Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better Faster Stronger.
Install time 17 mins on a Intel Core i3 Laptop
Pretty straight forward although Im not 100% sure a 28 digit serial key is completely necessary in 2013 but nevertheless installation was swift and straight forward
Took up about 3.5 gig of ram which is not bad given the power of this software
I have been using Corel for many many years but I am by no means an...
Published 12 months ago by Jason Gaston

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deserves 3 stars, but minus 2 for "lying through omission"
Corel they have crippled functionality of this Home/Student edition, but they not been transparent about it.

WHY would they do such a thing?
==============
It's to discourage professional designers from buying the cheap-as-chips version (this product) instead of Corel Draw X6 (which costs several hundred pounds). I found this out after some digging...
Published 12 months ago by LJD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better Faster Stronger., 4 Dec 2013
By 
Jason Gaston "Uncle Jay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Install time 17 mins on a Intel Core i3 Laptop
Pretty straight forward although Im not 100% sure a 28 digit serial key is completely necessary in 2013 but nevertheless installation was swift and straight forward
Took up about 3.5 gig of ram which is not bad given the power of this software
I have been using Corel for many many years but I am by no means an expert illustrator.I have used it for various projects including flyers, posters, logos, cd and dvd inserts etc.
As well as being a desktop publishing suite Corel Draw has its own version of Photoshop for editing photos in some of the most spectacular ways possible and this version is more powerful than ever. In just a few clicks you can delete a person from a photo, add effects reshape, resize add text etc.
Some of the new design features available in this version gives even more creativity possible with regards personalising open type fonts by adding swirls, twirls and distorting and morphing like never before thus giving you the power to create some stuning and truly original fonts or lettering styles to completely personalise you project.
Included in this latest version of Corel Draw is Corel Connect which gives you:
1000 Photos~
10'000 Clipart
1000 Fonts
350 Templates
2000 Vehicle Templates
800 Patterns and Frames
As well as instant access to Fotilai and Istock photos and a natty little feature where you can input a website in the search engine and Corel Draw will automatically recognise and remove any images used on that particular website but please adhere to copyright rules and laws.
If like me your still really limited as to what you know or can do there is also included in this latest version and almost endless supply of hits, tips, tutorials and even videos showing you all manor of things from basic navigation and typesetting to really advanced vector tools and if these dont get you creative juices flowing then I don't know what will.
Amazing product as always from Corel but for me personally this latest version has so much more to offer than ever before and I will be using this for a very very long time indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deserves 3 stars, but minus 2 for "lying through omission", 5 Dec 2013
By 
LJD (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Corel they have crippled functionality of this Home/Student edition, but they not been transparent about it.

WHY would they do such a thing?
==============
It's to discourage professional designers from buying the cheap-as-chips version (this product) instead of Corel Draw X6 (which costs several hundred pounds). I found this out after some digging around - it was on a blogpost on their official site.

Whilst that makes sense, they should make people aware of this BEFORE purchase.

WHAT is different
==============

- Native 64-bit OS support [this seems like an arbitrary limitation]
- No VBA / VSTA support
- Macro functions disabled [students need to learn how to automate stuff]
- Some professional print options disabled, such as Prepress, Preflight, Separations, etc.
- "Enhanced Color Management disabled: Some CMYK features disabled"
- Some additional functions and support removed, such as Color Styles, Object Styles, color harmonies, etc. - Some external file format support removed, such as DXF/DWG, DCS, CGM, JPEG 2000, etc.
- Advanced OpenType features removed
- Some Colour Management Options removed
- No printed hardcover book [though electronic version included.. so that's fair enough]

SNEAKY?
=====

You may wish to note that this important information [with the exception stuff about documentation in electronic format rather than printed] does not appear in the product description, above. WHY THE HELL NOT? (Racking my brain and all I can think of is - it would hurt sales)

I think £79 WOULD be a fair price for a 3-licence Home/Student version IF they had been transparent about this. I would have given at least ⭐️⭐️⭐️.

I feel it SHOULD be displayed, prominently! It ought to be in bold text or a comparison table. Why is it omitted? I STRONGLY SUGGEST COREL HAVE THIS INFORMATION ADDED TO THE PRODUCT DESCRIPTION (ABOVE) so customers are better informed.

RANT
=====
Some of the arbitrary, capricious limitations seem INCREDIBLY PETTY. [Object Styles and Colour Styles are NOT pro features!]
But even so. I would have rated this 3 or 4 stars, if this info was made clear to people before purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No printed manual but good video tutorials W, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I was working, I used several Corel products including a very early version of CorelDraw, now I am retired, I was pleased to get this version to play with.

The first thing I noticed was the lack of a printed manual. There are however, two hours of video tutorials to watch. These are very good, and I quickly got to grips with this version of the software. I have produced a very nice Christmas 'letter' to go with our cards this year.

The photo editing is rather basic so I will stick to my current software for that.

As the software is for 3 users, I will install it on my vhildrens laptops when they visit next :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big graphics suite, small price, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite the 2014 branding, this is a virtually identical re-release of the CorelDRAW Home & Student Suite X6 suite, and they both have nearly all the features of CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6, which is the version intended for professional graphic artists and designers, and on which they are both based. The terms of the license mean that you can't use the Home and Student versions commercially, but the up-side is you're permitted to install the software on up to three computers. And given that the features omitted from the Home and Student versions are unlikely to be of great interest to home users, they are an absolute bargain.

What's in the box? Well, this version has no printed manual whatever, which is fair enough as there are links to some very good training videos embedded within the Help menus. Other than a carboard stiffener, there's just a DVD and the rather long product key. The component programs are CorelDRAW Home & Student 2014, Corel PHOTO-PAINT Home & Student 2014, Corel CAPTURE X6 and CorelCONNECT X6, which are respectively the main vector graphics and layout program, a very powerful bitmap (photo) editor, a screen capture utility and a resource cataloguing tool. You also get Corel PowerTRACE X6, which is more of a utility than a standalone program: it converts bitmaps to vectors, automatically tracing and simplifying the image, and it can be found inside CorelDRAW in the Bitmaps menu, under Centerline Trace and Outline Trace.

So in essence what you get is a vector-based design and layout program and a bitmap image editor. They are both powerful programs, but CorelDRAW itself is the centerpiece of the suite: the images you edit in PHOTO-PAINT will probably end up in a CorelDRAW document.

Four minor version upgrades of X6 have been released since it first came out. There are now a few more differences between the premium Graphics Suite and the Student & Home versions. What you don't get includes: a couple of the best fonts, Helvetica and Garamond; two of the Pantone colour palettes, Colour Styles (including the powerful "harmony" feature) and Object Styles, the Undo docker (you can still undo, just not in such a pretty way), various proofing tools and the ability to record and run macros. Neither do you get free Corel online membership.

But all of that is a fairly short list compared with what is left in. There's almost every conceivable tool to give you creative freedom to do what you want, including the neat Smart Carver tool, that lets you very quickly edit out unwanted elements from a photograph, and a whole raft of vector tools. You can produce highly professional publications either for print or to export as PDF.

It's worth noting that neither edition of the Home & Student version appears to include a 64-bit version of the programs. I've installed both version on Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 8.1 64-bit operating systems, and the 32-bit version of the software is installed every time. The more expensive CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6 comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions. 64-bit versions should theoretically be faster, but in reality I haven't noticed any significant difference.

It doesn't seem to me that it makes much difference which version of the Home & Student Suite you buy (the old X6 version or this new 2014 version). They both have a 3-computer licence and they include the same programs, although the 2014 version has more recent updates (note that you can download product updates for free). The loss of the flimsy paper manual that was in the X6 version is not much of a loss: the video tutorials are the place to start if you're new to CorelDRAW, and there's a good browser-based help system too.

Whichever you choose, it's an absolute steal compared to buying the CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6 on which they are both based. Like any powerful program, it takes a bit of getting used to, but if you're willing to put in a bit of effort to learn it, CorelDRAW will reward you handsomely.

Notes:

- All versions of this software (X6 and both Home & Student derivatives) work fine on Windows 8.1.
- You may like to consider buying the earlier (but as far as I can ascertain identical) CorelDRAW Home & Student Suite X6, depending on relative price and availability. I can't unfortunately guarantee that they're identical, but I think they are.
- You don't need to send Corel anything to prove you're a student. Installing the software requires you to type in your email address and the product key.
- You will be prompted to register your software; if and when you do, you get a free gift. Spoiler alert: It's some document templates.

====

Update, November 2013. With reference to my second point in "notes" above, Daniel from Corel kindly sent me a leaflet describing what's new in the 2014 version of the CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite. The list of new features is:

- Videos and tutorials (learn tips & tricks from the experts);
- Customize applications (modify the appearance of CorelDRAW on your desktop - I couldn't work out what this meant, but I don't think it has any effect on the usability of the program);
- Draw arcs with the Polyline tool;
- Adjust transparency and feathering of brushstrokes as you paint in PhotoPaint (this is actually quite useful, as it's more intuitive then clicking the menus: hold CTRL to constrain the line to vertical or horizontal, ALT to adjust transparency, CTRL+ALT for feathering, and SHIFT to resize);
- Draw and modify shapes with precision (using the Object Coordinates docker); and
- OpenType options now accessible from within the Text and the Object Properties docker.

It's not a very long list, and they are tweaks at best, but at least it's something. In any case, regardless of what enhancements there may or may not be, it's still a very impressive software collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish software rubbish support, 22 Mar 2014
By 
R. D. T. Griffiths (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this as have used Corel software for many years. Corel used to give superb support - which is why I have - until now- been a loyal customer. Sadly support is now rubbish. Support is only 30 days, then it costs an arm and a leg.
Installed this on my main desktop PC..wont even load just runs up error message.
Hard to asses a piece of software that wont even work!
As I have been recovering from a shoulder op since purchasing this the 30 day install support has gone. No hope of any support now from Corel.
The purchase included money off voucher against further purchases. This would;t work for the software I wanted. Customer support kept saying they would sort the problem then just closed the case off with no explanation.
Why am I mentioning this? Just to caution purchases that the once legendary excellent Corel customer support is now plain awful.
Make sure if you purchase something get it installed and tested RIGHT AWAY you only have 30 days support - and that only covers installation issues. Beyond 30 days or for anythign else forget it you are on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So full of features, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
This drawing package is rich in features, and gives a student designer all the tools they need to produce professional looking graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is this cheaper and better in the states?, 17 April 2014
By 
Tim Jim D (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
If you look on amazon dot com in the US you will see coreldraw graphics suite x7 academic going for $90.
Even with shipping and tax it works our cheaper and yet is the full, unrestricted version.

As a long term customer of Corel I am not impressed and won't be buying this UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good and Relatively Inexpensive, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I don't use this much so I don't know how much of a difference there is between the full version and this home and student version. For my needs it is more than enough. Even in this version I still don't know most of the functions. I think it is a good buy and is quite inexpensive compared to the full version, so I would recommend it to people who are not looking to use this professionally. For basic needs it is more than enough.
If my needs increase then I think I would go for the rented version i.e. the yearly version. However I don't think I would ever need it; most people would not need it. Go ahead blindly with this version if you are not looking to use it professionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably priced version of Corel Draw without too many missing features for the home user, 17 Oct 2014
By 
F. S. Morton "Wudbugz" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
As a Corel Draw user for many years it seemed time to upgrade my trusty old X version, however for the sort of use that I now put it to, it seems the full version is way too expensive and has too many bells and whistles. This version however does all that I require it to do at a much reduced price. Only the future will tell if I made the right choice but up to now its met my expectation admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corel Draw 2014, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Excellent service form this supplier.

I have been using Corel Draw for around 15 years and therefore have used many versions.

This 2014 version is again an excellent upgrade I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CorelDRAW Home and Student Suite 2014 - 3 User Licence (PC)
£87.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews