Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all the information you need to get started in local food
Local food does what it says on the cover - it sets out all the principles and ideas you'll need to set up local food projects in the place where you live, from garden sharing and allotments to community orchards and co-ops.

There's a brief introduction explaining why local food is important, and then the book cuts straight to the practical bit. Each chapter...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by Jeremy Williams

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost there
I think this is a wonderful book. It contains everything you ever wanted to know about how to go about setting up a variety of community-based schemes around the theme of localising our food supplies. Whether it is a symbolic planting of a couple of apple trees in your street or something as complex as a fully fledged Community Supported Agriculture scheme, this book...
Published on 26 Nov 2009 by Robbie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all the information you need to get started in local food, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Local food does what it says on the cover - it sets out all the principles and ideas you'll need to set up local food projects in the place where you live, from garden sharing and allotments to community orchards and co-ops.

There's a brief introduction explaining why local food is important, and then the book cuts straight to the practical bit. Each chapter introduces a concept or type of project, and then gives two or three real life examples, simply telling the story of what people tried to do, how they did it, and how it worked out. Each section then closes with tips for setting up your own project, contributed by people who have already done it.

Full of ingenious ideas, Local Food is a great source book for generating new projects, and it should also be a useful reference. There are lots of further sources of information listed at the back, including funding bodies.

All in all, Local Food is practical, inspiring, and while it never pretends that food projects are easy to set up and run, it does make them sound very worthwhile, very rewarding, and very possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would you do if the supermarket ran out of food tomorrow?, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Andy Mckee (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We're not going to run out of oil any time soon, but when production reaches its physical peak (and signs suggest we're pretty much there) demand will outstrip supply. Any economist will tell you what happens next; steeply rising prices. Unfortunately our entire global food system is dependent on having an abundant supply of cheap fossil fuel for everything from fertilizer production to transport. It's potentially catastrophic, so small wonder no politician wants to be the one to break the bad news.

Take a look at the economics of food supply and it's clear that the future of food will be largely organic, small scale, and local. But how do you even make a start at reinvigorating your local food economy? Local Food provides a basic introduction to a wide variety of local projects that anyone can tackle, each followed by case studies and some valuable hints provided by people who have made a success of their own schemes.

It is in the meticulously-prepared resources and reference sections, however, that the book's true value lies. Anyone wanting to get a local food project off the ground will find that much of the basic research has been done for them, and some of the common pratfalls laid out to avoid. I wish I'd had a copy of this book when I launched our local food co-operative 18 months ago. An invaluable book for anyone who wants to do more than sit on their hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost there, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Robbie "eco-worrier" (The Marches, England) - See all my reviews
I think this is a wonderful book. It contains everything you ever wanted to know about how to go about setting up a variety of community-based schemes around the theme of localising our food supplies. Whether it is a symbolic planting of a couple of apple trees in your street or something as complex as a fully fledged Community Supported Agriculture scheme, this book will inform, educate and inspire.

Yet, for me, it has one fatal flaw. It doesn't speak to everyone. It will not appeal to those who cannot, for whatever reason, get involved in a CSA, those who have no time for guerrilla gardening or those who still believe that Waitrose is a `local' supermarket. Any book on the subject of `local food,' produced by the Transition movement, should be inclusive. It should enfold us all, but I feel this book does not, and here we see another spot of tarnish on the halo of this noble movement.

Despite Transition's caveats and `cheerful disclaimer', it is in danger of falling into the same eco-chic trap that has ensnared the Slow Food movement. Although Rob Hopkins' original vision is stunning in its simplicity and its desire to be inclusive, and the concept has at its heart a self-destruct button for the steering groups that float each new `initiative,' it seems that most Transition groups cannot shake off their initiators. It appears to be all too easy for a new initiative to be `run' by its organisers. This book will not help to counteract this `committee' effect, rather it will have a tendency to entrench it, being read only by those to whom such projects are tangible or, at the very least, aspirational. It will not be read by those who most need help in understanding the true issues surrounding our globalised food system, those whose contribution could be powerful if only they were shown why and how they can be involved in the change without necessarily being part of a project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real pleasure to read, 9 Jan 2010
Good book that is an inspiration to local food projects. Realy surprised when I saw the huge network on the last 20 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great reference book, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what we need for our Community. Full of clear guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspiring book and essential reading for folks interested in creating food structures for the future! A Practical and useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Think global, eat local, 26 Oct 2010
By 
Emma Cooper (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the twin issues of Peak Oil and Climate Change become more widely discussed, more people become interested in promoting local food as one of the steps towards self-reliance. But how do you go about it, and what do you do if there is no local food to promote? The decades of industrialised agriculture have seen local food links wither and orchards grubbed up.

'Local Food: How to Make it Happen in Your Community', the latest book in the Transition series, aims to help local communities rediscover their food culture and in doing so rediscover community itself.

The introduction and the first chapter cover the environmental issues, politics and history of local food, and it's easy to become bogged down and despondent, but once you're passed that and into the chapters about different types of local food scheme then the book becomes both inspiring and a wealth of useful information.

There are chapters on re-skilling, home vegetable gardening, allotments, garden shares, community gardens and orchards - highlighting the need, at this moment in time, to grow the local skills base as much as mile-free wholesome food. Each chapter has several case studies of projects that are underway, and could be replicated elsewhere, but it doesn't view them through rose-coloured specs and the problems are examined as much as the successes. There are also articles on each topic by familiar names such as Graham Burnett, Patrick Whitefield and Richard Reynolds.

After the chapters on schemes that involve getting your hands dirty there are ones on other local food projects, such as community supported agriculture, farmer's markets, food co-ops and school schemes. And then there are ideas about projects which are related to, but look beyond, local food.

The final chapter offers a step-by-step guide to starting a local food group, whatever style of project you have decided upon, and is followed up by an extremely comprehensive references section.

Inspiring, informative and a sturdy reference guide, 'Local Food' is destined to be the bible for local food groups for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Local food, 12 July 2010
By 
J. A. Percival "book wight" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read this book to find out how to get your local area into growing its own food and becoming as self-reliant and independent of supermarkets as it can handle. The Transition movement is one of the few ways that individuals and small groups can make a difference to the quality of life, prepare for Peak Oil, become self-reliant and do some lasting good for their environment. The publications produced by Transition Books (this is one of them) are attractively laid out, easy to read, devoid of boring facts but managing at the same time to present a huge amount of necessary background detail, and are packed with real life examples and ideas to get the reader inspired. Every bookshop and library should stock a basic range of titles on self-reliance and this one should definitely be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent delivery and great books, 25 Jun 2010
By 
James Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought all 3 transition books together, all came packed together and all excellent reads. Great delivery fast and trouble free.

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews