Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Beauty, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are two teenage sisters from Indianapolis who make acoustic folk music that seems to have come from another age, another time, yet is as fresh and new as tomorrow promises to be. The evocative sound of piano and cello on the opener "Sounds Like Somewhere" ushers in their ethereal and haunting harmonies and leads on to a collection of enchanting, melodic and beguiling songs that are a collaboration between Lilly and seasoned Indiana musician, Kenny Childers.

From the lyrical beauty of "Disappearing Heart" the grand harmonic structure of "Come To Me" and the lilting "Nothing But Time" you find that their sound occupies a space that is somewhere between The Fleet Foxes and The Byrds with a suspicion of some Simon and Garfunkel riffs as well.

Madeleine plays piano, Lily plays guitar and they are supported by cello, bass, slide guitar, drums and percussion. With these simple instruments the producer, Paul Mahern, has created a dense and richly textured sound that is essential for the sensual beauty of the songs.

As the album unfolds and then closes with the high harmony sound of "Paradise" and the cello infused "You Got Out" you marvel how two sisters, so young, could have delivered an album of such maturity and timeless elegance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily & Madeleine, Sisters in harmony, 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
I came across Lily & Madeleine from a friend's Facebook page, and checked out some of their material on you-tube. I have also downloaded their "weight of the globe" EP, which I loved so much, I decided to buy the album as soon as it was released. There are many beautiful soothing songs which these sisters demonstrate their voices to perfection. I thoroughly recommend this CD to any one who enjoys beautiful singing and relaxing music, ideal for a nice evening in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not My Kind of Music, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily & Madeleine [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Heard one of the tracks on a free CD with a music mag and was hooked instantly. I don't have anything else remotely like this, my usual cup of rat poison being along the lines of The Pixies or The Fall. This is truly a wonderful album with no stand out track, certainly the best of 2013. All of the songs have an aching beauty that avoid schmaltz, often with minimal acompanyment. Word of warning, you will find yourself and all those who hear it, humming various extracts of the album, this is not uncommon with a lot of stuff but I can not recall playing an LP quite as many times as this by compulsion. You really HAVE to hear it again. Just don't tell Mark E Smith or Black Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pure Delight, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Stephen Holmes (Willesden Green, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
From start to finish this debut album is totally enthralling. There's nothing complicated here, just beautifully written songs filled with delicious harmonies and finely balanced instrumentation that allows the duos voices the prominence they deserve. It's incredible that these sisters are just 16 and 18 years old as there is a timeless quality in their music. I think I'll be listening to this album until the end of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Beauty, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are two teenage sisters from Indianapolis who make acoustic folk music that seems to have come from another age, another time, yet is as fresh and new as tomorrow promises to be. The evocative sound of piano and cello on the opener "Sounds Like Somewhere" ushers in their ethereal and haunting harmonies and leads on to a collection of enchanting, melodic and beguiling songs that are a collaboration between Lily and seasoned Indiana musician, Kenny Childers.

From the lyrical beauty of "Disappearing Heart", the grand harmonic structure of "Come To Me" and the lilting "Nothing But Time", you find that their sound occupies a space that is somewhere between The Fleet Foxes and The Byrds with a suspicion of some Simon and Garfunkel riffs as well.

Madeleine plays piano and Lily plays guitar and they are supported by cello, bass, slide guitar, drums and percussion. With these simple instruments the producer, Paul Mahern, has created a dense and richly textured sound that is essential for the sensual beauty of the songs.

As the album unfolds and then closes with the high harmony sound of "Paradise" and the cello infused "You Got Out" you marvel at how two sisters, so young, could have delivered an album of such maturity and timeless elegance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "And the porch swing keeps swinging on / Long after your body's gone.", 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
Even though sisters Lily and Madeleine Jurkiewicz are natives of Indianapolis, the wistful and contemplative songs on their self-titled debut album exude a vibe that's more rural than urban, a down-to-earthiness rather than a self-conscious indie-hipster attitude (though the stylish album cover suggests otherwise). Lily & Madeleine's tight, beguiling, Appalachian-style harmonies -- and evocative lyrical lines like "And the porch swing keeps swinging on / Long after your body's gone" -- bring to mind grain fields swaying gently in the breeze, trickling creeks, and the scent of fresh mountain air.

Various instruments are introduced throughout the album -- acoustic guitar, piano, violin, slide guitar, a string section, pedal steel, tambourine, snare drum -- but the songs are all so sparsely and tastefully arranged that each and every composition sounds like a masterclass in subtle yet lush and richly atmospheric songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant album, can't stop playing, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily & Madeleine [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Never heard of Lilly and Madeleine until a few weeks ago, brilliant album, can't stop playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters in harmony, 19 Jan 2014
By 
J. BARKER (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
I came across sisters Lily & Madeleine Jurkiewicz from a friend's website, and so I looked at some of their music on you-tube and was so pleasantly surprised to hear some beautiful songs from Lily & Madeleine. Lily & Madeleine had previously released an EP "Weight of the globe" & on the strength of the songs on that EP I bought their first album. All the tracks are all original and written by the sisters and guitarist Kenny Childers. My favourite is "I've got freedom". I am also seeing the sisters playing live at a gig in St Pancras Church, London one of only two days they will be playing in England. The sisters are from Indianapolis USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great voices, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of these sisters. They have great voices and their songs are warm and beautiful. I gave five stars to their previous album/EP, but only four for this because in my opinion, the songs are not quite as strong. Still a good album though. If you like this album, then make sure you get their earlier one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars L & M, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Hill ""yoghurtknitter"" (Waterville Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lily and Madeleine (Audio CD)
The rather long, perhaps somewhat over the top, sleeve-notes from Anthony DeCurtis (not sure who he is?) do contain the very apt description of this album in that "beauty resides in simplicity" and certainly this is a fair summation of this record.
The two sisters have exquisite voices and harmonize beautifully and are backed by an excellent albeit restrained band.
It sounded a bit 'samey' on my first couple of listens but it does bloom on repeated plays and despite a couple of lack-lustre tracks i.e 'and tonight' & 'you got out' plus i wasn't over keen on the hand claps on 'i've got freedom', the majority of the tracks are lovely with 'disappearing heart' being especially good.
I suppose it would be classed as acoustic folk-pop but vocally much better than the norm.
They also use the annoying ploy of a secret track (why??) which has the cello more to the fore but it's certainly good enough to be on the album so i don't understand why they felt the need to 'hide' it.
Overall worthy of 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lily and Madeleine
Lily and Madeleine by Lily & Madeleine (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews