Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swiss army knife of a Bluetooth Headset!
Bought this to work with my Samsung Galaxy Note 3. It does not disappoint!

Firstly the device is larger than an average BT headset but you do get a lot in return. The main function for listening to audio wirelessly through the earphones is obvious (and sounds very clear with good bass levels) and the inclusion of FM radio is very welcome and works nicely with...
Published 14 months ago by J. C. Bates

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newer but not better
EDITED 23 JULY 2014
Following advice from another reviewer (see comments of this review) I replaced it. Well done to the trader who did so quickly and without hassle.

I have to say that the battery life is somewhat improved, so maybe that was a one-off. But this still has connection issues, and with two different tablets and a now-different new phone. The...
Published 9 months ago by Red Planet


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swiss army knife of a Bluetooth Headset!, 8 Oct 2013
By 
J. C. Bates (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Bought this to work with my Samsung Galaxy Note 3. It does not disappoint!

Firstly the device is larger than an average BT headset but you do get a lot in return. The main function for listening to audio wirelessly through the earphones is obvious (and sounds very clear with good bass levels) and the inclusion of FM radio is very welcome and works nicely with RDS information on the clear bright OLED display.

But, where this device differs is that you can remove the earphones and the device works like a mini mobile phone. You can hold it up to your ear and make use of the phone speaker and microphone. I tested it out and my caller could not tell the difference, all was clear and audible. There's a separate speaker for speakerphone function if you prefer. That speaker will also allow you to playback music too or take advantage of text to speech from incoming notifications.

If you use it on an Android device there are a few smart apps compatible with it. These are for notifying you of SMS, Gmail, Calendar events, Twitter and Facebook. Those messages scroll along the screen meaning you don't have to get the phone out to read them. As stated you can get the messages read out for you if you wish.

Finally the other killer feature if you have a NFC enabled device, is that this will pair instantly by bumping together the devices each time you turn it on!

Only criticism is the device when used as a 'phone' handset is small so you don't get brilliant comfort when holding it to your ear but it's a small price to pay if you don't want someone to rob you of your phone or risk dropping it when in a call. Also it's a fingerprint magnet!

I do highly recommend this device if you have one of the new larger phablet style premium phones. It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding kit, limited app compability though, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Adam Kentrop (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Been waiting for a while for this to come out, and now it's here, it's a permanent member of my kit.

Bluetooth range is exceptional for line-of-sight, and very good for indoor. Audio quality when being used as a headset is good as well, although the noise cancellation could do with some work (according to the wife, who was on the receiving end of a windy call!)

Negatives really are only the app compatibility. Because it's a new piece of hardware, apps are a bit limited, but the range is growing. That, and the small cable on both the bundled earphones and USB cable are a bit of a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newer but not better, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
EDITED 23 JULY 2014
Following advice from another reviewer (see comments of this review) I replaced it. Well done to the trader who did so quickly and without hassle.

I have to say that the battery life is somewhat improved, so maybe that was a one-off. But this still has connection issues, and with two different tablets and a now-different new phone. The MW300 was definitely a better unit.

There have to be better, more reliable bluetooth headsets out there. This model could easily be the best but as it stands, it's certainly not. Bluetooth devices should not drop connections so frequently, should re-pair automatically, and shouldn't need prompting to pair EACH AND EVERY TIME you turn them on.

ORIGINAL REVIEW
I had (and lost) a Sony Ericsson MW300. That was a great little bluetooth headset and sadly it's no longer available.

The next-best option seemed to be this model, as I want FM radio built-in. However...

The battery life is way down compared to the MW300; the FM reception of this is significantly poorer than the MW300; this constantly refuses to re-pair to my Samsung phone and my LG tablet whereas the MW300 never had any problems; the MW300 could pair to 3 devices - this only pairs to 2.

At least the one big downer from the MW300 has been fixed: that had a capacitive volume control which was way too tricky to work, and in doing so I'd often press the track skip buttons. At least this has decent physical buttons

The notification functions this has - texts, calendars, tweets - are in theory useful but in practice it's difficult to navigate them and I end up reading the first one, and losing the rest.

In summary, it's not bad, it's not as good as it aspires to be, it's not an improvement on the MW300, and it's certainly not worth £55 - but it's probably the best all-round Bluetooth headset available. Which I suppose reflects the state of the market.

The best advice I can offer is: if you have an MW300, don't lose it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best bluetooth I have had, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I have had Bluetooth Headsets in the past but none of them have ever come close to the Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Handset, can make calls and receive calls clear every time I am never without it I would highly recommend the handset to anyone thinking of buying a Bluetooth Headset or handset in this case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Gadget for Bluetooth Connectivity!, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Arrived (hand delivered on 13th)! Amazon delivery people need to learn how to post a small package through the letter box - hence, 1-day delay in delivery! Amazon Please Note: There is a training issue on this matter - please ask your delivery people to see if the 'small package' CAN go through the wide-letterbox. At least try and don't send me an e-mail that says, words to the affect 'you were not in and we shall deliver tomorrow'. Not acceptable and wast of my time!

However, ...

As for the product, in a word: Excellent! As expected from a Sony product. Connected without any problem (can not understand the issues people are having on the product feedback and getting a lower star rating!). I have used this over 24 hours and tested all the connectivity modes - excellent!

Right price!

Sound and call reception very good, far better than expected, particular with my iPad and viewing/listing to film and music. Will continue to 'test' and report any issues through updated review/feedback on the product sales pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 A solid high quality & good value product,., 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Great product and most importantly, great value for money.

The usual high quality and premium build quality from SONY with a load of extra features.

I purchased this for two main reasons, I needed a good FM radio and a Bluetooth headphone adapter.
The extra headphones, HD voice quality, NFC, Android APP and the mini Handset feature were all an added bonus.

My only minor issue is that the FM Radio only plays through the headphone jack and cannot be played through the loudspeaker but although that would have been better it's not a reason to mark it down any less overall.

I've tried 20+ versions of Bluetooth adapter devices like this over the years and it's by far and easily the best of the bunch.

5/5 A solid high quality good value product,.

Not cheap but definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, love it, LOVE IT!, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I had the Sony mw600 before this for 2 years and it was getting past its prime. I bought the SBH52 as a like for like replacement. I do lots of outdoor activities such as running and walking. The sbh52 is perfect for that. Audio books are lovely and clear. Music sounds great. My family and friends say call quality is much improved on the MW600.

It clips easily to the neck of a tee shirt or sweatshirt and seems to last more than a day of calls and exercise listening (I can do 6 hours of listening). I often drive Bose Qc3s and the sound is stunning. Hard to tell the music is coming via A2DP!

Buttons are more fiddly than the MW600 but sound is exponentially better. Takes a few hours to charge, haven't tried rapid charging and suspect it doesn't do that.

Overall I recommend heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Connection stability way below expectations, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is my third sony bluetooth headset. I've had this headset for approx. 3 months now. When it works, it's OK, but there are some annoying flaws with it. I use it connected to a Samsung Galaxy Note 2.

1) When turning on the device, sometimes it goes directly into pairing mode - even though it was paired when I turned it off.
2) If the device has been on, but has been out of range from my cell phone, it is usually not possible to reconnect the two. I have to restart the device.
3) Sometimes the headset/phone randomly drops the connection even though they are within range. The bluetooth symbol on the phone suggests that they are still connected, but neither calls nor music are directed to the headset. I need to restart the headset.
4) Occasionally the phone pops up with a message to pair the two again - even though I did pair them earlier the same day.

I wrote to sony support back in february about issues 1 and 3, and they acknowledged the issues and said they were working on them, promising me a firmware update in march. Nothing has happened since.

All in all, I'm am not satisfied with this product, and it feels like a huge step backwards from previous sony bluetooth headsets that worked far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Fantastic item, shipping a bit slow but that may be due to the Italian Post service.
Working in team with my Z Ultra, battery lasts several days with normal use, a couple of days if you talk all day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sony SBH52 Smart Bluetooth Wireless Handset with NFC Connectivity - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Very useful and functional accessory.
Perfect for any Android smartphone, not just Sony.
If matched at SmartWatch 2 (Sony) will leave them no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews