Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever thriller that hooks you in.....
Review

This book was a very pleasant surprise, far too often today thrillers are formulaic and predictable, the "bad guy" standing out by a country mile. Not the case in the clever well written interesting tale. The plot and the characters are extremely well written, very real and often very flawed, the true triumph of the book being Gil Eckhart, such a multi...
Published 9 months ago by Parm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read
This was a bit slow burner but nonetheless enjoyable. I only gave 3 stars due to:

The author hadn't provided readers with any clues and as such it was impossible to form a hypothesis and prove it while progressing the text. The whole point of this genre is to solve the crime with the protagonist. Therefore one star less.

I took out half a star for...
Published 4 months ago by Maciej Kubat


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever thriller that hooks you in....., 13 Jan 2014
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review

This book was a very pleasant surprise, far too often today thrillers are formulaic and predictable, the "bad guy" standing out by a country mile. Not the case in the clever well written interesting tale. The plot and the characters are extremely well written, very real and often very flawed, the true triumph of the book being Gil Eckhart, such a multi dimensional interesting lead character, but with a great supporting cast.

The back plot of Caravaggio provides an educational and illuminating setting both in the world of the art trade and also with the use of timeslip 1608 Europe. I loved the idea of a long lost descendant suddenly appearing and throwing the art world into turmoil with the revelation that not one but two long lost master pieces could be about to resurface. The resulting appearance of an old Killer, many years silent is both disturbing and chilling, with some very cleverly derived murders.

The book sped by and entertained me immensely.I will be without doubt picking up the other books by this author, finding a good thriller writer is hard, finding a great one is nigh on impossible. (thanks Milo for this tip)

Highly recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner, 8 Jan 2014
I am a great fan of Alex Connor's work - so I had great expectations for The Caravaggio Conspiracy - I was not disappointed, I could not put it down. From the moment you begin reading you are captured by the fast paced plot the unexpected twists and turns. The characters are beautifully drawn and the book is so full of atmosphere. I enjoyed it very much and was glad that I was reading it on holiday so that I could read it in one go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warning- addictive and gripping., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
On my last book by this author, I love when I find a great read, pleased when I find they have written others of the same genre, disappointed when the others don't live up to the first.
I hate that I'm on my last of the ones by Alex Connor and even though I've found so many good reads through the Amazon 'others like' links and already downloaded more of the same genre. (God knows how to describe the genre: investigative, murder, historical twist, archeological and biblical 'discovery.). And no, they aren't perfect, although perfectly gory in parts, but hey, that's part of what makes these books, in my view, such a great read. I am going to be waiting impatiently for the next Alex Connor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caravaggio, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
great story, kept me spellbound. would recommend this book to all. really good to read about the art world and its Schlesinger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
This is another brilliant, romping thriller from Alex Connor that keeps you in suspense and on your toes for the whole read! Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
This was a very interesting read giving you a potted history of Caravaggio as well as really exciting pacy thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, 5 Jan 2014
Alex's notion of setting thriller plots on top of the art world just works. It's not difficult to imagine that with the amount of money in the industry a lot of dishonest ongoings occur. The characters in this story will do anything to protect their reputations and fortunes. I found the book to be well written, with deep and interesting characters and settings, and an exciting plot that kept me guessing until the end. I see no reason why anyone who enjoys thrillers would not thoroughly enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn. Shame about the editing!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
This was a clever book loosely based on history. The plot was clever and absorbing but was ruined by poor editing. There were several spelling mistakes, poor syntax and some sentences simply did not make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
This was a bit slow burner but nonetheless enjoyable. I only gave 3 stars due to:

The author hadn't provided readers with any clues and as such it was impossible to form a hypothesis and prove it while progressing the text. The whole point of this genre is to solve the crime with the protagonist. Therefore one star less.

I took out half a star for typos. There are quite a few in the book. This is not what I would expect from a published book.

Another half a star for bad German. I assume the author used a computer translator to translate English to German. The result was in many cases very poor.

Summing up, if you look for a good crime this isn't for you. It is rather bad. But if you look for a nice book for holiday, you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much Caravaggio, 21 May 2014
By 
A. E. Williams "History fanatic" (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Caravaggio Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
Can't help thinking a book about Caravaggio himself and his remarkable life would have been more interesting. This is a murder mystery with a bit of historical background thrown in to justify the title which I will admit was what attracted me to the book. OK as a time waster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Caravaggio Conspiracy
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews