Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best comedy of the 90s
keeping up appearances has to be one of my favorite sitcoms ever! hyacinth the social snob makes me crack up with laughter so much defently recommend defently the 1st series, my fav eps has to be "Daddys Accicdent" where she has the major chasing her, and speaking to her sister violet about bruce on the phone makes me laugh, also episode "Hyacinth Tees Off" where richard...
Published 17 months ago by Sdn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
definitely dated yet amusing
Published 2 months ago by jsa


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best comedy of the 90s, 19 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
keeping up appearances has to be one of my favorite sitcoms ever! hyacinth the social snob makes me crack up with laughter so much defently recommend defently the 1st series, my fav eps has to be "Daddys Accicdent" where she has the major chasing her, and speaking to her sister violet about bruce on the phone makes me laugh, also episode "Hyacinth Tees Off" where richard goes to play golf with the major in a golfing hotel and hyacinth has a ride with the major in his car and things dont go quite as well as hyacinth hoped plus a lot more episodes that just crack me up with laughter. a MUST BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeping up appearances, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Bought this for my dad for his birthday,he has alzeimers and i knew he liked this, when he was watching it he just kept laughing,it made me happy ,as he regonised this.

Brilliant show .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
J. Weeks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent and easy viewing fir any age.highly entertaining.
No bad language so fine for youngsters to also watch this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you sometimes have a bad mood I would like to recommend this.. It's so hilarious.
Could be a good present too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady of the house speaking, 3 Jun. 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Why is it that the best British sitcoms have incredibly annoying lead characters?

First there was John Cleese as a mad hotelier, and Rowan Atkinson as the entire offensively sarcastic Blackadder dynasty. Now, there is Patricia Routledge as a social-climber with affected manners and a piercing voice. And with the aid of talented supporting actors and some gloriously madcap scripts, this sitcom becomes almost pure comic bliss.

Hyacinth Bucket (pronounced "Bouquet," ss) is the local social climber, and a terror to all who know her -- she views herself as the doyenne of good taste, artistry, morals, decorum, and class, and her perpetually-in-debt son Sheridan as being the next Einstein.

She kisses up to the wealthy and aristocratic, and anyone who is closely associated with them, unaware of how much her self-promotion scares them and occasionally offends. Her weary husband Richard (Clive Swift) and nervy neighbor Elizabeth (Josephine Tewson) dread whatever she has next, especially when Elizabeth's sharp-tongued brother Emmett moves in.

She adores her sister Violet, who married a wealthy, unfaithful transvestite and has "a swimming pool, Mercedes, and room for a pony." But she'll do anything to hide her impoverished family members: her wacked-out father, sloppy romantic Daisy (Judy Cornwell) and skanky Rose (Mary Millar), who has a new boyfriend for every episode. Not to mention Daisy's couch potato hubby Onslow (Geoffrey Hughes).

The series opens with Hyacinth trying to hide the fact that "dear Daddy" was hurt while bicycling naked after the milk lady. And when she makes an effort to befriend the handsome new vicar (the "dishy vicar" as Rose calls him), her family shows up in full crazy mode, announcing that dear Daddy has been kidnapped by a gypsy.

From there on, she must tackle dozens of other problems: athlete's foot, mad cruises on the QE2 (with Onslow and Daisy), inadvertent theft of a Rolls Royce, riverside picnics gone awry, suicide attempts, estate sales, country retreats, anniversaries, nautical disasters, musicals, barbecues, raunchy Majors, Richard's ill-fated stint as a filmmaker, Christmas kisses, and Rose's decision to become a nun in a miniskirt. "It's all right," she announces as she drunkenly smooches the vicar. "I'm going to be a nun!"

This one also includes the later-produced "Life Lessons From Onslow," a funny little clip show in which Onslow finds himself teaching a university course, illustrated by various clips from the series. God help those students.

"Keeping Up Appearances" is in the grand tradition of really embarrassing British sitcoms, usually with at least one person who makes everyone else insane. And there's no excessive need to get Hyacinth out of her various dilemmas -- the writers just crank up the humiliation and craziness, and let it climax as the show finally ends.

Sure, there are some dud episodes -- the amusement park one with all the old people is full of one-note jokes. Sorry, but old ladies throwing up is not funny more than once. Most of the time, however, the writing is spot-on, from Rose's affairs with married men ("You swore you'd be faithful... and then... I catch you sneaking back to your wife!") to Hyacinth's efforts to hide her family (singing so people won't hear Violet's brawl with her husband).

Routledge is the star of this series, no doubt about it -- she makes Hyacinth a magnificently awful character. She is frighteningly annoying, but she's also completely oblivious. Not only is she unaware that other people see her as an upholstered harpy, but she's unaware that her son is gay, her hubby is the walking dead, and that when people hide from her it's not a cute little joke.

Swift is a great counterpoint, as the weary husband who has stopping trying to fight Hyacinth, and only hopes that he can find a few reprieves at work. Tewson and the perpetually grimacing David Griffin are excellent as her neighbors, and Judy Cornwell and Geoffrey Hughes as Hyacinth's distinctly unaristocratic sister and brother-in-law.

Social appearances, family and madcap misunderstandings are the heart of "Keeping Up Appearances." Snobbery has never been so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent....no swearing, no Americanism, just British humour at its best....so sad this type of comedy has now gone away with the best of 'em
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny., 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
In my opinion this is the best british comedy program, and it was made before I was born! Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent series of DVD's, Proving to be an excellent purchase. I tended to forget the excellence of the scriptwriters and the performances of the cast. Great Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic & Funny Family Entertainment., 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I absolutely love this TV series. I think Patricia Routledge is a fantastic actress and she really plays the role of Hyacinth Bucket wonderfully. This box sets contains all 44 episodes, including the 4 Christmas specials, over 5 series.

There are no extras whatsoever included, which is a shame; some behind the scenes footage and perhaps actor interviews and outakes would have been nice.

I was saddened to read of the deaths of Mary Millar (1998), who played the character of Rose in the series 2 onwards, and Geoffrey Hughes (2010) who played Daisy's husband, Onslow.

This is good, clean and wholesome family entertainment follow the life of Hyacinth Bucket, posh lady wannabe, and her long-suffering husband, family and neighbours.

Brilliant.

Oh, and the sound and picture quality of the episodes of vary good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good watching again, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Light watching and I just love this series it never dates. Just pick up where you left off even although you have watched it lots of times before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Up Appearances Complete Collection [DVD] [2013]
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews