Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for the mindful gardener, 28 May 2011
By 
W. Parfitt (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ark Redwood has written the best book on gardening ever - if you want the detail of gardening techniques and practices there are more than enough other books out there - but if you want to connect to the essence of gardening, to make a direct and meaningful link between spiritual practice and the art of gardening, this is excellent. Given the title it isn't at all surprising there is a lot of mindfulness in this book, but more than that it is truly a book on gardening written by someone who clearly is a committed and wise gardener. Written to match the cycle of the year, it also isn't a read-once book - it will be well worth while contemplating the appropriate section for each season when it arrives both to remind us to be mindful in our interaction with nature, both from a spiritual and a practical gardening perspective. The writing is easy and often humourous - Redwood's voice can be heard gently reminding us that everything in the universe is interconnected and inter-dependant, and that gardening is a way of cultivating compassion for all things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the art of mindful gardening, 3 Jun 2011
'Sowing the seeds of meditation' is the subtitle of this groundbreaking and inspirational first book by Ark Redwood, Head Gardener for more than a decade at one of Britains most sacred public gardens - Chalice Well in Glastonbury.

In his introduction Ark says ' gardening is a pastime that can give us a wealth of possibilities for mindfulness training' and in this book he is as good as his word in a text full of awareness and wisdom, the love of language and horticulture, a sense of childlike wonder, and a true writers gift of self-expression.

The Art of Mindful Gardening is an intriguing journey through the cycle of the seasons offering the observations and insights of a seasoned plantsman and a serious practitioner of mindfulness. It is destined to be a gardening if not a spiritual classic and is beautifully designed and produced by Leaping Hare Press. A book to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 17 Jun 2012
Beautifully written, inspiring and somehow while reading it I felt very peaceful and calm. One of the best books written on mindfulness and worth a read even if you arent a gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanstastic, Enlightening, A Pure Joy!, 22 Jan 2014
By 
W. Stephens "Will" (Westonbirt, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is beautiful to have and to hold and an absolute joy to dip into or to read straight through. It is not to wordy but provides a fantastic balance of useful information and practices while giving a real insight into the experience of Ark in his every day life of mindful gardening. I am definitely a fan and am now going on a Mindful Gardening retreat led by him at Binley Farm in April, yippee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A kind reminder to enjoy gardening, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much liked the interjection of practical gardening information together with the practice of mindfulness, of being present. I would have preferred a bit more practical input given the high qualities of the author but the purpose of this lovely book is to remind us to enjoy the moment and beauty of our garden and our work. Will always recommend this book to any passionate and spiritual gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Hilary B. M. France "uni bond" (Chorley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really nicely produced book, and leads you through gardening tasks thoughtfully and meditatively. It won't teach the beginning gardener how to do all the basic tasks perhaps, but it will make you think about why you are doing what you are doing in the garden. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mindful weeding, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a friend for Christmas, having quickly read it myself. It is lovely for mindful people and gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real insight and a beautiful book full stop, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Fenouile "melocoton" (Pontypridd, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Totally inspiring and honestly written - I felt the author was there as I read it - genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Every Gardner, 19 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, and Truly inspiring written by the head gardner from Chalice Well a beautiful peace garden in Somerset. I have been unwell this summer reading and working through this book has brought me peace and clarity. A wonderful gift for any gardner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews