Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love The Ones You're With..., 26 Aug 2013
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
A new Stephen Stills 'supergroup', modelled loosely on 1968's Bloomfield / Kooper / Stills Super Session, this one's a real generation-hopping affair with Stills and fellow veteran Barry (Electric Flag) Goldberg joined by fiery young bluesman and guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd on a spirited collection of both standards and new songs. Some interesting choices here, Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World" and Iggy and The Stooges' "Search and Destroy" chief amongst them.

The four original and jointly-credited compositions more than hold their own in this company, including the rousing title track and the more reflective "Don't Want Lies", the latter a nostalgic nod back in style to Stills' Manassas days. And there's even a rumbustious and scarcely recognisable re-imagining of "Word Game" from his second solo album.

The passing years have weathered Stills' voice to the point where it now suits the largely rousing material perfectly. The guitar playing is a joy throughout as Stills and Shepherd trade licks with joyous abandon, with Goldberg's exhilarating keyboard work gluing the whole thing together beautifully.

Whilst there's nothing startlingly groundbreaking here, it's nonetheless a real masterclass in blues rock. Stills and Shepherd share lead vocals which gives the album an added freshness and vitality, and it's a hugely enjoyable listen from start to finish.

Whether this proves to have been an inspired one-off or whether there's more to come from this line-up remains to be seen, but for now this hits the spot very nicely indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to former glories, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
With the exception of the first CSN album, Stills is usually at his best when not in the company of Crosby and Nash - his first three solo albums and the two Manassas albums providing the best evidence in support of this claim. This album is further evidence - a thoroughly enjoyable and consummately performed series of tracks on which Stills teams up with Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Barry Goldberg (collectively `The Rides'). The musicianship is outstanding, with Stills somewhere near his very best (why he only ranks 47th in the Rolling Stone Magazine 100 best guitarist list beggars belief - rendered all the more absurd by Neil Young being ranked 30 places higher). The weakest track is the Stooges composition `Search and Destroy' - which is rather bland generic US rock. The best tracks are those where Stills takes the vocal lead - including the rousing electric version of Word Game, which, although not better than the original acoustic version, is a terrific alternative. The Neil Young cover `Rocking in the Free World' is rather too close to the original (to the extent that Stills even plays lead in the style of Neil Young - another example of his penchant for mimicry best heard in the Suite Judy Blue Eyes guitar cadenza in the latest CNS live album, played in the style of George Harrison) to be of any especial interest. Let's hope Stills continues to perform with this level of skill and creativity (which he sadly lost somewhere in the mid-70s and has only recently regained) as a reminder of the elevated position he deserves to hold in the pantheon of rock greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free Ride?, 27 Jan 2014
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
As I have said many times over, I am a Kenny Wayne Shepherd fan through and through, so anything bearing his name is going to be something I will look out. As for Stephen Stills? Well I liked some of the early CSN and CSNY material but I can't say that Stephen Stills was the outstanding member of the band - so that when we come to an album containing the work of two such unlikely bedfellows, the result is either going to be Awful or it's going to be Great! And fortunately, this most definitely falls into the latter category.
Mr Stills most definitely has dropped his pitch somewhat and gone back to his roots, but his guitar was always a little "meandering". However, with Kenny in the studio pitching his fluid and muscular tones to the proceedings, Mr Stills has pulled his playing up by the bootstraps and turned in quite a performance!
Without a doubt, these two plus Mr Goldberg (and friends) had a lot of fun recording together and this comes across loud and clear throughout the playing time so that from the opening lines of "Roadhouse" through to the closing bars of "Word Game" we are treated to a tip top assembly of music that draws heavily on the blues although, it has to be said, that this is not strictly a blues album. What it is is musicians bridging a generation gap with their joy of making music together and putting it across in a way that their joy is infectious so that the listener will be drawn in and be pressing that repeat button over and over again!
If you like either artist, you'll definitely like this offering but for anyone else, then all I can tell you is that if you like grown up rock/blues played by people at the height of their powers then you just have to add this to your collection!
Without reservation, I commend this album to any music lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-energised Stills, 28 Aug 2013
By 
W. J. Marshall (southampton, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
This album is far more than just a pleasant or unexpected surprise.It is quite simply the best thing that Stills has done in years,far better than "Man alive," and easily standing alongside his best solo classic albums.Stills loves the blues and it stands out a mile on this album.It is bright,alive and full of inventive guitar playing.Both Stills and Kenny show they are masters of the instrument.Listening to them play is simply witnessing a masterclass.It"s as though being with Kenny and Barry has pumped new life and energy in to both his playing and his vocals.Stills sounds alive,vibrant and a man living for the blues.I hope that the Rides are able to put out more material,both live and studio.Though i do feel their output will suffer due to Stills commitment to CSN/CSNY.This is a masterclass of a group of amazing musicians that we have been given the privilege to hear and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
only say that this is one of the best records I have heard lately, this is true music, I have been waiting for this since the day it was announced, an esplendid blues/rock work by stephen stills and his mates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
Have waited to play this since placing my order back in June. It was certainly worth the wait as every song on the album is a delight. If it is the only album they record together then its a fantastic album to have as part of their individual recording histories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues session, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
A beautiful collaboration between the legendary Stephen Stills, younger blues man Kenny Wayne Shepherd and veteran keyboard player Barry Goldberg (Electric Flag). Originally marketed as a tribute to the famed "Super Session" (where both Stills and Goldberg participated) but actually it's more a fine, competent blues-rock album with not that much real jamming.

The repertoire is vast spanning from Muddy Waters to Iggy Pop plus a few newly written songs. And some poignant political statements - certainly worth repeating and more actual than ever - in the form of "Rockin' In The Free World" and Stills' "Word Game".

As expected the musicianship is beyond reproach although rarely cathing fire. Sheperd is definitely a fine blues musician. But it's the tracks where Stills steps to the mic and lets his gruffy voice and inspired guitar loose that the album lifts up in a higher stratosphere.

Always nice to hear from Stills but The Rides will probably mostly be seen as a footnote to the ongoing legacy of CSN(Y).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he just gets better, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Geoffrey Western (w) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
one of the most underrated players their is what ever hw turns his hand to be it band or solo and this new album i think falls in the middle they all bring summit to the table.its a shame such an amazing album will end up labelled bunch off old hippies yes i am one.i now a days listen to a lot of blue's and jazz but i do keep my ear's open being a musical snob because of image or what ever is your problem but you miss so much Geoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
what a joy this album is, Stills rocks like the old days, I'm not that familiar with Kenny Shepherd or Barry Goldburg, but boy can the play .
Buy this album , it's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marriage made in Heaven, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Get Enough (Audio CD)
Wonderful coming-together of younger and older talent. Pure enjoyment , not only for the listener but it
sounds as if the performers were having an absolute ball! Sheer pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Get Enough
Can't Get Enough by Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Barry Goldberg) The Rides (Stephen Stills
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews