Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there was one...or two...
If you like your murder mysteries with less violence and gore... but enjoy high suspense with a hint of romance...J. T. Ellison is the gal for you!

A DEEPER DARKNESS is the first Samantha Owens, Tennessee medical examiner, thriller by Ellison (who has written a bunch of mysteries featuring Sam's friend, a homicide detective in Nashville). Samantha's a...
Published on 10 Nov. 2012 by janebbooks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I like this author
I like this author, have read a view of the Taylor/Baldwin books which are very enjoyable, I therefore expected to feel the same about this. Unfortuanately the character was not as charasmatic as her other characters and I didnt really get into the book like I usually do. It was a good read but somewhat disappointing.
Published 12 months ago by karen sanyang


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there was one...or two..., 10 Nov. 2012
By 
janebbooks (Jacksonville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
If you like your murder mysteries with less violence and gore... but enjoy high suspense with a hint of romance...J. T. Ellison is the gal for you!

A DEEPER DARKNESS is the first Samantha Owens, Tennessee medical examiner, thriller by Ellison (who has written a bunch of mysteries featuring Sam's friend, a homicide detective in Nashville). Samantha's a workaholic professional trying to forget the day a Tennessee flood took her husband and children. She has a great team who understands her aversion for performing autopsies on drowned victims and her incessant hand-washing.

At the beginning of the tale, we meet retired Ranger Eddie Donovan. It is the day of his death. Eddie has served three tours in Afghanistan and has retired, sick of "nation building," and is working as a security consultant in Washington, DC. He's also taking a day off to be with his wife and daughters....until he gets a call that summons him to his death. Eddie Donovan was a member of the 75th Ranger Regiment Bravo Company in Afghanistan, a proud and loyal member of a band of five "brothers" who served together: King (Perry Fisher), Doc (Donovan), Shaky Guy (William Everett), Mutant (Alexander Whitfield), and Jackel (Harold Croswell). And there's also a young friendly woman with the unit, Maggie Lyons.

After Eddie's death, Samantha receives a call from his mother to perform a second autopsy. The police are calling the murder a carjacking gone wrong. Sam goes to DC...renews her friendship with her former lover's mother and meets the wife. Along with a gruff detective, she discovers that of the five band of brothers, only one is still living. And that Maggie Lyons is on the run. There's a hint of friendly fire, an illegitimate daughter, an Army coverup...the pages are really turning. (Except the missing pages written in Latin in Donovan's journal.)

J. T. Ellison has given us well-defined and likeable characters, prudent use of 50 cents and 4 letter words, realistic crime scenes, a 16-year-old bottle of Scotch that turns into two cold beers in a wilderness at the end.

I'll be ordering Edge of Black (A Samantha Owens Novel - Book 2) as soon as it's published in the USA.

Enjoy,
Jane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like this author, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
I like this author, have read a view of the Taylor/Baldwin books which are very enjoyable, I therefore expected to feel the same about this. Unfortuanately the character was not as charasmatic as her other characters and I didnt really get into the book like I usually do. It was a good read but somewhat disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
Like all JT's books. Excellent characters and great story lines. More please; I've read them all now but love Taylor Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different darkness, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
Think it will take bit of getting used to Sam being the main character, but quite liked it once i got used to it, different but very enjoyable, quite a few moments which kept you guessing looking forward to reading more about Dr Sam Owens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
A gripping read from the start. Certainly keeps you guessing. Great character's you can relate to and feel for them. I am not going to detail about the book as I would recommend that everyone should read it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 26 Aug. 2013
Enjoyed the book but did not stand out compared to others in the gendre

Prefer the work of Deaver, McDermid and Patterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Start, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book kept me guessing to the end,i have read a couple fo JT Ellison books previously and have not been disappointed with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all J T Ellisons books this is a great read. Cannot put the book down the stories are so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book because the central character was so interesting.Good plot, racy pace A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Deeper Darkness (A Samantha Owens Novel, Book 1) (Dr. Samantha Owens Series) (Kindle Edition)
A great read didn't see the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews