Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2014
OK, I'm old enough to remember some of these songs when they were first recorded. His repertoire blending American folk, children's songs and protest songs was unique and is the sound of his voice. He delivers songs with joy, sincerity, humour or focused anger as appropriate. This two CD collection includes all my old favourites and some perhaps I hadn't ever heard - or maybe just forgotten. The definitive Pete Seeger - yes, I guess that about sums it up.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Everyone should appreciate this wonderful album . Not all the tracks
are great but all have an honesty and sincere feel . Recommended .
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2014
Great selection of Pete Seeger's works. He was one of the seminal artists who influenced a whole generation, including Leonard Cohen & Bob Dylan. In fact, he was considered so subversive, he was put on the FBI's suspected communist list.

Forget the politics. In simple terms, Seeger was a truly great singer/songwriter: one of the best.

Four stars because a little pricey for essentially 60's tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I've always like the music and lyrics of Pete Seeger's work, but usually listened to other artists performing them. Buying this and listening to it is my homage to a wonderful influence who touched the conscience of a generation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Most of his best known songs are here. Seeger is a little dated now but I found this CD worthwhile as it covers his career very well. If you only wanted one Seeger CD, this would be the one for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
In this collection you will find all the brilliant songs from years gone by. Just sit back and relish the songs of other years and sing along if you remember the words. Ido.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Yet again another excellent cd of this great singer and composer. I love the simplicity of his music and instruments and his true sincere singing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
A trip down memory lane. Brought back memories from long ago. Would recommend this especially for over 50's. Great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Collection of old standards from Pete Seeger. Great to hear these old songs again. Recommended. Will appeal to older folkies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Seems to be every song that Pete sang! Just the job for an enthusiast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.