Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better Faster Stronger.
Install time 17 mins on a Intel Core i3 Laptop
Pretty straight forward although Im not 100% sure a 28 digit serial key is completely necessary in 2013 but nevertheless installation was swift and straight forward
Took up about 3.5 gig of ram which is not bad given the power of this software
I have been using Corel for many many years but I am by no means an...
Published 9 months ago by Jason Gaston

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deserves 3 stars, but minus 2 for "lying through omission"
Corel they have crippled functionality of this Home/Student edition, but they not been transparent about it.

WHY would they do such a thing?
==============
It's to discourage professional designers from buying the cheap-as-chips version (this product) instead of Corel Draw X6 (which costs several hundred pounds). I found this out after some digging...
Published 9 months ago by LJD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Corel Standard, 21 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Installed CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 without any gliches.

I've noticed in some other reviews that this software is not too unlike CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6. However, I cannot comment on this as I haven't used CorelDRAW for quite some time.

From playing around with this software, it's clear that there are two main applications at work. We have the CorelDRAW side of things and then there is something called PhotoPaint. There also is Corel Capture and Corel Connect.

The Interface is simple and easy to use. You probably will need a bit of time to get used of everything (especially if you haven't used any similar software in quite some time). There are video tutorials if/when you get stuck.

The actual package will allow you to create artwork designs. The more you work with it, the better your design. You have access to a library of clipart and digital images, photos, fonts templates and frames and patterns.

Don't be put off with this when you first start working with this.
Should you buy it? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent vector-based design and layout program, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had a play around with the CorelDRAW Home & Student Suite X6 suite when it came out, and I'm beggared if I can find any difference between that and this, apart from eighteen months and twenty quid. I'm tempted to reinstall the earlier versions, but I suspect laziness will interfere with that plan.

Regardless, it's really rather good and about 300 quid cheaper than the full blown CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6, which is the professional version. Of course I would never suggest that anyone should breach the terms of the license by using this for commercial purposes, because that would just be wrong.

It's an excellent vector-based design and layout program and a bitmap image editor, and does pretty much anything you would need from it, short of running your own design studio. So if you're looking to design reports, drawings, flyers, logos etc, this is the place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As simple or sophisticated as you like!, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's been a while since I've dipped my toes in the CorelDraw pool - I've used Paintshop Pro and various Adobe applications over the years but this latest iteration of CorelDraw has me hooked.

This Corel "Home and Student Suite" is made up of two main applications - CorelDRAW and Photo-Paint. In support of these headline applications are a number of useful utilities including PowerTrace for graphic file conversion and Connect for image cataloguing/browsing. This version of CorelDraw allows you to install it on up to 3 PCs but rather like some Microsoft Office versions it's only licenced for Home and Student use - you can't use it in a small business for example.

The Corel Draw 2014 package comes without a printed manual, but what it does have are some nifty help videos focussed around specific topics such as drawing and editing etc. and a very effective built in help system (referred to as an "electronic guidebook"). However, I do agree with another reviewer that the manual supplied on disc needs editing to cover this specific version of CorelDraw. However, despite the controls and menus initially looking very complex, the basics soon become intuitive and over time you can "funnel down" to learn more sophisticated operations readily if you want/need to. The suite also features a built in library of 1000 clipart and digital images, 100 high-resolution photos, 100 fonts, 100 professionally-designed templates and 400 frames and patterns.

Because this suite is so user friendly and enticing it has become a thief of my time, I just love experimenting with it and learning new features. The results in terms of both photo editing and graphic manipulation/creation are astonishing - I don't attribute any of it to my skill but to the ingenuity of this Corel software, which I think represents excellent value for money. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the power of CoreDRAW at a superb price, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 is effectively a stripped down version of the excellent CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6. It still has many of the powerful features of Graphics Suite X6, the main difference being it hasn't got as much multimedia content included. Nevertheless the application still comes bundled with a very comprehensive set of fonts, clipart and web graphics to get you up and running for a non-commercial project.

The Home and Student Suite consists of the two primary applications of CorelDRAW and PHOTO-PAINT. Alongside these are a collection of useful utilities such as PowerTrace for bitmap conversion and CONNECT for image browsing.

The interface to CorelDRAW itself is fairly friendly and easy to use, though it can be a bit overwhelming initially. The workspace provides an extensive set of controls, with the Objects Properties docker containing a huge array of properties divided into sections, so many complex tasks can be accessed without having to drill down loads of menu. At first all these controls give the impression of complexity but you soon realise they actually make the application a lot easier to use.

Usability is definitely helped by an excellent set of video tutorials that come built-in to the application. These are an excellent resource and contain a wealth of useful information, in fact anyone who has never used a CorelDRAW product will soon be up and running very quickly using these tutorials.

CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 is a feature-packed application that enables home users to take full advantage of all its powerful tools thanks to the excellent help and video tutorials. And at a fraction of the cost of CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6, this represents fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... CorelDraw and wanted to upgrade to a later version excellent, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I've always used CorelDraw and wanted to upgrade to a later version excellent package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, Real Power, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In a DTP world dominated by Adobe, it is easy to just go and buy a new computer with the usual suspects and get on with your work, but a great deal of money can be saved by shopping around for software alternatives.

No-one seems to remember Corel Draw. In the mid 90's it was the dominant force in professional DTP software on the PC and though having lost its marketing edge, the product has been upgraded over the years to this excellent package. Corel Draw Home and Student Suite 2014, is a cut-down version of Graphics Suite X6 at a vastly reduced price and will install onto 3 PC's with the licence number provided.

This package works well with Windows 8.1.

CorelDraw handles vector illustrations and page layouts admirably. Compared with Adobe Illustrator, CorelDraw provides for the entry level user as well as the professional user, which is something Adobe could learn from. However it has fewer image editing features and adjustment effects, although over all a similar number of additional features. CorelDraw supports a lot more file formats including PDF, EPS, JPEG, PNG, PSD and TIFF.

The `Help' functions are excellent and built in videos demonstrate the functions of most features. The initial opening screen is a very well thought out jumping-off point for your adventures into CorelDraw.

The package isn't just one programme but includes a very capable photo editing programme called Photo-Paint which is very much on a par with Adobe Photoshop Elements. Other inclusions are a screen capture utility (Corel Capture) and a content search system (Corel Connect). At first sight Connect seems to only offer what Windows 8.1 can already deliver from its search system, but the idea is the development of a `tray' that holds all pictures, fonts and elements of a project to keep track of things as you work.

Compared to the functionality of Adobe Photoshop, there are quite a few things missing, such as handling of RAW data, but remember this is competing purely with Elements, and at this price it offers so much more, making it better value all round.

If you want Adobe InDesign but can't afford it, you might find all your needs are met in this package and you will save yourself a fortune. If money is no object I suppose we would all go to Adobe, but just how silly is that?

For my use, this package will suffice and produce professional output. I commend it to you as a serious alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little has changed in last few releases, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Ajo "ak" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Corel draw and photo paint are my favourite vector drawing / design and photography software kits and I have been using them for some 20 years (since version 3).

This version is basically X6 (version 16) packaged as student edition. I found the difference between my current version 12 and this to be minimal in functionality and am seeing a notable drop in performance. So am not convinced that an upgrade from anything higher than 12 is necessary (especially if running on an older PC - mine is 3 years old). Thus the three stars.

As to software and usability it self - there is little to fault. It is much easier to use and learn than Adobe or apple products yet very powerful. I think any amateur design, photographer should have it! Especially this with very keen pricing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managed to pick it up quite quickly!, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Jayne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a super little program with lots of useful features. It's been fun finding my way around it and manipulating and creating pictures and the results have been really good. Good value and good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. C. Kent "johnckent" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a first class design package at a very affordable price. for most users there is no need to buy a more expensive package as this will do everything that you need. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent software, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For a home user looking for graphics software, this is ideal. It can be as simple or as complicated as you need it to be. It is very easy to use, but there is a depth to the software which means it is easy to do simple things, but there is also the functionality for some quite complicated editing and creation processes. Install time was around 15 minutes on an i3 desktop PC with 8 gb of RAM. There is no printed manual, but there are lots of electronic resources to help you. The software includes a photo programme and the main coreldraw programme. There are lots of pictures and clip art that you can use. You can also install on 3 PCs, which is great if you have kids who do homework projects etc. I made some pretty good looking Christmas pictures for the family which I was pleased with. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC)
£83.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews