Customer Reviews


693 Reviews
5 star:
 (409)
4 star:
 (172)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent work as usual from maggie shayne
This is an unusual book for Maggie Shayne as it does not focus on the paranormal as much as most of her others do. However this does not detract anything at all from this book.It is a tense,very well written thriller which focuses on a serial killer who leaves no clues,and is driving the police crazy, until a homeless man sees him leaving the building of his latest...
Published on 8 Dec 2001 by Allison Brown

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sloowww...
Good story, likeable characters, but really slow in some places. No gore, although I still wouldn't recommend it for people who are overly sensitive.

After the murder of two children, Detective Vince O'Mally is given the choice to see a psychiatrist on a daily basis or take time off. He decides instead to go to a back water town in the middle of nowhere based...
Published 10 months ago by LikkleNitty


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sloowww..., 7 Oct 2013
By 
LikkleNitty (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
Good story, likeable characters, but really slow in some places. No gore, although I still wouldn't recommend it for people who are overly sensitive.

After the murder of two children, Detective Vince O'Mally is given the choice to see a psychiatrist on a daily basis or take time off. He decides instead to go to a back water town in the middle of nowhere based on a tenuous lead he found at the crime scene. When he gets there, he meets a girl who's a bit odd and "delicate". He has a gut feeling that she's somehow involved and carries on following her around.

At this point, there's a slightly out of place "Killer Monologue". You can guess who the killer is here, because there's only a handful of people who could possibly know why Vince is in town.

After this, nothing much happens besides a bit of romancing, some not-quite-kisses, lying together naked, hanging out and walking about. I accept that Maggie Shayne is trying to develop the relationship between the two characters, but it gets a bit too much. Some passages actually reminded me of the Twilight book, with the "must resist her" theme running through it.

Around 50% of the way through, stuff starts to happen! Hurray, you say! There's a party, scary old man, there's hysteria, screaming kids, panic .... then.... it slows down again, and nothing happens for a while /sigh.

There's a few pages here, where everyone starts referring to one of the women in the story as "child". It reminded me of actress Loretta Devine, and becomes quite distracting.

Then the grand finale! No build up, no tension whatsoever. It ended so prematurely, I was disappointed.

Nice story overall, bit too romantic. Needs a bit more pace and tension overall to be thrilling.

WARNING!! - Spoiler alert:

I got a bit confused by the timeline of the story. If I'd missed the bit about the girl's age, then I apologise. I must've missed the bit where it says how old Holly was when Ivy was kidnapped. Even so, I'm guessing Holly could be anything between 10 - 14 (because she's showing interest in boys), but if Ivy was 3 years younger, then Ivy could've been 7 - 11.. Oh who knows.

Anyway, if I'd been separated from my only sister for 15-20 years, I would still recognise her after 15-20 years. A person's face never changes so much that they're unrecognisable, especially by close family members. I found this point in the story a little hard to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent work as usual from maggie shayne, 8 Dec 2001
By 
Allison Brown "ally" (BERKSHIRE,UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
This is an unusual book for Maggie Shayne as it does not focus on the paranormal as much as most of her others do. However this does not detract anything at all from this book.It is a tense,very well written thriller which focuses on a serial killer who leaves no clues,and is driving the police crazy, until a homeless man sees him leaving the building of his latest killing spree.
What follows is an emotional rollercoaster as you realise that this man not only kills very young children but keeps them for several weeks before disposing of the bodies. Even the toughest cops have a hard time dealing with the desecration that they find in the house. A clue is found among the debris in the derelict building which happens to be the childrens book 'the gingerbread man'. This in turn leads to a whole new line for the story to follow,which takes you back many years into the past.
This is a fantastic book which will keep you turning pages rapidly.If you have never read a Maggie Shayne book this would be a good starter, if you know Maggie's work well you won't be surprised at how good this is .I would highly recommend this book to everyone, go and buy it !You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising then poor, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
It started out as being good. The characters seemed interesting, the plot could go anywhere... But those characters didn't grow, and the plot went exactly where I figured it would; with a random crude sex scene halfway through that didn't add anything to the plot whatsoever.
Maybe it's because I'm not old enough to appreciate it - I don't have children of my own - but I didn't feel much of anything for the characters. There wasn't any reason to root for them, they weren't all that likeable. Plus there were a few too many 'damaged' women wandering around breathing into paper bags and getting sedated. Or at least that's how I felt about it.
As for the twist (there's only one); it was pretty damn predictable. It might have been good if I didn't see it coming six weeks before the characters did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great romantic thriller, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
After reading the other reviews on this book I decided to give it a try. I really enjoyed it, it was thrilling and kept me wanting to read more, I ended up reading late into the night trying to work out the guilty party and was wrong in my conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking most of the promised tension and darkness but a readable crime thriller/romance., 7 Mar 2014
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
I'm very much 50/50 about Gingerbread Man. Is it a thriller or a romance?. The author never seems to quite make up her mind.

The lead character of Detective Vincent O'Mally is nicely developed though his crime investigation techniques leave much to be desired. If you take a senior police officer and put him on compassionate leave, after his involvement in a double child murder, you place him outside of the investigation and away from the force. He becomes isolated. There needs to be something tense and gripping to take the place of the police investigation; it's not here. O'Mally becomes random and spends his time following people or standing around. His 'hunches' are vague to say the least and aren't helped when the plot spins even further away and the romantic elements flood in.

Because the plot is thin and involves so few characters there's little chance of not guessing 'whodunnit' long before the final full stop. Any real action is kept under wraps until around the half way point when suddenly - there's action - things happen at a party - then it all goes quiet again and the story plods off towards an obvious conclusion.

I'm giving a 3* review because I enjoyed the character of O'Mally and the history of his involvement with the double child murders are nicely worked but; this is a novel lacking much of it's promised pace and darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
Very predictable, but did at least finish it! Everything about it was pretty average. Difficult to find anything else to say about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
I read it in one sitting and it wasn't too bad (I've read worse). Agree with a lot of reviewers that some of the writing was simplistic/stilted and I also couldn't understand how some of the plot hung together. Things that were glaringly obvious to me didn't seem to occur the this "great cop". At around 60% I guessed the who the child killer was and what Amanda's secret was. So more work needed there.

Did start to get a bit irritated though by the descriptions of women "just holding it together".

But it was 75p and it occupied me on a cold afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable but slow and slightly predictable. Would have been more interesting to have read something from the killers pov. Overall ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointing, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
The relationship between the two protagonists felt too unrealistic and forced. I found this book quite hard going I'm afraid just because it was so far fetched. Kept going as I love Maggie Shayne but didn't like this one as much as her other books. Perhaps the subject matter was too dark - kidnapped kids doesn't go with romance. Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Read, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gingerbread Man (Kindle Edition)
wow this book had me hook from the 1st chapter great suspense and very believable. The two main character's were a joy to read about and I just couldn't put this book down ......don't buy it if you want a early night as it will keep you up all night reading it .fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gingerbread Man
Gingerbread Man by Maggie Shayne
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews