Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
Colour: Beige|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
From the box:

'As each child grows, we all collect priceless items and treasures too precious not to keep. Whether it's hospital tags or school reports, baby booties or their first masterpiece - ClevaMemories(tm) allows you to store all of these precious keepsakes in a personalised suitcase. The beautifully illustrated baby book lets you record your little one's milestones throughout their first year and store those cherished first photographs.'

With dedication, and, when the time is right, it will be possible to show your pride and joy their introduction to the world, aka 'my journey starts here'.

'Designed by Mums for Mums', this boxed set opens to reveal a reasonably sturdy cardboard suitcase with metal clasp and plastic-type handle (which lies flat if required), a hardcover baby record book and three tiny (fairly flimsy) card boxes, stowed in a larger and chunkier lidded cardboard box for:

* the hospital baby ID band
* the first lock of hair
* the first tooth

Three strips of sticky alphabet (lower case letters) & five sets of numbers/dots are supplied, for name and birth date personalisation, although they are a paler colour than the box detail and stock pictures above suggest.

The hardcover book, measuring c 18 cm x 24.5 cm is a typical baby fact record book with for all those unique details and photos, although the latter is on the ambitious side when it states 'place lots of photos here', given the size of the page. It might also be worth noting that a 'standard family' is assumed at times, e.g. a place to record:

'Daddy has given me ........kisses today'
'Mummy has given me ........kisses today'

All wrapped up, it is a neat little outfit measuring around 32.5 cm x 29.5 cm x 13.5 cm and would certainly make an unusual gift at a baby shower, perhaps when the sex of the baby is not known. Aside from the fact that 'ella' is the example name on the outer box, the contents do have a rather 'girly' look (IMO).
I also feel that the the RRP* is on the high side for something which is generally just of cardboard construction especially if you do want to store things like the first Teddy, bottle, blanket & rattle in the suitcase, as suggested, but I am sure that any proud parent/s would enjoy putting it all together when time is back on their side!

* 'For each item sold, £1.50/EUR 1.72 will be donated to Make-A-Wish®'.......to celebrate their 10th anniversary, which is a nice extra touch.

(Made in China)
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 November 2013
Colour: Beige|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nice idea, a suitcase with a hardback book and a few little boxes to store keepsakes and photographs of your child's early years, but the qualities just not here - I seriously doubt the flimsy cardboard suitcase would last a housemove, never mind a lifetime, and they certainly haven't shelled out a lot of dosh on hiring the graphic designer.

You wouldn't want to buy this for yourself, as it's just too cheap and nasty, and if I'd received it as a gift I'd actually have been quite offended as I'd have assumed that a) the giver reckoned I had rather bad taste and b) they'd spent about a fiver on it.

As I said, a nice idea if they'd put some effort into the design and manufacture of it. But they didn't.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I love this. I actually brought this for my newborn son as I wanted a keepsake box for all this things. I love the fact that you can personalise the box with babies name and DOB. The book and little keepsake boxes are an added bonus too. It's pretty good quality and seems sturdy enough to last.

I would recommend this as a gift as it's a lovely keepsake memory box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 October 2013
Colour: Beige|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This would make a lovely present for a parent or even for yourself if you have many little keepsakes around the house - it is a novel idea to have everything in one place. I've bought little tooth boxes and curl boxes before as gifts but as a set with the additional memories book and suitcase it makes it really special.

All in all it is a great idea, I like that a portion of the profit goes to charity and it is nice to have the stickers to personalise the outside of the box - you can buy one for each child without getting them confused!

Everything in the box has been done before - there are memory books around, and little keepsake boxes etc but all together in a box is a useful gift to have it in one place - the only thing that lets it down for the price is the quality - for over £30 the suitcase is cardboard and the little tooth and curl and ID tag boxes are also cardboard which does let it down and somewhat almost cheapens a great idea. Executed a little better this would be very special. It is still a nice gift and parents will appreciate the thought and will want to collect memories but personally i'd be happy to pay a little more for higher quality materials.

I do recommend this, it is a nice idea and a no brainer gift for any new parent.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Beautiful box and book inside.
Although I wish the book was thicker so you could add more into it for the first year.
Roughly has 30 pages, which Id on't think is enough for the first year of a baby's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
My daughter was thrilled with this suitcase and box. She did not want a blue one for her son and was happy with the beige one and the book. There is plenty of room in the case for all my grandson's baby cards and newspapers of the day he was born. I would recommend this item as a nice present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
It isn't as sturdy as I'd expected. It's a lovely idea, but it is quite expensive and it didn't live up to my expectations.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Bought this book for both my babies rather than baby book alone. Stores enough keepsakes for the first year such as cards, first outfit, etc. Only compliant is that as it is cardboard, I have torn the corner of one by trying to overfill it. But that would be my fault for hoarding too much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 October 2013
Colour: Beige|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Bought this as A present off Aunt & Uncle for new parents so for the price you get a suitcase a hardback baby record book three small boxes for first curl,tooth and ID bracelet, also letters and numbers to personalise the case.
New parents will be chuffed with this as its a nice thing to put all your bits and bobs in over the coming months and early years but all that said the case is made of cardboard which was a surprise and the catch is not that strong,I hope it lasts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2013
Colour: Beige|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It may be expensive, and the contents might be predictable, but there are very few new parents that wouldn't welcome a gift like this.

Whether or not they choose to fill in the books and remember to save all the keepsakes suggested, this is the kind of gift that adds to the excitement of having a new member in the family, and the fact that it comes in a case makes it particularly convenient.

The quality isn't fantastic (cardboard doesn't exactly make a good "suitcase") but there isn't a compelling reason for a keepsake like this to be any sturdier. The suitcase is symbolic and the expectation is that you'll keep it somewhere safe. As a memory box, this has everything that a new parent might want. You wouldn't buy it yourself, but would probably appreciate it as a gift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.