Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!
This is simply the most Biblically invigorating work on the 'how to' of church that is available today. Absolutely essential reading for any conservative evangelical church who are serious about really prioritising and focussing on what's Biblically important in the present day morass of quasi/liberal evangelical thinking and cartloads of 'church programmes' all claiming...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by P. Millist

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not too bad.
It's not too bad. If your'e into that kind of thing... but it's very leading and not very well written but evangelism chapter is good.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. O. Lantukh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
P. Millist "Arlanza" (Walton on the Naze UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is simply the most Biblically invigorating work on the 'how to' of church that is available today. Absolutely essential reading for any conservative evangelical church who are serious about really prioritising and focussing on what's Biblically important in the present day morass of quasi/liberal evangelical thinking and cartloads of 'church programmes' all claiming to be Biblical, but which are weak on doctrine and merely accommodate the world. Nine Marks is a must!

Peter Millist
Pastor
Artillery Street Evangelical Church
Colchester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book..., 28 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was initially sceptical about 9 Marks. There are enough church sucess books to drive you crazy and I bought this in desperation rather than expectation! However having read it I think this is a bit different and definately worth a read.
Mark Dever doesn't set out to give an exhaustive list of the characteristics of a good church but picks 9 areas of weakness and says why he thinks these are important. The 9 Marks are 1. Expositional Preaching, 2. Biblical Theology, 3. The Gospel, 4. A Biblical Understanding of Conversion, 5. A Biblical Understanding of Evangelism, 6. A Biblical Understanding of Church Membership, 7. Biblical Church Discipline, 8. Concern for Discipleship and Growth, 9. Biblical Church Leadership. Although I didn't agree with all the detail I found his diagnosis really helpful in seeing areas of weakness in my own thinking and our church life. So don't just get the book if you think you'll agree with him even if you think you'll disagree it's worth being made to think.
One slightly nauseating point about the book is the regularity with which Capitol Hill Baptist Church(where Mark Dever is pastor)is mentioned as a good model. If you can see past this it's definately worth getting hold of whether you're a church pastor, leader or member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A grounded, well-argued, biblical antidote to common church failings, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
David (Umea, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's nothing ground-breaking here. Nothing new and earth-shattering; instead it's wisdom applied to the question of "how,do we 'do' church?"
The wisdom comes primarily from the Bible, but also from church history.

If you're blessed to have come from a good, healthy church much will seem obvious and needless (Thank God!!), but sadly a lot of Christians will find themselves challenged over some unscriptual assumptions.

Massively recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book and I recommend for every Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone wishing to understand and apply Biblical principles to church life in a well reasoned and wise manner this book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not too bad., 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not too bad. If your'e into that kind of thing... but it's very leading and not very well written but evangelism chapter is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews