Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy and history in one!, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This book is one of the funniest books I have ever read!I have never liked history much, but this book changed that! I know now history is funny, interesting... AND HORRIBLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 7 Jan 2010
By 
J. Lapham (Penzance) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a 10 yr old but I read it first and found it really interesting. Now I know why my kids are always quoting little interesting facts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the parttime polymath, 29 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I adored this book. Though the book series is not known for its thorough content, it is well known for its entertainment value and ease of message. I personally love words and language, so this book was a particular treat. For Mr. Joe Bloggs, it's just as interesting, and I hope will make them further appreciate the great mess the English language is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as always, 5 Oct 2011
My son is 10 and he has been reading these books for years. This one was another great one and I love the focus on the language. I wish they'd had these when I was a kid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giggle maker, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my 8 year old grandson for christmas. He was very pleased with it & was in fits of giggles at it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly great, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for my grand-daughter but could not resist having a read through first.
What a wonderful way to compile a biik for a yuongster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Amusing, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Brilliant guide to language. Very easy light reading. I enjoyed this book completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting for teachers and pupils. Very funny. Different sections to choose from. A quick read and a history of wicked words!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and useful, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You would never think that so much information can be collected in only one book! Fantastic facts and the gory stories as always in the Horrible Histories books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun book series, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews