Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good hard drive but some firmware issues
This is an excellent hard drive as far as I can tell so far. I installed it in a new system as a data drive and I am using it to storing media for streaming over my home network. The packaging wasn't great but it doesn't appear to be damaged.

I have Acronis Disk Monitor installed and I noticed that the load/unload cycles were unusually high (2300) after just 52...
Published 5 months ago by corroonb

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Poor Poor Packing by Amazon again
Got 2 of these 4tb green drives on the 14th of march 2014 from Amazon and the packing was shocking, The two drives where sliding all over inside a big box with very little to none packing just abit of paper as packing, shocking. I did not even try the drives.

I phoned Amazon up on the 14th of march 2014 and put my point forward saying that these sort of devices...
Published 5 months ago by JL


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big and quiet, like a snoring mountain, 3 Feb 2014
By 
James Ward "underscore" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Purchased Jan 14, stuck in a ReadyNAS NV+ V2, sync took a day (2TB of data), it's been working ever since.

I have had good result with the 'Green' Range of drives, I replaced the stock 500GB time capsule drive with a 2TB version of this and it was a great deal quieter, cooler and faster. I expect the same from this.

I have a 4TB Seagate in the same NAS, which in all honesty is quieter, but performs the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome alongside an SSD, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
My OS is on a 480GB M500, so i went for the green drive for all my media. After formatting you get about 3.7TB, which is to be expected really, but its easy to unpackage and install (Formatting took quite a while though).

For those with vast media collections, particularly those who like to rip their Blu-rays for convenience, there is plenty of space. And if theres not? Just buy two, HDDs are dirt cheap these days, and as long as your pc can support more than 2.3 TB drives this is an amazing product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend - yes, 28 July 2014
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
This is not my first Green WD drive. They have all been trouble free for me. My first one has a "power on" count of nearly 4 years and has no errors showing.

This one came suspended in the middle of a box supported at both ends by a plastic moulding which is presumably designed to absorb shock. These keep the drive well away from touching any part of the box. That was all - no foam, beads or bubble wrap, but sofar so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working well in USB caddy and HP Microserver, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Keith Roberts (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Used these in an external USB case that only takes up to 3TB - all 4TB available to use with no issues

Just make sure you have to format it with GPD not MBR in Windows 7 (only 2TB is available if you do it with MBR)

I have fitted another to an HP Microserver that only takes 3TB drives - also working as 4TB with no issues

If manufactures will update their specs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Capacity for the price., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Great price for 4Tb. Arrived well packaged and installed without a problem.

Rating is downgraded because WD would not accept registration of this item on their website. This may put you off purchasing. Product is listed by WD as "out-of-region". So I suspect this is a Grey Import.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 8 July 2014
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Runs cools with reasonably good performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Put one in my NAS works great plenty of space decent speed. Actual capacity is about 3725gb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great deal., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Excellent drive, good price, quickly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great smooth and near silent drive - slipped right into our Dell fileserver no problem, 1 July 2014
By 
Conn Clissmann "ConnDublin" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Arrived promptly and works well in a Dell PowerEdge file server, with MS Server 2012 R2. Plugged in, set up and running within minutes. As it is over 2TB, it must be partitioned with GUID - an MS issue and nothing to do with this drive. If you plan to boot from this drive, ensure your BIOS is modern enough to cope with a partition of > 2Tb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much needed expandability, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Only been operational a week but very happy so far. Replaced a 1tb backup drive with this 4tb one. Just remember to format to GPT otherwise only 2tb will be active
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD Green 4TB Desktop Internal SATA Hard Drive - OEM
109.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews