Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's far from being all over"
The Tenth Planet is a key story in the history of Doctor Who. It marks the departure of the original Doctor, William Hartnell, introduces the Cybermen and it is the first "base under siege" story, which would prove to be a staple of the Troughton era, particularly during season 5.

Although they would go on to menace the Doctor right up to the present day, it...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King Gama
Viewed head-on, this is deeply flawed; the narrative takes a massive dog-leg halfway through, when the central character - the Professor Challenger of the story - keels over, leaving the fight to his subordinates, until he finally revives, the general tries to shoot him, and the bad guys finally go away. Not outstanding storytelling.

Mondas is not a coherent...
Published 2 months ago by Alex Lyon


‹ Previous | 14 5 611 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Who said that ?, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Typical Doctor Who tale. Only bought this to firm up my collection. Enjoyable vintage fun - try it. William Hartnell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big Doctor Who fan, this story from William Hartnell's era, was his ast story before he regenerated into Pat Troughton, good story, but it was incomplete until now. The BBC has made the decision to start animating missing episode's from the old era, and this is one of them. It is brilliant to see them complete, even if it is animated, it's still the original soundtrack. It came on time and well packaged. Good addition for your Dr. Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
A Classic.
Great DVD brings an end to Hartnells Doctor.
The animated episode is extremely well done. A must any Doctor Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Greatness !!, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
The 1st Doctor meets the Cybermen for the first time !! Great story & the animated episode is a great addition to complete the story. A MUST buy for any Who fan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Review of Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet (DVD), 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true classic in every sense of the word. I enjoyed watching it very much. It took me back to my childhood days and brought back all the memories. William Hartnell was at his best as the Doctor with his companions, Ben and Polly. I enjoyed the chilling look of the cybermen and absolutely loved their voices. The story had an immensely powerful plot and the setting was brilliant. As a viewer, I got really involved in the Arctic basestation. As everyone knows also there was the added bonus of seeing the cybermen for the first time. I wish the new Dr Who had these same cybermen again. And the famous first regeneration into Patrick Throughton. In a nutshell, very atmospheric in black and white, scary (in a good sense), and I would highly recommend this Dr Who adventure to any fan of the series who seriously wants to collect al the best classic episodes. Finally, even on its own, if it were detached from the series, it stands out alone, as a brilliant and entertaining classic movie. I also enjoyed the extras, especially Polly in Snowed Out and other extras too in Dvd 2. Thanks very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review of tenth planet, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I rate this dvd very highly because it is doctor who history. This is the first time we see the cybermen and also the first time the concept of regeneration was used. I would strongly recommend this product to other doctor who fans as the last part is animated to make the story complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 10 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I choose this rating because I enjoy watching old Dr who stories and also to see the changes made to the costumes of the enemies of the doctor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars william hartnel regenerates at the end, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This was a pretty good story and great to see the origins of the cybermen especially considering in their low budget 60s costumes they probably look scarier than todays CGI
As an added bonus to this one its the last episode with William Hartnel and we see him regenerate although he doesn't really do an awful lot in this episode and all the action is carried out by other characters
I wouldn't say its the best Hartnel episode I have ever seen but its still enjoyable and we see Doctor Who history in the making with the cybermen & first ever regeneration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legend Departs, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
1966's The Tenth Planet is without doubt one of the greatest acheivements of Doctor Who & Television in General. This 4 part classic is the true genesis of a television programme that is still going strong 47 years later. I have always held this serial in high regard as apart from the introduction of the Cybermen and the concept of Regeneration, this is a cracking good script from one of the greatest eras in the shows history. By this point, Innes Lloyd {Producer} and Gerry Davis {Story Editor} have ingratiated themselves fully with the ins and outs of the show, and with a great amount of intelligence and courage, they produced one of the real highlights of Doctor Who's 4th season.

Just imagine if they had said, well, Bill's had a good run and so has the show, let's can it and make another police drama series. Luckily, this was not contemplated as both Innes and Gerry had vision. Vision that has made possible a show that this year celebrates it's 50th year on British Television. And of course, we must never overlook the fact that along with the concept of renewal, Gerry Davis and Kit Pedler also came up with the second greatest villians of all time, The Cybermen. Although primitive by todays standards, the Cybermen of The Tenth Planet are probably the must unnerving purely due to their closeness to conversion. A bit of hand here, a bit of motor there. Scary stuff, even now. I can't imagine what viewers in a paranoid 60's Cold War Britain would have thought. Dear me.

At heart, the real shock of the Tenth Planet is William Hartnell. The man that created a phenomenom was slowly winding down after 3 exaustive years in a very demanding part. Over the course of the last 3 series we have laughed and loved Bill's particular mannerisms and his completely solid professional conviction. I have always said that no Doctor since Hartnell has been able to convince me as easily as Bill does the utter almost scary seriousness of the greatest part on British Television. And I don't think there ever will be. It's a testament to a great man and a great actor that the part he created thrives 50 years hence forth.

The Tenth Planet is not to be missed, it's one of the true greats of Doctor Who. New beginnings and depressing ends have created an unbelievable masterpiece.

The DVD
`````````
The BBC DVD Release of this iconic serial is a thing of beauty. From the cover to the extras, the DVD is an absolute must for any fan. Of course, everybody is concerned about the new animated episode 4, and all I will say is that it is a considerable improvement over The Reign of Terror. A much more measured pace fills the void in this 4 part classic. The 2000 tele-snap recon from the VHS has been included as well, but you really have to experience this story with the animated episode. A thing of real artistic simplicity and beauty. Fair play to the boys and girls at Planet 55, I hope we see more Hartnell era work from them in the future. The Crusade wink wink ;}.

I shall list the current line up of Extra's for those like myself who are eager to know the more trivial details of a DVD release. Enjoy;

1.Frozen Out - 29:08 - Making of.
2.Episode 4 - 24:20 - 2OOO Tele-Snap Reconstruction from the VHS Release.
3.Doctor Who Stories - Anneke Wills - 13:37 - Anneke Wills on Her Time on the Show.
4.The Golden Age - 15:48 - ???
5.Boys Boys Boys - 19:31 - A Look at the Doctor's Male Companions.
6.Companion Piece - 24:23 - A Look at the Role of the Companion in Doctor Who.
7.William Hartnell Interview - 03:16 - An Interview with a Legend - Newly Found.
8.Blue Peter - 09:04 - ???
9.Photo Gallery - 03:37 - Relevant Photo's from The Tenth Planet's Production.

Overall then, this is a landmark release for a landmark story from a landmark Doctor. It simply doesn't get better than this. Except an animated Power of the Daleks, we can all dream I suppose.

10/10.

Thank you.

M.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and after watching it again really enjoyed it. I think the original series knocks spots ..., 4 Dec. 2014
By 
C. Harrison (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
I think I must be one of the few to have not seen this series for years, and after watching it again really enjoyed it. I think the original
series knocks spots off the cgi of the re-booted series. Well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 611 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] by Derek Martinus (DVD - 2013)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews