Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value Bourne collection
I liked Bourne right since the first movie came out, quite a good story, some cracking action sequences and Damon is well suited to the role.

Picked up this collection having not seen the last of the series (Legacy)
In terms of quality (picture wise) this is a jump up from the DVD's (I have a few of the films on DVD discs) though as ever if you're happy...
Published 5 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really high definition.
I have watched the first 3 films and all of them look like up-scaled DVD's. For the price though, the set is ok. It has the first 3 movies in one case which is the Bourne Collection and then in it's own case, the newer Bourne film. I haven't yet watched the new one but it looks like the retail case so it may be up to scratch.

I haven't seen any other versions...
Published 5 months ago by Daniel Smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value Bourne collection, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I liked Bourne right since the first movie came out, quite a good story, some cracking action sequences and Damon is well suited to the role.

Picked up this collection having not seen the last of the series (Legacy)
In terms of quality (picture wise) this is a jump up from the DVD's (I have a few of the films on DVD discs) though as ever if you're happy with your DVD set then there is no need to rush out and get this on Blu-ray, but it's nice to see the action unfold in true HD.

Quick run down on the films included, no spoliers!

Bourne Identity:
First of the films is a good introduction with a more considered pace (some great action scenes later on though) Laying out the plot/story details for new viewers. I'm quite happy with this one as it's well directed and has the well known and very well executed mini car chase. I find the mix of action and story to be well done overall with a good balance, and probabaly the best film in the series. Action die hards might prefer the edge of your set Ultimatum overall. Both are very strong productions.

Rating 4.5/5

Bourne Supremacy:
Good continuation from the first, but I an not a fan of the Paul Greengrass "shaky camera" style it's overdone and I find it quite hard to watch the film as there are lots of shaky camera scenes and quick cuts in action sequences, whilst they add to the drama are used too frequently for my liking. I stuck with it as I like the series but it's quite tiring watching Greengrass and his OTT camera work. There is a good story in here, it just takes patience to get to it.

Rating 3.5/5, good film iffy camera work

Bourne Ultimatum:
This is better than the second movie for me, edge of the seat action sequences this really throws you into the fast pace quite quickly (few if any real breaks from action through the entire film), though some might feel the story telling has taken a backseat. Fortunate that Greengrass has toned down his annoying amateurish "shaky camera", it's far less annoying than the second installment. Not a film you can relax watching, but it delivers some superb action sequences and some great hand to hand fighting. The pace really never lets up, white knuckle ride from start to finish, if you're in the mood for action and thick and fast this is the disc to put on.

Rating 4.5/5

Bourne Legacy:
This was new to me having read some mixed reviews overall it's still quite a good film, it does add to the story overall and explains a few things along the way. Jeremy Renner fits into the main role quite well, Rachel Weisz as a supporting cast is quite good (though overacts at times) I suppose there will always be a "no Matt Damon" aspect and downside, it's actually not a bad film some good effects and action scenes, not quite up there with "Classic Bourne" but decent cast and good direction a bit better than I expected overall. More relaxed than Ultimatum similar to the first film in terms of story telling/action sequences.

Rating 3.5/5

On balance it's worth looking at for Bourne fans, if you're new to the series and you like action minus gadgets then this will work well for you. I've watched the films repeated times and they do stand up to multiple viewings. It is true that the action scenes don't really push any new directions, but the story is quite interesting and I like the series overall. In most respects a welcome addition to the genre that needed a bit of a boost with a decent story, and good cast. There are moments of madness and intense action, but unlike some more recent films the plot is strong and you actually do connect with the cast. Damon is sincere and very believable in his role in all the films.

If you have an interest in well developed conspiracy/spy type films, with strong but not unbelievable action sequences, then this series is recommended for new viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio and subtitles, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these movies and bought them blindly. Since the Amazon does not make clear in the product description, I will relate the audio and subtitles of the movies:

THE BOURNE IDENTITY
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese DTS Surround 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Traditional Mandarin

THE BOURNE SUPREMACY
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese DTS Surround 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Traditional Mandarin

THE BOURNE ULTIMATUM
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese DTS Surround 5.1
Subtitles: English SDH, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Traditional Mandarin

THE BOURNE LEGACY
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1, English Audio Description Track 2.0 English, Canadian French, Latin American Spanish DTS Surround 5.1, English DTS Surround 2.0
Subtitles: English SDH, Canadian French, Latin American Spanish

4* because THE BOURNE LEGACY does not have subtitles in Portuguese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Bourne, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is absolutely excellent - action-packed with a story that you want to to on for ever. Watching it on Blu-ray enhances the experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have collection!, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite movie series. If you love smart spy thrillers, you came to the right place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great box set, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my son who is a Bourne fan. He was really pleased with it. Would recommend it to anyone who likes Bourne films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this as it came with a ultraviolet copy, I already had the series, but wanted to watch them on my iPad and this was cheaper than buying them on iTunes.

Love the series and would recommend it you like action movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always a fan, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all the movies are in high def. compared to the 4th part the rest of the three parts are not that Cristal clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Great Action..., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Paul "KingRat" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I chose a 5 star rating because this was the only option for this very fast paced action thriller. 3 DVD's of which I watched straight away the afternoon that it arrived. I have since purchased the Bourne collection in book form which is just as good as the DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars action packed, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arrived promptly. Movies are great and the quality is just fine. This was a good buy. I recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Really liked the Bourne films, even the forth which does not have Jason Bourne actually in it. Really worth getting the UV copy also, so I can watch it on my ipad when I am away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray]
The Bourne Collection [Blu-ray] by Tony Gilroy (Blu-ray - 2013)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews