Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars European Vacation tricked out with 18" rims and whale tail
Being a well-traveled yank (yeah, there are some) I thought this movie would be a flop. I was wrong. This film had me in tears laughing. No nationality is safe. Yanks, brits, everyone has a good laugh at other's expense (in a harmless way). Vinnie Jones is in this and the film has a go at football hooligans (love the irony of it). And David Hasselhoff singing in...
Published on 5 Aug 2005 by David Berry

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected!!
Who'd have thought that a teen flick, essentially about a road trip, could have been made well, let alone be funny?
Being forced to watch this film turned out to be an hilarious evening. It was much better than expected, a lot funnier than other teen comedies of its type, and the hit ratio of the gags was pretty high.
After Scotty gets dumped by his girlfriend,...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by Mr. J. WARE


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars European Vacation tricked out with 18" rims and whale tail, 5 Aug 2005
By 
David Berry (Chicago, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Being a well-traveled yank (yeah, there are some) I thought this movie would be a flop. I was wrong. This film had me in tears laughing. No nationality is safe. Yanks, brits, everyone has a good laugh at other's expense (in a harmless way). Vinnie Jones is in this and the film has a go at football hooligans (love the irony of it). And David Hasselhoff singing in German... priceless. I can't give it all away. Take this film for what it is. Over-the-top humor that plays on all the stereotypes (yank and european). It is heavy on satire, yet easy to take in. At first glance this film might seem mindless but it is actually pretty clever. Sort of like The Simpsons. Some of the best yank-style humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Scotty doesn't know...Scotty doesn't know...Scotty doesn't know...', 3 Sep 2006
By 
C "Maverick" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Just hilarious. It blows American Pie out of the water. Whilst the ending is predictable, the story formulaic and the (European) characters paradoic, it just never ceases to be funny. Look out for some surprising cameo's by among others, Tom Ripley, Ab Fabs Patsy, Bacardiman and Lana Lang - but no surprise they wanted to do the project - it must have been equally hilarious to film. The four pricipal cast members jaunt across Europe seeking fulfilment (by beautiful girl, historical architecture, beer or whatever) and find themselves in ridiculous situations which (if you are a big traveller) could almost be believable.
Top marks for the nudist beach scene in France, the hotel and disco scenes in Germany, the football hooligans scene in London and the 'brief encounter' on an Italian train. Marvelous !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 6 Mar 2005
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
me and my mates originally saw this because there was nothing else on but we all agreed it was possiblythe funniest film we have ever seen. It shows the stereotypical types of people from the different european countries but if you are willing to take these in good humour then you will agree that this film is awesome!
love this film, buy it, watch it, watch it again! wait a few days, then watch it once more just for laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 10 Sep 2006
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Eurotrip tells the story of Scotty Thomas (Scott Mechlowicz), who after a fair few drinks returns home only to tell his internet buddy - who he believes is a man - to leave him alone, later to discover to his horror, that it was actually an attractive young woman who he has spent years speaking to over the net, and until he told her to leave him along wanted to come to America to see him. So Scotty and three of his friends Cooper (Jacob Pitts) Jamie (Travis Wester) and Jenny (Michelle Trachtenberg) decide to embark on a journey of a lifetime across Europe in search of her. What they find and get up to on their way, in England, France, Holland, and more, you would not believe. There are so many details in this film which stand out and I enjoyed every second. From Jenny's jaw dropping metallic dress, the German boy Nazi wannabe, the nude beach `zombie' scene (you'll see what I mean), the twins making out, the new pope and the ironic music `Scotty Doesn't Know.' are to name just a few. Eurotrip really is a hilarious film which leaves no stone unturned in the name of comedy. The actors are amazing in their roles and Michelle Transtenberg is simply sensational in her character as Jenny and brings a magic to the film which would probably have been disappointing without her. The film is something that you just have to watch to believe and believe me when I say you will think it's great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good film., 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Things aren't going well for Scotty, the lead character in Euro Trip. It's graduation, but his girlfriend breaks up with him while his parents are video taping it. At the graduation party that night, he learns (through the medium of song!) that his girlfriend was cheating on him with the lead singer (Matt Damon in a cameo) and apparently most of the band too. Then his German pen pal "Mike" starts coming on to him, just like Scotty's best friend warned him he would. Of course, he finds that "Mike" is really Mika, a hot girl, so goes off to Germany with a bunch of friends to find her. Obviously, things don't go to plan, and they end up making detours to London, Paris and of course...Eastern Europe! It's a funny film, with lots of nudity for the guys, and Scotty for the girls. Definately a rival for American Pie, in my opinion. It's worth a watch and remember "don't tell Scotty, cause Scotty doesn't know!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected!!, 17 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Who'd have thought that a teen flick, essentially about a road trip, could have been made well, let alone be funny?
Being forced to watch this film turned out to be an hilarious evening. It was much better than expected, a lot funnier than other teen comedies of its type, and the hit ratio of the gags was pretty high.
After Scotty gets dumped by his girlfriend, and tells his Internet penpal, Mike, to leave him alone, he then starts on a European road trip to regain the friendship of Mike, who he found out later to actually be a girl!
It sounds silly, it is silly, but is genuinely good fun. All the actors, who I have never heard of before, were pretty decent, and fit their characters well.
However, the best bits were the cameos. David Hasselhoff is always great entertainment value. And Matt Damon, almost unrecognisable dressed up as a goth, is superb.
And he gets to sing that infamous line, which, I guarantee you, will have you singing for the rest of the weekend. Altogether now: Scotty doesn't know, Scotty doesn't know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Europe by Cliches, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
'Eurotrip' tells the story of the amiable Scotty, a recent American high-school graduate dumped by his unpleasant girlfriend. Building a connection with his German penpal Mike, he drunkenly and offensively replies to Mike's apparently flirty advances to him by message. After one of the film's few genuinely original and laugh-out-loud moments, in which Scotty's brother explains that Mike is in fact Mieke, the attractive girl he assumed to be Mike's friend/girlfriend, he sets off to Germany to apologise to Mieke, who has blocked his e-mails. The pre-Europe section of the film is its best, and contains the amusing moment of Scotty being forced to listen to the song 'Scotty Doesn't Know', sung by the guy his high school girlfriend had cheated on him with. Once 'Eurotrip' hits Europe, the film goes downhill. Though there's nothing particularly dire about the film, it just isn't very funny. The tired cliches and stereotypes of Dutch sex addicts, English football hooligans, and improbable language confusion occupy most of the European jokes, and though for some the stereotypes might seem offensive; the bigger problem as a film, is that these jokes aren't very funny. Even the slightly better and more risque jokes, like the currency exchange in Slovakia being so cheap as to allow them to live like princes on barely any money, are dragged on for far too long. There's even the obligatory, unrelated female nudity thrown in, which serves only to distract from the plot - but this seems to be a hallmark of similar films like 'Old School' and 'Road Trip', and few of the blokes watching the film would probably find this something to complain about!

On the whole, there's a few funny moments in 'Eurotrip', which make it worth a watch if slightly tasteless teen-comedy is your thing (I'm quite a fan myself usually), but too many of the jokes are recycled, too many drag on too long, and besides the likeable Scotty, it's hard to feel much empathy or interest in the other characters, who all appear a bit one dimensional; especially Scotty's arrogant, boorish best friend Cooper Harris. Overall, a disappointing and fairly weak film; I'd recommend watching 'Bierfest' and 'Superbad' first, for better examples of a similar genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best films I have ever seen, sooo funny, 5 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
Eurotrip may just seem like another brainless teen gross-out excuse to see boobs and swear a lot but what it actually is is a wonderfully funny road trip film. The gross-out is definately a big part of the movie and the comedy at most times very low brow but low brow humour is brilliant when it's done right, Monty Python proved that 30 years ago.
The story premise is base, Scott Thomas is dumped by his premiscous girlfriend at graduation he then realises that the german e-mail pen pal he assumed was a guy is actually a gorgeous blonde german chick who he is in love with so he decides to go to Germany to find her. Accompanied by his sex crazed goofball friend Cooper and twins Jenny and Jamie, Scott embarks on a crazy trip across most of Europe with stop-offs in London, Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin and Rome. Along the way they check out a nude beach which to their horror is populated with nothing but guys. They also go to Dam and have non-pot brownies, end up in Eastern Europe and find that a dollar and change goes a long way and violate Vatican City like no else would dare. Through it all Scott is determined to get to his German girl and Cooper is obsessed with getting some kinky european actor.The cast is stellar with Scot Mechlowicz leading the way as Scotty and Michelle Trachtenberg drool worthingly gorgeous. Along the way they bump into Lucy Lawless playing a madame at a kinky sex club in the red light district and Vinnie Jones playing, get this, a football hooligan (and it's a show stealer trust me!)This film is accompanied by a brilliant soundtrack with multi-lingual covers of old classic tracks. Extra features include a music video with kareoke to the films theme song "Scotty Doesnt Know", deleted scenes, a commentary track and a gag reel. Considering I picked this up through mild curiosity it has become one of my favourite films, way better than the Pie films and a laugh a minute!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Travel Sickness, 27 July 2008
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another review stated that this is "best avoided by serious Europeans" and I'd widen that warning to include anyone vaguely familiar with the continent we live in. To give you a taste of what this film is like, at one point the suitably cliched characters - the geek, the beautiful girl, the hipster moron who wants to get drunk all the time and the "cute" overly serious guy with the "dreamy eyes" - end up in Bratislava only to find out that they've wandered into some sort of Soviet hell hole where $1.84 gets you a luxury hotel suite, everyone lives in a concrete shanty town and the first ever train station is due to be built in 2010 (I would love to have seen the reaction to this in Slovakian cinemas).

If this sort of moronic stereotyping isn't enough to put you off - and it's clear that the research for the plot consisted of pointing at a map and going "hey, that place has a funny sounding name!" - then the tired and formulaic gags should clinch the deal. Every base is touched from homophobic laughs at a randy Italian, to plagiarised toilet humour that wasn't funny when Jim Carey did it the first time and the obligatory nudity to corner the "too young for porn" market. If pointless, formulaic and aesthetically offensive pieces of drivel are your idea of fun then I hope you enjoy the ride, but for me - and I say this as someone who actually enjoyed Roadtrip - it just gave me the desire to vomit. Maybe that's just my innate Eurowimpishness talking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, some very good gags. A must see!, 9 Feb 2006
This review is from: Eurotrip - Unseen [DVD] (DVD)
This film is very funny, along the lines of the scary movies and Not another teen movie - all of which i find very funny and would recommend. There is a song called scotty doesnt know which along with all the laugh a minute jokes puts this film way above the rest i have mentioned. Definately a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eurotrip [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import]
Eurotrip [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import] by Scott Mechlowicz (Blu-ray - 2013)
13.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews