Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPEAK CLEARLY FOR THE SAKE OF THE TYPIST,
After a terrorist bombing in London, Simon (James Lowe) and Claudia (Rebecca Hall) are appointed special defense attorneys for the accused (Denis Moschitto). After Simon has an untimely suicide Martin (Eric Bana) takes over his spot. His presence there is a violation of the rules as he and Claudia were once an item. As they investigate the case, they discover it wasn't a...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wine only on friday.....
Its a bread and butter thriller this one. Bana and Hall play barristers who are working on a massive case opposite each other, and they had an affair some time in the past.

Obviously there are conflicts of interest, and some professionals have worked on the script, because all the Jargon and plot holes are very clever and hold your interest for more than two...
Published 8 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wine only on friday....., 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Closed Circuit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its a bread and butter thriller this one. Bana and Hall play barristers who are working on a massive case opposite each other, and they had an affair some time in the past.

Obviously there are conflicts of interest, and some professionals have worked on the script, because all the Jargon and plot holes are very clever and hold your interest for more than two minutes.

Lo and behold though, there is conspiracy afoot, and Tariq from Eastenders appears in Halls office from time to time offering his card several times. Bana is conflicted,that's why he rows a boat for sport, Hall is classy, and Stiles pops up in a worthless cameo.

But how come Jim Broadbent plays the worst deep throat ever committed to celluloid? He may as well be called Basil Exposition, and wear a T-shirt saying 'I'm your friend, but I'm really a bit of a bad guy, so I'll warn you subliminally, but don't cross me'.

Twenty years ago, this would have starred Michael Douglas and Demi Moore as the leads, and Charlton Heston would have been the deep throat character.

The only difference is, the film made in 1994 would have been one of the hits of the year. Why (ironically) this went under the radar, is because, despite the brilliant acting from all involved, and some quite tense moments, it's the same thing that has been churned out since Beatty was in The Parallex View'.

Its forty years of if it ain't broken don't fix it, and its becoming tiresome.

But it's set in London, there's always London....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secrets, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
3.5 stars
A woman having lunch with her child, a man talking on his cell, people milling about, a man yelling at the a big white truck that was parked in the wrong place, Borough Market in London, and then a big white cloud as everything explodes. We see London from the view of split security cameras as this film opens, first one picture then two, four, eight, and the screen fills with the pictures of life that suddenly stops. What a magnificent beginning.

The next view is a funeral of a lawyer who committed suicide under peculiar circumstances. Then, we discover the lawyer was assigned to defend one of the perpetrators of the bombing. Two new lawyers are assigned, one who will defend him in public, Martin Rose, played by Eric Bana, and a special advocate, Coaudia Simmons-Howe, played by Rebecca Hall. Her role is to defend the bomber in private sessions, and is the only person allowed to see secret evidence that even the defendant is not privy.

The film becomes one of the line minded television series that is prevalent in the UK, good but not great. We see as the film moves along exactly what the outcome will be, the cat and mouse games, the one surprise may be the head of MI-5, but when we think about it, we know that was expected. People come and go, a US journalist who knew too much, the same taxi picks up Martin Rose until he catches on. Claudia Simmons-Howe fights harder because she is a woman, and she wants to do it her way.

In a good light, we see the scenes of London, much of London we ordinarily would not see. The scull barn that houses Martin's scull, and a beautiful view of the Thames. The modern apartment of Claudia, with many sided windows that give a view into her private life. And, the cameras, everywhere, that record the lives of those who live in London, and, in this case the secret cameras, so someone knows what is always going on. The film kept me engrossed to a certain point, then I was just looking for the end.

Recommended For Some. prisrob 01-19-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost excellent. But not quite, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A clever, low-key thriller, Closed Circuit has more in common with Tinker Tailor than Jason Bourne. It’s a typically English conspiracy, exploring similar issues of modern political morality as Bill Nighy’s Page Eight.

This is most definitely not a running / shooting / shouting action-adventure thriller. Nor is it a courtroom drama although many of the tense moments come in the closed chambers of a confidential hearing. Instead, Closed Circuit is a slow-burn investigation of the background to a terrorist attack in London, where the two defence lawyers start tugging on threads which might undermine the prosecution case… and could also see them garrotted in a dark alley, late at night.
Like other recent political thrillers (Rendition springs to mind), this low-budget but well-written film explores the uncomfortable aspects of the ambiguous and restrictive legislation which superficially aims to keep citizens safe, but which in practice degrades personal liberty and the rule of law while empowering the security services to break all their own rules. There are clear echoes of Dr David Kelly’s suicide in here, and a gathering sense of mistrust in those people who are supposed to be protecting us.
This is fiction, however, so for dramatic purposes the two lead characters inevitably have to behave in ways which their real-world counterparts wouldn’t – putting themselves at risk and confronting the establishment (and its lethal operatives) head on. Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall turn in creditable performances, and some of the best moments come in their early verbal sparring sessions as they jostle for intellectual superiority.
However, Closed Circuit doesn’t have the superb style or script of the Worricker Trilogy, and nor does it have such a satisfying ending. The finale is narratively honest – but for dramatic purposes it was somewhat unsatisfying. Some special features – perhaps the thoughts of the writer / director on the motivation for making this film – would have been nice, too.

A thought-provoking film, and a reasonably enjoyable one. However, it's likely to be one of those B-movies which is barely remembered in a couple of years from now.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A de-caff John Grisham., 19 July 2014
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This felt an oddly decaffeinated thriller. I emphasize oddly because the cast look excellent and the blurb on the front cover- "They see your every move", might indicate a new digital update on the 'Enemy of the state' surveillance genre. But if I was expecting a taut John Grisham style thriller I could forget it. Hall is excellent and as usual very watchable but oh my word the plot! I've never come across so many glaring gaps and blazingly obvious plot twists. It felt like a first time screenwriters draft at times such were the convenient jumps in story arc. The whole structure ultimately lacked style, wit or panache. The jeering in the House of Commons at the end was reminiscent of such British film debacles as 'Who Dares Wins' in the 1980s. Eric Bana has his plus points but he was completely wrong for this part I'm afraid. Someone like Russel Crowe or Daniel Craig might have breathed life into the script but in essence this was nothing more than an overblown episode of Spooks aspiring to be a John Grisham classic. As for the surveillance angle, this really drifted in terms of sub-theme. Bourne, Mission Impossible and even lightweight 90s movies like Eraser have all utilised electronic intrusion and government conspiracy more skillfully. Here, the surveillance angle seemed an awkward after thought nailed on to provide a neat promo line for future art work. Also, the repeated 'escapes' by the protagonists were handled with all the drama of childrens television. No extras on the DVD and sadly no extras in the film really! Two stars for Rebecca who rescues it all from complete farce but they should have done better with the talent on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPEAK CLEARLY FOR THE SAKE OF THE TYPIST,, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After a terrorist bombing in London, Simon (James Lowe) and Claudia (Rebecca Hall) are appointed special defense attorneys for the accused (Denis Moschitto). After Simon has an untimely suicide Martin (Eric Bana) takes over his spot. His presence there is a violation of the rules as he and Claudia were once an item. As they investigate the case, they discover it wasn't a simple terrorist bombing. There are things which don't add up. They soon realize their lives are in danger.

This is a slightly twisty drama with a touch of court room drama and a little action tossed in. The film keeps you mentally engaged for the most part, but then dies at the end without a real climax. No Jack Nicholson saying, "You can't handle the truth," just an elderly distinguished man having breakfast calmly explaining the ways of the world.

Did Rebecca Hall put on weight?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars tepid (and the review is full of spoilers), 14 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The situation here is that an MI5 undercover agent has been arrested by local police in London following a truck bomb explosion that kills over 100 people. There has to be a trial . . . but can MI5 fix it, without the public finding out about their agent AND (obviously) the fact that their plan didn't stop a terror attack? Their strategy is to find two defense lawyers that they can manipulate without these lawyers knowing that they are being manipulated and observed. Two are required, because some of the testimony has to be heard in a closed session (for "national security reasons") with one lawyer, while another has to handle the public trial and can only use as evidence from the closed trial whatever is allowed by the judge. Obviously, a rule of this game is that the two defense lawyers can't communicate with one another and risk state secrets being exposed. The aim of the closed trial is to make sure that that MI5's failure to prevent the attack is never revealed -- in other words, it's part of a cover-up, and everybody who has anything to do with the closed trial, except for the defense lawyer, knows what needs to happen to preserve the cover-up.

The two defense lawyers who are assigned to the case are tempted to take it because of its high-profile nature, and they're both ambitious, and despite the fact that an earlier lawyer assigned to the case "committed suicide." Also, the two lawyers are former lovers and as such should not be on this case at all -- but they are allowed to be because the high-level coverers-up believe that that fact will make them easier to manipulate and pressure. What could possibly go wrong . . .?

Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall are the lawyers. Julia Stiles, Ciaran Hinds, and Jim Broadbent are also in the mix to different extents -- so this is a pretty good cast. Unfortunately, the whole thing is a tepid mess. The fault, I think, is in the writing and the plotting, which is overelaborate to the point of implausibility. All the actors involved have done good work elsewhere, but there's no electricity between Bana and Hall, and the only thing that seems to motivate them is their survival and the survival of a key witness -- because they find out pretty soon that they are under constant surveillance and the examination of the papers of the lawyer who committed suicide makes it clear that he had stumbled on the truth and that his jump from a rooftop was probably not voluntary. There are moments of suspense, and perhaps the most effective element is the camerawork, which almost always suggests that the lawyers are always being watched -- even when they probably aren't, but a creepy vibe is certainly there. The characters, though, are no more than functions of the plot and have little independent life to interest us. It's good to hear Hinds deploying his demotic Ulster accent, and it's nice to see Jim Broadbent being as cold as ice . . . but these are small incidental pleasures. Too much of the movie is inert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Incredulous, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Closed Circuit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Closed Circuit is a routine conspiracy thriller which taps into the current terrorist threat facing the West. There is a surprising lack of tension or excitement - cool heads may be an asset in the legal profession but the two leads playing the legal eagles are so calm - at least until the murder attempt.
The story itself in terms of displaying the corruption and incompetency of MI5 is incredulous - not saying the state doesn't do dirty tricks or run double agents while allowing murder to take place to maintain their cover but why risk even allowing the under cover bomber to even reach court were it runs the risk of him revealing his double agent status. This simply would not be allowed to happen - at best he would face rendition or death - so instead for the purpose of the film not only does he get taken out , so does a journalist and another lawyer and an failed murder bid on another lawyer all involved in the case - really silly.
The sloppy use of the same taxi number is also unlikely as are the nervous twitches of the spymaster on the witness stand - the remit for the actress must have been - look as guilty as possible. For the uninitiated showing how the state suppresses evidence in the name of national security is worth noting but the director has taken an easy target and thrown credibility out the window. I actually liked Broadbent's quiet menacing performance. The least said about Bana's native accent seeping through the better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and worth a watch, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
N. Fiku "Nikfik" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Closed Circuit (DVD)
Interesting film that will keep your attention and creates talking points of 'Do you think this kind of thing really goes on'. I was however disappointed to see that after the bomb explosion at the beginning they then used footage of the London bombings as the opening credits to show the emergency services responding to what was supposed to be their terrorist incident. Got a bit confused as to what year it was supposed to be set in - turns out its 2012. Excellent performance from Bana as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can we really trust MI5 !, 4 Jun. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
An excellent film about terrorism, the role of closed circuit cameras and their use by secret organisations to protect us - or are they protecting us ? The film focusses on the covert operations of MI5 their tactics , mistakes and the lengths they're prepared to go to stop themselves from appearing amateurish. You need to watch the film carefully as there are a lot of clues to what's actually going on, and you soon realise that you can't trust anyone. An intelligent film without any car chases or soppy sentimentality so prevalent in most modern films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good night-in film, bit of a low key gem, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It can't be said that this "don't mess with the powerful" thriller breaks new ground but it covers the old ground in a more than acceptable manner with good performances turned in by actors playing credible characters.

Two Barristers are working on a terrorism trial and it turns out that the state doesn't want every stone turned over. They've got previous and it could cause them professional problems.

It's British rather than American so there is less hyperbole and fewer statements of the obvious presented as constitutional matters requiring a Congressional Inquiry and (IMHO...) better scenery.

Enjoyable if not award winning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013]
Closed Circuit [DVD] [2013] by John Crowley (DVD - 2014)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews