Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


183 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel-good tv at its best
At last in one release we have all 87 episodes and 3 Xmas specials of Christopher Timothy's adventures as a vet in the fictional Darrowby. Although the show is enjoyable from start to finish, it has an obvious split between the first three series and the final four, which were filmed after a short break, with the early ones being the most appealing.

From the...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Blackhorse47

versus
133 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but shoddy boxset
I've been waiting for this entire series to be released as a boxset, and was very pleased to see it on Amazon at such a good price. So, no complaints about that side of things, nor the contents of the discs. My gripe is that the overall presentation is rubbish. The 33 discs are split into individual sets, and that part of it is quite neat, however, there is no...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Mel - London


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

183 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel-good tv at its best, 27 Oct 2009
At last in one release we have all 87 episodes and 3 Xmas specials of Christopher Timothy's adventures as a vet in the fictional Darrowby. Although the show is enjoyable from start to finish, it has an obvious split between the first three series and the final four, which were filmed after a short break, with the early ones being the most appealing.

From the very first episode the three vets in the practise set up an excellent rapport, with the kind-hearted James, the gruff Siegried, and the bumbling Tristan. The first series has some odd stilted sections, as a result of a real-life accident that the lead actor suffered and which often isn't covered up very well. But the stories start as they mean to go on with wise but bluff Yorkshire farmers and their sick cattle along with eccentric pet owners. Yes, many of the bit-parts are stereotypes, but the warm comedy mixed with gentle drama means they work well. And the inevitable and on screen arm-length rubber glove sequences help to restore a feeling of reality.

As season 2 and 3 progress the repeat characters gradually gather a life of their own, and along with the domestic problems for James back home it comes over as a series that could run effortlessly forever. But it didn't, and when revived there are big and not altogether successful changes. Lynda Bellingham takes over as the wife and she does a good job, and the actress who had played the housekeeper so well had died. But the big problem was that all the stories in the original novels had been filmed and the new stories drifted away from the style of the early series. This is perhaps understandable. The original tales were touched with authenticity and it was easy to imagine that they really had happened to a vet in the 1930s.

With the writers having to rely on their imaginations, it was inevitable they wouldn't be able to dream up interesting and believable veterinary emergencies or situations that relied on a 'there's nowt as queer as folk' aspect. For many, perhaps unfairly, the worst aspect was the new character of Calum, a young Scottish vet. I didn't mind his character, but along with a more soap-orientated focus to the drama, the show gradually changes. It's still enjoyable, but it stops being a show about vets curing sick animals, who happen to have personal lives, and becomes a show about the personal lives of people who are vets.

Towards the end of the run the new cast members leave and the show returns to its core personal. These later stories rekindle a show that was winding down, and so when it finally ends it bows out on a high. They really don't make them like this any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd Packaging ?, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Michael Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the price I paid, I would not have cared if it had arrived in a wet paper bag... as long as the discs were unblemished. But, like almost everyone else, I agree that the lack of a very simple accompanying booklet with a detailed listing of Episodes is disappointing. However, the IMDB (Internet Movie Data-Base) lists them all, in viewing order, date of broadcast and a brief overview of the story-lines, so a quick visit and print-out will satisfy anyone's needs for the information they need.

Otherwise, the packaging is as good as it gets, with triple disc sets in three space-saving fold-out volumes. As for arrangement of the discs I was left infuriated when I started Series 4. I fully expected it to start (sequentially) with their return from the War but this and the subsequent 'episode' were actually the 2 "Christmas Specials." These are annoyingly included as the last 2 discs in the box. It really wouldn't have been too difficult to position them in viewing order.

But all this is such a minor distraction to the overall brilliance of this Series, and I think we've all purchased it for the love of this televisual feast... and not to condemn the unfortunate 'packaging' deficiencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but shoddy boxset, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Mel - London - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I've been waiting for this entire series to be released as a boxset, and was very pleased to see it on Amazon at such a good price. So, no complaints about that side of things, nor the contents of the discs. My gripe is that the overall presentation is rubbish. The 33 discs are split into individual sets, and that part of it is quite neat, however, there is no accompanying booklet, no indication of episode titles whatsoever, and not even an indication of which episodes are on which discs. I know that all these episodes had individual titles, so it's not acceptable for Playback to release this set with absolutely no information at all. Unfortunately the same can be said of another of their series boxsets that I received today ('Allo 'Allo series 1-9). So, come on Playback, put a bit of effort into your releases, because this missing information is important. The series gets 5 stars, but the presentation gets 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box set excellent value!, 31 Oct 2010
By 
A fantastic series, wonderful stories in a beautiful setting. A great buy for anyone who enjoyed watching the series when it was originally shown on television. The set was great value for a 33 disc set. Initially, upon receiving the box set, I thought that there were some discs missing. For series 4 I could only find one disc (series 4 disc 3). I later found however that the other 2 discs were on the same section. But, because the folded plastic section was so firmly stuck together it had first appeared to be a section that did not open up. I thought I would mention this point, in case other people have had the same problem and thought they had discs missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why no Guide Book/Episode Listing?, 17 Nov 2009
I just received the almost 100 GBP Complete Collection, and was delighted until I opened the package and discovered that the discs do not have the title of the episodes, there is no accompanying list or guide book that would tell the titles, other actors, Herriot biography, if there are any extras or bonus sections on any of the discs. Only the two Christmas extras are on on the disc labels. So short of writing on each disc, after watching each episode, there is no way to track the ones you want to see vs. the less fun ones. Shame on you BBC for being too cheap even to put a folded paper list in the front of the first series. Does anyone know if or where a list might exist? Thx for listening. All Creatures Great And Small - Series 1-7 / Christmas Specials [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 11 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like others, I've been waiting ages for this brilliant series to finally arrive in a complete boxset. All the episodes are here, including the Christmas Specials.

I did slightly hesitate before getting this because Amazon's pic makes it look huge, but no need to worry - this boxset is tiny! It measures just 19.5 x 12 x 14.5cm and stood on end takes up just under the same space as the first three series' individual releases on the shelf. The box has a reasonably solid feel to it, and the discs are packaged in three "volumes" with fold-out trays similar to those found in slimline double CD cases. The discs themselves seem to be the same ones as found in the individual series releases, so there's no re-mastering work or additional extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 13 Jun 2011
By 
David Collins (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every episode of this brilliantly written series together with all the additional specials make this a complete collection.
I was disappointed though with the fact that there was no accompanying booklet or even episode guide, given the volume of material in the boxed set. Episodes aren't even listed on the individual discs. It's good value though, despite the poor packaging and lack of written material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at its best, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Duncan Howard Balcon "Duncan H" (Svelvik, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered this box set. I did not exåect sure a good quality pack of DVD's considering the age of the series. Wonderful hours of entertainmeny and suitable for the whole family. Apart from a well aimed kick from a horse or a cow there is no violence or sinister plot. Well packed and an ingenious, safe way of packing CD's. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for your money, but cheap boxing, 28 Oct 2010
This is all the episodes and and at a cheap price! This also means, however, that the boxing is cheap. Most of all you will notice the lack of a season guide.
But then again, if you simply want the entire series with ALL the specials, then this is the affordable way to go.

One star withheld for cheap boxing
Four stars given for great content at a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Television Is All About!, 13 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has got to be one of the best television series ever made -it's pure charm - comedy - photography and acting makes it a real pleasure to watch. I have given it five stars although under a seperate banner I would give the presentation of the boxed set only three stars. It lacks a nice production booklet and it is not easy to find the relevant episodes on the discs. For the price one pays for it there could have been a better presentation for the set!! In these days of reality television it makes a nice change to switch off the regular Television networks and put a high quality production on. If you want one 'All Creatures Great And Small' is what you need. This is what television was all about and sadly these days lacks. Money well spent it will I know give you hours of sheer enjoyment and pleasure. Ten out of Ten - apart from the boxed presentation - what more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Creatures Great & Small Complete Collection [DVD] [2013]
£28.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews