Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!
What a great comeback single! Gaga has done it again. Extremely catchy and it actually gets better with each listen. I love the video too! I can't wait to hear more new songs from the album ARTPOP.

Keep up the good work Gaga!
Published 12 months ago by Robert Tanczos

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An encore, encore, encore no one requested.
I wonder if by using a bit of Madonna's 'Sorry' she is actually apologising for this song?
It is, unfortunately, a mediocre track. It's very incongruent, the song is a pale Arlequin of what can be, with undue grace, be described as 'unmotivated influences' at best. Some have heard Madonna's 'Girl Gone Wilde', in it, which I myself rank as one of her weakest singles...
Published 12 months ago by Adam


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaga for Gaga, 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
Love this new song from Mother Monster. Can't wait for the rest of the album. ARTPOP era has officially begun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's back!, 15 Aug 2013
By 
J. Kirkham "Kirkhamj1" (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
This song is amazing. Pure genius construction and great lyrics written by the lady herself. Instantly fell in lie with this track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An encore, encore, encore no one requested., 14 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
I wonder if by using a bit of Madonna's 'Sorry' she is actually apologising for this song?
It is, unfortunately, a mediocre track. It's very incongruent, the song is a pale Arlequin of what can be, with undue grace, be described as 'unmotivated influences' at best. Some have heard Madonna's 'Girl Gone Wilde', in it, which I myself rank as one of her weakest singles. I can see that this may be seen as an attempt to that song. The problem is that it's half hearted.
There is no doubt that there's a bit of Madonna's 'Sorry' in it, note by note. Again, watered down.
She tries to sound like Bowie. What for?
The song is basically about Gaga's only concern: her success. In this way, it's a selfish song. It is also selfish because it gives little to the listener in exchange for the craved applause.
There are two simple symph lines, and simple vocals. That's it. Nothing more.
EDM it might be, but a form of basic EDM. Very, very basic.
There are some catcy phrases. That's the only plus in this song. But even these are badly packaged.
To be honest, nothing new in this song, and this has been the problem with Gaga for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful!, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
well i was shocked when i heard this song.
Gaga has never been my favourite artist
but this is shockingly bad!!
i feel it has no real direction and no depth
also, its a cheap dance song that i wouldn't dance to

all in all 1/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applause, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
Gaga delivers an astounding lead single from her upcoming album ArtPop. Applause is a fast paced electronic dance track that some are calling trance-pop. Using anecdotes from her early fame career up to the unfortunate breaking of her hip, this track expresses the difference between fame and success as well as the disregard for ad hominem critiques of her music. It kicks your ass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad comeback single, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
Loved gaga when her 1st album came out, but now her music feels desperate ,contrived and lacking any charm whatsoever .This song sounds like reject from La Roux album.Very very poor song,and doubt i will buy her new album FartPoop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's bacckkk..., 13 Aug 2013
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
Well this is a nice surprise; Lady Gaga is back, and seems to have gone a bit retro. Lyrically she is telling us about how she lives for fans praise of her music, whilst also critiquing critics. Vocally she is a bit like I'd imagine a female David Bowie to be.

I'm not sure how to describe this track musically; it's cheerful, but dark, not quite pop, not quite dance, and it has a 80s electro synth feel to it. APPLAUSE is catchy and makes you want to move. I'm really excited about the ARTPOP album, if this is the calibre of materil that we can expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's back... ABOUT DAMN TIME., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
In a time when songs like "Blurred Lines" are dominating the air waves, electro pop seemed pretty much dead. No more Poker Faces, no more We Found Loves or Hold it Against Me's tearing up the air waves; music had moved beyond that, now we're living in a time where misogyny is cool, hashtags are used in song titles and Miley Cyrus twerking is meant to be the coolest thing ever. STOP, hold up; back track - something is obviously not right here, and a little known singer by the name of Lady Gaga has picked up on it. Instead of jumping on the bandwagons of 2013, Gaga's sticking to what she does best, making great pop music. Applause the lead single from her upcoming album "ARTPOP" due for release in November is classic Gaga, from a stuttered synth intro, to David Bowie inspired vocals on the verses, to a power house of a chorus; Gaga ticks all in the boxes in what turns out to be one of her best ever pop singles. Glam pop power house is back; it's gay, it's fabulous... it's Gaga. Exactly what the industry needs right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakthrough, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
I don't know what to say, this song is amazing. It's different to what she usually makes but sounds awesome, Gaga plus dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaga is back and on top form!!, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Applause (MP3 Download)
Gaga keeps up the good work by coming back with this catchy pop/dance track that will stick in your head after a few listens..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Applause
Applause by Lady Gaga
Buy MP3 Song0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews