Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard fists and a Cold Dojo
An older but an exact copy of "Moving Zen: One Man's Journey to the Heart of Karate".

Mr. Nicole tells about Karate from a Western viewpoint and how it was practiced in Japan after the war, but before it became mainstream in America. He recounts his interactions with the Japanese, some nice, some not so nice, and gives detailed accounts about his learning...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by Terry Tozer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read
I thought that this was quite an interesting read and was only really put off by the fact that the author left Japan to go whaling. Not exactly something to brag about.
Published on 20 April 2012 by Kitten


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard fists and a Cold Dojo, 8 Jun 2007
By 
Terry Tozer "TJSKA.com" (Reading & Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An older but an exact copy of "Moving Zen: One Man's Journey to the Heart of Karate".

Mr. Nicole tells about Karate from a Western viewpoint and how it was practiced in Japan after the war, but before it became mainstream in America. He recounts his interactions with the Japanese, some nice, some not so nice, and gives detailed accounts about his learning karate in the cold dojo with a wood burning stove as the only source of heat. His adventure is one that many of us envies but would not attempt, as he did and when he did. In our current day of carpet on the floor, and three inch safety padding, Nicole's book provides a good account of what karate used to be like and should be like today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best martial arts book ever written, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Sj Weller (Buckinghamshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read this book countless times over the years each time i need motivation it never fails to inspire me., another reviewer remarked that this is how karate should be practised and i could not agree more with that gentleman.
Anyone who is looking for a serious insight into martial arts should read this book
HIGHLY recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Zen, 6 Nov 2007
By 
K. N. Russell "Keith R." (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moving Zen (Paperback)
A very compelling and informative read. I have had this book for several years now and have lost count of the number of times I have re read his journey. A great book for keeping you motivated and inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight into the Japanese Culture and Karate, 3 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This book tells the story of a British man seeking a Japanese dream, to study the martial arts in Japan. Mr Nicol was a wild youth getting into many street fights, he goes to Japan to learn Judo and Karate. He soon realises he must choose between them; he chose Karate. Whilst studying he learns inner peace and tranquillity, he also meets and marrys a Japanese girl.
This book is brilliant for those wishing to discover the culture of Japan through a martial arts (specifically Shotokan Karate) perspective.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good. excellent quality, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth reading , as not many books give you a western view on karate. I am Irish and can identify with this book quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing book from an amazing man., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Google the author before you buy this book and you will find a man who has achieved an incredible amount in his lifetime from what were quite ordinary beginnings.

If you have any interest in the martial arts then this is a must read/must have.

This book inspires me everytime I re-read it and it may help you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-READ for any serious martial artist, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Seamus O'Dowd (Stamullen, Co. Meath Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Zen: Karate as a Way to Gentleness (Kindle Edition)
This is renowned as the greatest martial arts story ever. Others have tried to emulate it, and some have even done a decent job, but this is the classic book and should be the first book in any martial artists library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever writte on traing in Japan, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Zen: Karate as a Way to Gentleness (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book back in the 70's and it has stood the test of time.
C W. Nichol writes in a honest and enjoyable manner.
The book is inspiring, it made me stay on the path and live in Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book that offers to you a right conduct about how to be in society as a gentleman through martial arts., 19 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and classical book about Zen in the Martial Arts. This book help us how to conquer the balance between mind, body and individual behavior in society. A "must" that you have to get to your library...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tempering body and soul through the practice of karate., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book over 20 years ago, and really enjoyed it.

Recently, I was reminded of this book and purchased it again. It is a very interesting read, and very inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews