Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's far from being all over"
The Tenth Planet is a key story in the history of Doctor Who. It marks the departure of the original Doctor, William Hartnell, introduces the Cybermen and it is the first "base under siege" story, which would prove to be a staple of the Troughton era, particularly during season 5.

Although they would go on to menace the Doctor right up to the present day, it...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first Cybermen and the end of the First Doctor!
This is a famous story of `Doctor Who' that is memorable for two things. Firstly that it is the first story to feature the Cybermen, and secondly it's the last story to feature William Hartnell as the Doctor.

I first came across this story when I listened to the audio soundtrack CD with linking narration by Anneke Wills and saw surviving footage of the...
Published 2 months ago by Tim Bradley


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hartnell deserved better, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
'The Tenth Planet' is in several ways a landmark Doctor Who story. It is William Hartnell's last Doctor Who story as a regular, it features the first regeneration and the first appearance of the Cybermen. So with all this historical significance you would expect 'The Tenth Planet' to be a gripping, action packed and satisfying conclusion to the Hartnell era. Sadly it is none of those things.

The most basic flaw is the fact the everyone in the story seems to spend ages sitting or standing around doing nothing. The Doctor, Ben and Polly get virtually nothing to do in this story (Polly is lumbered with the trivial and demeaning task of making the coffee) and perversely the Doctor is the most sidelined of the three. You get the distinct impression that wherever possible lines were given to Ben or Polly rather than the Doctor due to the exaggerated problem of Hartnell forgetting his lines.

The only way you can justify the regulars being sidelined in this way is if the guest characters were engaging and well rounded, sadly with the exception of General Cutler none of the guest characters make much of an impression.

Disgracefully Hartnell is entirely absent from episode three of this story, now I understand that Hartnell was ill that week, but given that it was his final story could they not have rescheduled the taping so that he could be present?

On a more positive note, the Cybermen look very impressive, with their human hands being very creepy and I also like their voices in this story. This is also one of the only Cybermen stories which convincingly portrays the Cybermen as emotionless creatures, their dialogue here is appropriate.

There are also some good performances, most notably Robert Beatty and Hartnell does his best with what he's given. The scenes on the south pole are well executed in a television studio.

The animation on episode four isn't great but it is adequate, personally I prefer the VHS reconstruction of the fourth episode which is included on disc one, notes appear on screen at various points to explain what is happening and so it can be more coherent than the animated version.

Once the decision had been made to replace Hartnell the production team should have given him a great Doctor story to go out on, sadly this story gives the impression that the production team merely wanted to get rid of him with a minimum of fuss. For someone who did as much for Doctor Who as Hartnell that is revolting. 'The Tenth Planet' is a poor story and a deeply unsatisfactory swansong for Hartnell.

On disc one there is 'Frozen Out' a making of documentary. This is a fairly good feature but Anneke Wills' moaning about Hartnell's alleged irascibility is tiresome. Luckily Wills does make some worthwhile contributions to the documentary when she isn't badmouthing Hartnell. There's also a detailed explanation of how the regeneration effect was achieved.

There are a lot more extras on disc 2. 'Doctor Who stories-Anneke Wills' is a feature in which Wills talks about her time on the show. It's mostly engaging but it's marred by more of Wills slagging off Hartnell (as if she hadn't dug the knife in deeply enough in the 'Frozen Out' documentary).

'The Golden Age' discusses whether there was ever a golden age of Doctor Who. It's another good extra, but it could have been far more detailed and it comes to an entirely predictable conclusion.

'Companion Piece' is about the role of a companion in Doctor Who. It's very good, there are insightful comments from the likes of Nicola Bryant, Arthur Darvill and Nev Fountain.

Sadly there are no documentaries about William Hartnell's career or his legacy in Doctor Who, there is however some very pleasing footage from an interview he did shortly after leaving Doctor Who.

Some good extras save this release from being a total disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tardis, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
William Hartnell was just great and for me the best DR WHO ever, without him starting Dr Who off I doubt if it would have been a success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic who, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This is a joy to watch now complete with an animated episode 4 with the very first regeneration is a joy to watch.
With plenty of extras including a rare interview with the man himself William hartnell.
An excellent release from the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tenth Planet, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Doctor Who, with the departure of the first Doctor and introduction of the Cybermen to which in the times of the 60's was a meancing look to what they look like today.
Episode 4 well done but disappointed with re-generation considering the original footage is still in existance but a must buy for Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Times They Are A Changing, 16 Jun 2011
I never thought that I would ever buy another VHS cassette but until 2entertain release the story on DVD (they tell me they have plans to but no set release date yet) then this is the only way to see The Tenth Planet.

Fortunately I still have a player set up, so having recently become a fan of this era of the series I had to buy it and was lucky enough to find a new one, which was still sealed.

As most people know, the story features the debut of the Cybermen and the departure of William Hartnell.

The restoration team make a good job of "reconstructing" the missing episode 4 (apart from one telesnap in the wrong place) and there were more actual clips than I realised existed.

Companions Ben and Polly see plenty of action, which is great as I've become a big fan. (Ben gets more screen time than originally intended because WH wasn't able to film episode 3 due to ill health).

The Cyberman are much better than those in the series now. They look really good and the voices (mostly provided by Roy Skelton, who passed away last week) are brilliant. You can really believe that this is what humanity could become and I imagine that viewers found the concept quite chilling in 1966.

Fortunately most of the very first regeneration scene still exists (although it was some years before the term was used). A really novel idea that showed how ahead of its time the series was. Viewers must have wondered what on earth was happening (but they only had a week to find out).

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable telesnaps recon and also excellent animation, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I have waited for months for this release as I didn't want to buy the Regenerations boxset. I was quite surprised when I heard the release date of this DVD has been set earlier. Now I know the reason: the public launching of The Enemy of the World and The Web of Fear. Despite this news, I was still very happy to receive the 10th planet. It was worth the wait as we get some extras. The best extra is of course the VHS reconstruction. I recommend you to watch this first before watching the animated recon. Thanks heaven this VHS recon is now on the same disc, unlike the Ice Warriors.

I never watched the VHS version earlier, so I didn't know there were quite a few surviving 8mm fragments. The animation is excellent, it is done in the same style as the Reign of Terror. However I think the Reign is slightly better, it's also longer and I prefer the recon. But that's just my personal taste, I don't meant to diss the animators. I think you have done an excellent job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
So we come to the end of William Hartnell's years as the Doctor. We all know that if it wasn't for this man and all magical moment as the timelord there would be no David tennat and matt Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great !!!!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I do so love the first Doctor so watched this with excitement as I hadn't seen it before and sadness as its his last story - well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whovians this is required viewings, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
love Dr Who and have never seen this one up until now, and all I can say is I wish that I was around to see this when it was first broadcast.
It is great to see the early years, the first doctor and the path he started, the one that brought us to what we have today.

A must for all Dr Who fans, even if you dont like it, which I doubt, it should be in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant introduction to the cybermen and a real must for all whovians. You also get to see the first regeneration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac33b7ec)

This product

Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] by Derek Martinus (DVD - 2013)
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews