Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.19

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2006
I am not much of a death metal fan, but I like this, i like this a lot. I got into this band after watching 'fate of norns' on DVD and decided to buy the album and give it a go. It did not disappoint. If you are looking to try some death metal then start here. This record is very listenable and installs in you a sense of chest beating pride. Just hide all your weapons in your house from yourself in case you go out and use them on the local chavs. Happy hunting.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2005
Ok maybe I haven't heard hundreds of extreme metal albums but I've heard a fair few to safely say this is probably the best album I have ever heard. The songs are heavy but very accessible. Don't let anything I say put you off please. Listen to the Beheading of a King or Fate of Norns and agree with me. Its a bit Bathory or late Immortal in places so if you like Hammerheart or Sons of Northern Darkness you should love this. I strongly recommend it. (...)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2005
The 5th album from Swedish melodic death/viking metal masters, Amon Amarth, Fate of Norns is another journey into the past lives, myths and legends of the Vikings.
Fate of Norns had a lot to live up to after the release of the phenomenal 'Versus the World' which is, quite simply, one of the greatest albums i've ever heard.
The album starts well with 'Ancient Sign of Coming Storm' and 'Where Death Seems to Dwell' but it really kicks off with 'Fate of Norns'. I couldn't believe a death metal vocalist could get so much emotion into a song about the death of a young son but Johan Hegg manages it with seeming ease. One of the highlights of the album is 'Pursuit of Vikings', it has a perfect intro and a very catchy riff followed by a shout along chorus that show what Amon Amarth are capable of when firing on all cylinders. For me, things start to tail off a bit with 'Valkyries Ride'...I just really don't like the chorus on this one! This is followed by 'Beheading of a King', another decent song before we get another example of perfect Amon Amarth. Slowing it right down but still catchy as hell 'Arson' is the story of a group of men whose village is attacked by bandits. This is followed up by 'Once Sealed in Blood', a song about the revenge sought by a survivor against the raiders who attacked his village.
This album features a couple of Amon Amarth's best songs to date but, unfortunately, doesn't quite stand up to Versus the World for sheer enjoyment. If you are new to Amon Amarth you should enjoy this immensely. If you are an old hand i think you'll enjoy this but it won't take away the place of 'Versus' in your CD player. I agree with the previous reviewer that Amon Amarth are a pretty accessible extreme metal band (Versus the World and Fate of Norns moreso than their earlier works) so give them a try if you want something fast, hard n heavy but not too brutal.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This is the first album I've heard in it's entirety by Amon Amarth and I found it to be great. The production is top-notch and the music itself is definitely to my taste.

Would recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2006
this is amon amarths fifth album and was released in 2004 and is a fine example of viking metal,the swedish boys have little in common with the gothenberg sound bar melody but their sound and lyrical content is very different,the vocals are gritty but audible and the guitars soar into each other and the drumming is hard hitting.

The album is mid paced and doesnt run away with itself,instead each song develops and is memorable,album opener 'an ancient sign of coming storm' is a good example of what this album is about,memorable riffs with a good foot tapping chorus,the best song on here is the brilliant 'the pursuit of vikings' which should have you on air guitar,in the 40 minutes of this album one word springs to mind,are you ready for it-----METAL!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2006
Love music,Love Amon Amarth.The best Viking metal band around.Treat yourself and buy all their Albums,all are 4 or 5 stars.See them live,stunning.Then buy 'Wrath of the Norsemen' 3 DVD set.Join the 'Pursuit of Vikings'All 8 tracks on this disc are great mid-paced melodic D/M,Well played.Johan Hegg's vocals are powerful and conjure up images of bloody battles with sword and axe!! of long ships sailing out of the mist to land on foreign shores!!

of Odin and Thor and the mighty Norse Gods!! of Revenge and honour!!.Do yourself a favour,buy this cd push the play button and join Amon Amarth in the Golden Hall for a horn or two of ale!.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Amon Amarth at their best, it only went up from here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
Great album by a great band. Came across them by chance but now they're one of my favourite metal bands.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)