Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 of 3: intrigued yet?
Dovetails nicely with The First as a prequel/advert for The Returned.

Action from the novel is woven in a little. Alongside a moving story of one child's experience of wartime death and the couple experiencing her Return very differently.
Published 18 months ago by K. J. Noyes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Returned prequel 2
The Sparrow is the second of three short story prequels to Jason Mott's debut novel The Returned, these stories are currently all available for free on Amazon and other ebook stores (I don't know if this will change in the future) and are a nice introduction to the world that the author has created. The novel already has a lot of hype surrounding it and has even been...
Published 17 months ago by Sarah (Feeling Fictional)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Returned prequel 2, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Sparrow is the second of three short story prequels to Jason Mott's debut novel The Returned, these stories are currently all available for free on Amazon and other ebook stores (I don't know if this will change in the future) and are a nice introduction to the world that the author has created. The novel already has a lot of hype surrounding it and has even been picked up by Brad Pitt's production company to be turned into a TV series so I was very curious to try these prequels.

When Heather and Matt find a young returned child at the side of the road they have very different ideas about what to do with her. Tatiana has appeared a long way from her home in Sierra Leone and it has been almost 20 years since she died so everything comes as quite a shock for her. Heather is determined to track down Tatiana's family and reunite her with them but it could end up costing her everything.

I think this was probably my favourite of the three prequels, we get to see a lot more about how the general public are reacting to the thousands of people who have started returning from the dead, from joy over finding their loved ones, to anger and disappointment that people they love haven't returned through to fear over the whole phenomenon and what is causing it. Heather and Matt don't have children of their own but Heather has strong maternal instincts towards Tatiana and she becomes like a surrogate mother to her while she searches for her family. Matt is more wary and suspicious, he would rather hand Tatiana over to the authorities and let them deal with her. It was interesting to see the differences in Heather and Matt's reactions but I think the flashbacks to Tatiana's life before she died were the part I enjoyed most. I just wish the story had been longer because I wanted to know more about what happened to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Advertising sample, part two, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"The Sparrow" follows "The First" as the second of three advertising teasers in preparation for the release of Jason Mott's début novel, "The Returned", due out in September 2013. The third and final part of this series of prequels is "The Choice". These free samples are probably a good way to decide whether or not you might be interested in forking out for the book, especially as the opening chapter of "The Returned" is included in the release.

In this second instalment, the author explores some of the same ground covered in the main novel, concentrating on the relationships between children and parents. These are handled here in much the same way as in the main novel and left me wondering how much of "The Returned" is going to feel like a rehash for any who read this book first. Much of the (flash-back) action in this volume is made more exotic by being set in Sierra Leone but in this I could not help but feel that the author had overstretched his own experience and expertise somewhat. Much of the detail of these sections simply does not ring true, with all too many details of a standard American household mysteriously appearing in a world that in reality knows nothing of them, in a way that indicates the author's ignorance of life beyond his own shores -- a common trap for those who insufficiently research the setting for their stories.

This volume offers a little more substance to its tale than appears in "The First" but manages to remaining just as irritatingly short. To my mind also it sails dangerously close to spoiling some of the story threads of the release it is intended to promote. All in all, I find this release hard to recommend unless, for some reason, you have already read the "The Returned" and are hooked on the morbidly fascinating conceit at its heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part 2 of 3: intrigued yet?, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dovetails nicely with The First as a prequel/advert for The Returned.

Action from the novel is woven in a little. Alongside a moving story of one child's experience of wartime death and the couple experiencing her Return very differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Sparrow, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second prequel to the book The Returned, Matt and heather are out driving when they spot a young girl looking confused and lost at the side of the road, they find out her name is Tatiana and she has no idea where she is, in her country of origin Tatiana along with her mother had been killed by rebel soldiers, making her one of the returned. Heather, against the wishes of Matt cares for the girl whilst looking for any of her family, I gave this book three stars because it was very short but it is an ok read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully eerie, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after enjoying the first prequel. It's a very strange and eerie book and I loved it! I can't wait for The Returned full length book to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 19 July 2013
By 
The second prequel short story is even more compelling that the first one. This time the focuses is on parental love and the child's love of parent. Countering that is the effect on another couple in which the wife has a deep maternal instinct and the husband has no corresponding paternal ones. The return of a little girl from war torn Sierra Leone of the 1990s brings closure, love and the end of guilt to one family and the realization of what is missing and eventually the end for another family. A sweet, profound story, that this time did deal with some issues from a religious angle. I loved it! I can't recall if any of these characters are mentioned in the novel; I have a feeling it may have been the priest but it would have only been in passing. I've pre-ordered the last story in this prequel trilogy and looking forward to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for free, 12 July 2013
By 
E. Ford (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of The Returned so had to try the prequel. This is very short on words and therefore short on story. But it was free on Kindle and and OK read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sparrow, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good short story. I read this after I'd finished The Returned, and it added a good insight into the beginnings of the strange events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sets the scene and gives insight into the main book
You do need to read The Returned to " get it " though !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When it said 'short story' it wasn't wrong. Nevertheless it is an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews