole duration of the film the sold out cinema were holding their breath.

The "lone man" is Robert Redford, "the sea" is Indian Ocean. Redford (no name is given for the hero) is awakened one morning to find his yacht damaged by an astray shipping container, and taking on water through the wreckage. The yacht is restored within a couple of days, but all the electric equipment is more or less damaged and we are shown dark and ominous clouds on the horizon. And then all hell breaks loose, which lead Redford to abandon the vessel in favour of an inflatable life raft. By plummeting the audience directly into the action and refusing to fill the viewers on the material background of our hero (who is he, why is here alone in the middle of the Indian Ocean, what are his regrets), in my opinion brilliant J.C. Chandor (whose debut was brilliant Margin Call [DVD]) creates an severe and sombre shot of one man's struggle, skills, and determination to survive - all fantastically performed by Redford, who projects a quiet dignity of this unnamed sailor without the past in his attempt to navigate the Indian Ocean's shipping lane in the hope of being rescued (one of the most sad and breath-taking scenes of the film are the scenes where cargo liners pass literally meters from Redford's survival raft, oblivious of his struggles).

"All Is Lost" is simply a visually striking story about a struggle between a man and nature, this is not a film for everybody, but if you like the idea of such film - you will enjoy it thoroughly! But make sure you see it in the cinema. TV won't do this film justice. Moreover, it is in the cinema where you will be able to enjoy to the fullest the sound effects of this tale of struggle - the lapping of water, the groan of the boat straining to hold together, the creaking, the lapping of the ocean and the thunderous storms. The soundtrack is also good. The music in a film with scarcely any dialogue, the film about isolation, is important - and here it plays a big role, given the absence of any narrative.

J.C. Chandor seemed to uncover an unusual formula for success: one setting + no dialogue + old man with only sailing skills determined to survive = brilliant film!
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2014
Good start. Then the shouting started. Us shouting at the idiot on the yacht. Then the boredom. And then the high comedy. Setting fire to his raft, what a hoot. At least a good laugh at the end of a boring, unbelievable film. No one could be so silly or incompetent, at least not without a back story to explain.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
It had the feel of an independent film. There is no speaking in it. Robert Redford is alone on his yacht throughout so no one to talk too! Very interesting and absorbing especially if you are interested in sailing - then maybe you can spot the survival at sea mistakes. It is not 'exciting' with lots of bullets, sex and gore. If that is your fix look elsewhere. It is a thoughtful and well directed film about being alone at sea in a difficult situation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
WOW ! WHAT AN AMAZING FILM !!
A floating container that had obviously tumbled from a cargo ship begins
our man's fight for survival, his 37 foot yacht has floated into the obstacle
the hull has been breached, the water rushing in, this is the beginning of
his eight day fight for survival.
Our sailor patches up the hole as best he can, however much of his vital
equipment including the radio-transmitter is saturated, he's in the middle
of the 'Indian Ocean'
Attempts to contact anyone has failed even though the transmitter has
dried out.
He's hoping to sail his patched up yacht to safety.....the ;last thing he needs
is the storm that is brewing........will the patched up hull hold up ?
Things are about to turn somewhat desperate for our lone yachtsman.
What an extraordinary performance from 77-year old 'Robert Redford'
To take a part in which you are submerged in water, thrown about,
climbing on and off a yacht, would be one hell of a task for a younger man,
from a man in his late 70's....frankly ....remarkable.
The film will tie your stomach in knots as the tension builds throughout
this terrific watch.
Additional features include :-
* Filmmaker documentary.
* Preparing for the storm--featurette.
* Big Film, Small Film--featurette.
* 3 Vignettes 'The story' 'The filmmaker--J.C.Chandor'
and actor 'Robert Redford'
* The sound of 'All is Lost' featurette.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 November 2013
A man wakes up to find his tiny yacht sinking in the middle of the Indian Ocean. He's alone with no radio, but his experience and resourcefulness help him save the boat (until the next disaster strikes). Again and again, he uses every bit of knowledge he has to pump, patch, fix, and dry out. And that works...for a while.

This outstanding survival movie has just one character, Our Man, played by Robert Redford. He utters only a handful of words, there is no sentimental subplot or corny flashbacks filled with regret to pluck at our heartstrings. Our Man is stoic and smart, and though the repair-the-boat scenes border on documentary-style, it's all riveting, and I gasped and sighed aloud often. We hear very little music but a lot of the relentless, all-powerful water and wind.

Going in, I thought this was a true story and was disappointed to learn it wasn't. It's intense and exciting and Redford is perfect in it. Highly recommended, especially for anyone who is anyone who is (crazy enough to be) going boating on the open sea.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Almost a masterpiece. From the director of Margin Call and A most violent year, a film that incredibly keeps up to the end with almost no spoken words. Just sound and pictures. It's a pure experience of survival and encounter between man and nature. Redford is great in having accepted this challenge and in successfully transferring a range of moods and feelings with just his body language and face expressions. All is lost is a moment of purity in a world overwhelmed with words and talking people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
I really enjoyed this film, though I could see that it might be more fully appreciated by the more discerning or older viewer; I'm definitely the latter and try to be the former. I like Redford, not just as an actor but as a screen presence; he is one of the rare few that I would still call a 'old-school star'. His 'Three Days of the Condor' is one of my favourites, however, I've learned even with an actor of Redford's calibre, success is not guaranteed. It did not disappoint: I became engrossed from the off with its excellent and original opening scenes. It's a absorbing film and I found the dangers he faced genuinely un-nerving, and that doesn't often happen to me when watching a film; frankly, I wondered why anyone would ever risk going to sea in a yacht/boat after seeing this. The time flew by which, for me, is always a sign that I enjoyed a film. Although on a couple of occasions viewers might think (as I did) "Why [or don't] do that?" I reminded myself the film is about a man who is alone, desperate, hungry, mentally tired, gradually getting to his wits' end and cloudy thinking and desperation can overcome what is 'obvious'. The final minute was a perfect way to end it. The direction and photography is excellent. If you like intelligent films that unfold in their own time, you'll enjoy this; not that its pace is slow, it's measured - and all the better for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Our Man is sailing alone when he is hit by a number of unwelcome events that's puts his boat and life at risk. There is no back story, obviously minimal dialogue (not even a Wilson ball to talk to). It is compelling to watch but it also brings a lot of questions i.e. why is he so calm and casual when faced with possible danger. Why is he taking liberties in this environment. The film could have done with a bit more substance and even a companion (who let's say dies at some point) to add more drama and engagement. Worth watching. 7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)