Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's far from being all over"
The Tenth Planet is a key story in the history of Doctor Who. It marks the departure of the original Doctor, William Hartnell, introduces the Cybermen and it is the first "base under siege" story, which would prove to be a staple of the Troughton era, particularly during season 5.

Although they would go on to menace the Doctor right up to the present day, it...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King Gama
Viewed head-on, this is deeply flawed; the narrative takes a massive dog-leg halfway through, when the central character - the Professor Challenger of the story - keels over, leaving the fight to his subordinates, until he finally revives, the general tries to shoot him, and the bad guys finally go away. Not outstanding storytelling.

Mondas is not a coherent...
Published 5 months ago by Alex Lyon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's far from being all over", 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
The Tenth Planet is a key story in the history of Doctor Who. It marks the departure of the original Doctor, William Hartnell, introduces the Cybermen and it is the first "base under siege" story, which would prove to be a staple of the Troughton era, particularly during season 5.

Although they would go on to menace the Doctor right up to the present day, it appears that the Cybermen were created purely as a one-off menace. Visually, of course, they are totally different from their later appearances - with their human hands, cloth covered faces and sing-song voices. On the one hand they look ridiculous, but on the other they are chilling in a way that no other Cybermen would ever be.

Soon, the Cybermen would be just another monster, their only goals being conquest and power. But in The Tenth Planet they merely want to survive - and if that means draining all the energy from the Earth in order to replenish their own planet, Mondas, then that's what they'll do. To them, this is logical, particularly if they can take the humans back to their planet and convert them into Cybermen. Why would anyone object to a life free from pain and disease? Certainly the Cybermen can't think of a reason, but the Doctor and his friends can.

Although William Hartnell didn't want to leave the show, his failing health sadly meant that there wasn't really any alternative. Indeed, a bout of illness meant that he had to be written out of episode 3 at very short notice, a particular problem given Doctor Who's treadmill-like year long production schedule.

But whatever his health issues or his feelings on leaving the part he loved, Hartnell is never anything but totally professional and rock solid. His confrontations with the Cybermen and General Cutler are particular highlights and his new companions, Ben and Polly (Michael Craze and Anneke Wills), provide him with good support.

Although the structure of the story is a little odd - the Cybermen arrive, go away for an episode, come back and then are defeated a little easily - The Tenth Planet, apart from the importance it holds in the history of Doctor Who, is a strong story in its own right, directed with assurance by Derek Martinus.

With the fourth and final episode missing since the 1970's, Planet 55 have re-created it via animation. Their work on Reign of Terror was a little controversial, but this works better and should gain more widespread approval as unlike Reign it sticks more closely to what the episode could have looked like. It's a very impressive effort with some good visual touches.

Toby Hadoke moderates with his usual skill and good-humour the commentary on episodes 1-3 (no commentary on episode 4). Joining him are Anneke Wills (Polly) and designer Peter Kindred, with a generous number of guest actors from the story - Christopher Matthews, Earl Cameron, Alan White, Donald Van Der Maaten and Christopher Dunham. Given that this story was made nearly fifty years ago, it's lovely to have so many participants on this one, particularly Anneke Wills whose love and affection for both the series, and her co-star, the late Michael Craze, still shines brightly.

Elsewhere, there's the Episode 4 telesnap reconstruction that was included on the VHS release. It may have been somewhat superseded by the animation, but it's still nice to have it included. The making of documentary - Frozen Out - has plenty of ground to cover, and is a good watch with Anneke Wills, amongst others, on hand with some interesting anecdotes. The thorny topic of Hartnell's difficult behaviour - both his racist attitudes and his general irritability - isn't shied away from, and there's also some interesting info on how the production coped with a Doctor-shaped hole in episode 3.

There's more of Anneke Wills on Doctor Who stories, which is culled from interview material shot in 2003 for The Story of Doctor Who documentary. Although it's quite short - at around 13 minutes - Wills' joy and enthusiasm make it another treat. She's been sadly under-represented on the DVDs due to the lack of surviving episodes from her time on the show, but with both The Moonbase and The Underwater Menace to come next year, I'm looking forward to spending more time in the company of Ms Wills.

Boys! Boys! Boys! sees Peter Purves, Frazer Hines and Mark Strickson chat about their experiences on the show, and is a jolly little programme. It's a pity that Strickson couldn't have been in the studio with Purves and Hines (instead he appears by satellite) but it's still a very amusing watch as Purves and Hines, in particular, bounce off each other very well.

There's another couple of documentaries, Companion Piece and The Golden Age, a nice piece of archive footage from a 1973 edition of Blue Peter, the usual Photo Gallery and PDF materials, which leaves one more little gem on this DVD - an interview with William Hartnell shot shortly after he left Doctor Who.

Filmed in his dressing room whilst preparing for a panto appearance, at times the short interview finds him in a prickly mood, dismissing pantomime as not being "legitimate theatre" for example. This is the only on-screen Hartnell interview that exists and it was only recently rediscovered - and it's wonderful to have a brief glimpse of Hartnell, the man.

So not only is The Tenth Planet a very solid story it also has a high quality package of special features that make this DVD a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The End of the Beginning", 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
A very important story for obvious historical reasons; last Hartnell, 1st Cyberman story, the beginning of the Kit Pedler/Gerry Davis writing partnership & 1st regeneration. Is it a good debut for the Cybermen and a good finale for the Billster? To be honest; yes.. and no.
Pedler and Davis (both misspelled for an episode each in the opening credits)delivered a good script with a large flaw but many virtues. The tardis crew turn up at space tracking station at the South Pole (its icy wastes well created for studio and over 40 years ago) just before the appearance of a new planet from which the Cybermen arrive.
Davis the old school dramatist always believed the companions should get a lot to do and go off on their own away from the Doctor at significant moments in the story. This proved to be a virtue given Hartnell's health (absent for an episode) necessitating a rewrite. Polly gets to be the main moral voice of the story berating both Warhorse commander Cutler and the Cybermen as the occasion commands. Anneke Wills does all this brilliantly and really sells it.
Ben played by Michael Craze gets to work out how the Cybermen might be tackled and if you've never particularly noticed Craze's acting before then watch the excellent moment where he conveys disgust at having to kill a cyberman!
A great debut for the Cybermen are characterised here better than in any other story since. They are not belligerent do-badders but they just no longer have or understand emotion.
They are a lot more logical than in some appearances. They offer to save the humans from Earth's expected destruction by taking them back to their planet Mondas but are not going to force them. It will not affect their plans so they let the base crew converse with some doomed astronauts and as Polly berates them for not caring they retort;
"there are people dying all over your world yet you do not care for them!"
How many other scripts give the Cybermen a retort like that?
Now they may look naff in photos but they tower over everyone and are much more impressive moving about onscreen. The only downside is in an attempt to sound inhuman they are given voices that sound Swedish and do not create the menace intended!
FYI the trait associated with 80' stories-vulnerability to their own weapons, actually begins here.
The Cybermen show why Pedler was such a find for Who. He knew a lot of real science & could successfully blend it with a strong imagination e.g. the organic part of the Cybermen is stated here to be their brain which seems plausible but their planet is a twin planet to Earth which is pure SF imagination. He also had a sense of humour nodding at real scientific achievements good and bad by going to the opposite end of the aphabet e.g. Zeus missions instead of Apollo ones and a Z bomb instead of an A Bomb
A good base set looking nice & functional and a the guest cast has 2 standouts- Robert Beatty as the ultra ruthless Cutler and David Doddimead as the sensitive scientist Barclay. Watch also for the marvellous Steve Plytas making a lot out of a small role with Secretary Wigner.
For William Hartnell it's not the best of finale's for a couple of reasons. 1) the Doctor's role and that of his companions is important but not central they have to keep things from escalating as the main threat resolves itself. For spoiler's sakes I won't go into detail but the resolution is a big flaw in an otherwise enjoyable story. 2) This was no one's fault but due to his health he wasn't able to give a strong performance although he does manage a few good moments- asking where their emotions are is one.
The restoration work is again good, I'd never noticed you can just about make out the eyes of the Cybermen actors when I had it one VHS for example.
The same crew who animated 2 eps of Reign of Terror did episode 4 where they were able to be guided by the telesnaps ( check out the telesnap and soundtrack reconstruction made for the VHS release among the extras which also includes some filmed of the telly moments). As a result this is a much better reconstruction combining the facial expressions I believe added a lot to Reign with cutting more suited to the time this was originally made. It's improved the story no end.
The commentary with main contributor Anneke Wills amongst others-notably the 2 doomed astronauts is a good one. Earl Cammeron remembers how comfortable the spacesuits were and Anneke remembers the problems of trying to look cold in fur coat in a hot studio. Shame there is no commentary for ep4.
Frozen Out is a top notch making of doc. Anneke again is the star. She remembers the excitement of Kit Pedler ("A real scientist"), hiow the regeneration went and be warned makes no bones about Hartnell's irascibility and bigotry! Reg Whitehead is wonderfully proud of being the 1st Cyberman "others will say it's them but is isn't!"
Also the original vision mixer tells us how the 1st regenration was done with the help of animation from Quiros (Ice Warriors).
Companion piece is a free ranging look at the companion role with some classic who companions and Arthur Darvill plus some professional fans turned writers (they actually have the most interesting things to say!)
Boys, Boys Boys is the male version of the previous girls features with Peter Purves, Frazer Hines and by satellite Mark Strickson. They're all fun but Frazer is especially entertaining.
There's also some Blue Peter stuff which I think featured on the 3 Doctors releases.
I shamefully neglected to mention this when I first posted the review but there's also a rare interview with William Hartnell(*1), yes a rare opportunity to hear him speak as himself not in character. This is backstage at a pantomime he did not long after leaving Who. It starts part of the way through a discussion about Daleks ( it's explained what we get is all that remains) which Hartnell admits are difficult to work with. It's clear he wasn't thrilled to be in a pantomime and the interviewer failed to make much of a rapport with him. A good insight anyway as Hartnell tactlessly distinguishes between pantomime and "legitimate" acting, makes it clear how much he values an agent ("the last thing I want to do is talk turkey"), says he was a good singer in his youth and has no interest in dancing (interesting in light of Reg Whitehead's memory of him tap dancing in "frozen out")plus had no fears of type casting. A bit of gold dust.
I also shamefully neglected Anneke Will's Doctor Who Stories interview. She recalls enjoying her time on the show and here there are several stories you may have heard before but as ever charmingly told but also less well known anecdotes like her being on a bridge over a canal as a boat passed under occupants shouting for "Polly" to join their party!
Dominic Sandbrook's Golden Age looks at whether there was any such thing as a golden age for the Police Box Show. Of course there isn't e.g., my golden age is Tom Baker's 1st 3 years but it may not be yours. The topic is quite well explored even if the feature could have been a little longer.
An enjoyable story with a packed set of extras, recommended highly.

*1 recently rediscovered pop over to the BBC Radio 4 website to listen to the Billster's appearance on desert Island Discs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars King Gama, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Viewed head-on, this is deeply flawed; the narrative takes a massive dog-leg halfway through, when the central character - the Professor Challenger of the story - keels over, leaving the fight to his subordinates, until he finally revives, the general tries to shoot him, and the bad guys finally go away. Not outstanding storytelling.

Mondas is not a coherent threat; let's get this straight - it is draining energy how? There's no real answer - it's doing it by magic, isn't it? And the solution to magic is, well, more magic, which is pretty much what happens - Mondas eats too much energy and dies - it's not really thought through beyond 'keep the story going and they won't notice it doesn't make sense'.

Another problem is that the ideas are way, way bigger than the budget - this is a story of space rockets, secret bases in Antarctica, another planet, alien creatures and global disaster, and the BBC didn't have anything like the resources to spare to tell that story. While the snow set is commendable (apart from the flapping trapdoor), the control room doesn't have the scale, and nor does Wigner's office. The reactor room in Episode 4 looks the business, however.

For all that, it is a good yarn told with good spirit. While one can sardonically question the wisdom of whoever it was appointed Cutler in the first place, Robert Beatty plays him very well; I'm convinced by the man if not by the job title. The multi-ethnic crew works well, and nobody's accent seems to creak (so good to see Earl Cameron as Williams), but it's re-assuring to know there's an Englishman among them - Doctor Barclay is to be relied upon for a stiff upper lip and a well-presented cardigan - there is a particularly Quatermass-ish feel to this version of 1986.

But the stars of the show are the Cybermen - and what a design! They do look quite properly weird - other-worldly - but are they a credible threat? Not sure - I'd like to see one laugh off a machine gun - not that they do laugh, of course. For creatures governed by logic, there is a cobbled-together quality to them - and it is all credit to the performances and the direction that they're not funny. I'm not sure how logical design has produced guns that look like electric fires either.

And I like the way that when they speak, that weird sing-song Peter Hawkins/Roy Skelton voice issues from a wide open mouth with no visible articulation going on - they are menacing, but much more, just plain weird. (It's a pity that the 'Parka's they disguise themselves in do not in any way make them look like anything other than Cybermen).

The animated Episode Four is lovely (I especially like the silhouette Cybermen) but, all budgetary considerations aside, it's a story that succeeds almost in spite of its star - unwell for the first two episodes, absent for the third, and only half there for the fourth; this is not a great curtain call for William Hartnell.

'He could be a bit difficult to work with' is a refrain generally followed with 'but he was a marvellous actor' but rarely by an explanation of what made him so prickly; what emerges in The Making Of is a picture of a man enraged at Anno Domini and his own failing powers - showing off his tap dancing to Reg Whitehead comes across as maladroit at the very best - at worst peevish - and the dressing room interview shows a man untouchably convinced of his own professional prowess.

I'm glad it wasn't me working with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
The tenth planet is a fantastic story. Well worth 5 stars in its own right. The story itself is essentially about the means civilisations and individuals will go to to survive. Mondas, the home world of the cybermen is on the verge of destruction, having had all its resources used up. The cybermen's invasion of Earth is part of a quest to survive. The story is very compact in that it only uses a very small area of the world, but it still manages to feel as though things are happening on a larger scale. Of course the effects are limited, with the filming having been done in 1966, but the story still feels convincing even whilst you do realise the cybermen are 'just a man in a suite'.

However I have too issues with the DVD itself, which lost the 5 star rating for me.

Firstly, I found the DVD rather difficult to navigate if I wanted to watch a particular episode. In a normal series DVD, they have straightforward links to each episode. However this felt like a VHS tape had been copied onto a DVD instead.

Secondly, the quality of the animation in the 4th episode is terrible. It had an almost comic book feel to it.

But other than that, an excellent edition to the collection of any Whovian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cybermen from Mondas, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
William Hartnell's final Doctor Who story comes to dvd. A two disc set with the episodes and some extras on disc one, and more extras on the second.

Originally broadcast in 1966, the Tenth Planet had four twenty five minute long black and white episodes. As with a lot of the 1960's stories, this one is incomplete. But where many had episodes wiped which the BBC thought they'd never need again, the last part of this one was lent to the Blue Peter office in 1973. And it ever came back. Nobody knows what happened. Only the last moments - since they were used in a Blue Peter feature, survive.

This has two versions of part four, though. One reconstructed using the soundtracks and photos from the episode. And one using the soundtrack plus animation for the visuals. Opinions on the quality of animation are subjective, but let's just say this doesn't have the rapid editing of one recent effort, or the seemingly simple figures of another, so it shouldn't meet with any disapproval.

The Tenth Planet see the Doctor, plus companions Ben and Polly, visit a polar base in 1986. Just as a strange planet fills the Earth sky. And strange silver humanoids arrive from it. Earth's long lost twin planet has returned. And it's inhabitants want to ensure it survives. By whatever means necessary.

The Cybermen have appeared. The show, and the Doctor, will never be the same again.

The Tenth Planet has a very different feel to some of what has gone before. It tries hard to create an international setting, and does this pretty well. With people from different countries at the base and scenes from around the world. It's a prototype for the base under siege story the show would often go on to do. With monsters attacking humans at a remote location and the Doctor and friends being caught in the middle between military minds wanting to shoot first and scientists trying to stop them.

The Cybermen are very different in style to what they've been like since. They look like humans who have undergone a lot of surgery rather than brains in silver casings. They also have highly distinctive sing song voices. Which once heard are never forgotten.

William Hartnell's health of the time means he is rather immobilised for a lot of this, and absent for all of part three. With Polly being left to put the kettle on Ben [Michael Craze] has to carry a lot of the story himself. He does this superbly well. Ben being an ordinary human in an impossible situation who the moral strength and determination to do the right thing. It's a great story for him. Even if, after seeing Cybermen being gunned down and gold plated with no compunction in 1980's stories, it's strange to see people here get broken hearted about having to hurt them.

A memorable story for the style, the setting, the monsters, and an ending which defined so much of what to come. It's worth five stars.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

It's also English audio captioned.

Disc one also contains:

A commentary from a lot of the cast plus one of the crew.

The radio times listings for the story as a PDF file.

A photo gallery of stills from the story and it's production.

A trailer for an upcoming release in this dvd range [in this case the second Doctor story the Moonbase].

Production information subtitles.

And a making of documentary. This one runs for twenty eight minutes. A lot of this is reminiscences from Anneke Wills, who played Polly. She is a very good interviewee with lots to say about the story and her working relationship with William Hartnell so this is very good viewing. She and other interviewees do paint an interesting picture of a man who clearly had a lot on his mind and a lot of mood swings.

Disc two has:

An interview with William Hartnell. Three minutes worth of recently found footage from a local BBC programme who interviewed him when he was in panto later in the year. Not all the interview survives, and some of it lacks any sound. But as pretty much the only interview there is with him from the time, it's fascinating viewing.

There's also:

Doctor Who stories: Anneke Wills. This is more footage shot for a 2003 documentary on the show. It runs for twelve minutes. As with the making of, she's a very good interviewee with lots to say so it's a good watch.

Boys, boys, boys. Runs for eighteen minutes and follows the style of other extras on recent releases in getting companion actors together and letting them chat about their experiences. In this case it's male actors though. Thus Peter Purves, Frazer Hines and Mark Strickson are allowed to reminiscence for eighteen minutes. The loose format of this does allow for some good chat.

Companion piece runs for twenty five minutes and has actors - from the old and new series - who have played companions talk about their experiences and why the show needs such characters. The fast pace of this makes for an entertaining watch.

The Golden Age runs for fifteen minutes and is just one person talking to camera, on how people perceive different eras of the show to have been better than others. And how the memory cheats. This is thought provoking viewing and well argued making it well worth a watch.

Blue Peter is the piece Blue Peter did on Doctor Who in 1973 to celebrate Doctor's Who tenth year. It runs for nine minutes and will appeal to those who grew up on the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible but don't believe any fan hype you might have heard..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
The Tenth Planet has a reputation that will always be hard for it to live up to - the first Cybermen! The last 1st Doctor story/First regeneration story!

The story just isn't much cop though. It's a tedious base-under-seige story with forgettable supporting characters and a distinct lack of William Hartnell (he was presumably sick during the filming of this as he is absent for a significant amount of the story). No witty dialogue; not a particularly amazing plot. This story gets its fame from it's importance in the show's history rather than its own merits. As a good piece of drama it deserves faint praise at best.

The Cybermen aren't exactly poorly realised - I normally try to defend them as intended to be bizarre rather than frightening. But they do sound a lot like Peter Sellers' Bluebottle voice from The Goon Show. The concept of the Cybermen is really interesting, but their role in the plot once their concept has been explained is to behave like routine bad guys for the rest of the story.

It's still an enjoyable enough watch - the missing 4th episode has been very well reconstructed using animation as has been done with certain stories since The Invasion. This divides opinions with some people, but as long as the animation is of a good quality I think it's a great way of making the surviving soundtracks come to life.

So The Tenth Planet is probably a story I would categorize as being for completists only. If you watch the story on its own terms and try to forget about its subsequent reputation as a game-changer, it keeps chugging along being just about interesting enough to hold the attention. If you're new to Doctor Who or are curious about trying some Hartnell/Cybermen for the first time I definitely wouldn't recommend this one as it is not representative of either. Watched in the 21st century it's more of a curate's egg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The First Cybermen and The End of the First Doctor!, 11 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
This is a famous story of `Doctor Who' that is memorable for two things!

It's the first story to feature the Cybermen and it's the last story with William Hartnell as the Doctor.

I came across 'The Tenth Planet' when I first listened to the audio soundtrack CD with linking narration by Anneke Wills and saw the regeneration sequence on the 'Lost in Time' DVD as sadly the fourth episode no longer exists. The story is now complete with an animated `Episode 4' on DVD.

This DVD is a 2-disc set, with the story on the first disc and special features on the second disc.

`The Tenth Planet' is a four-part story shown in 1966 when 'Doctor Who' was changing. The show had been a huge success, but William Hartnell decided to leave after three years. The production team wanted to the show to continue and came up with casting a new actor to play the Doctor.

William Hartnell had been playing the Doctor since the show started, and enjoyed it immensely. He considered being the Doctor one of his finest career moments and was a hit with children of all ages. But as he progressed, he experienced changes in the form of the show and found it hard work.

Hartnell didn't get on with the producers that were constantly changing and taking over. He was also difficult with fellow actors and was quite demanding when things didn't go his way. He didn't like the way the show was changing with less historical stories and more space adventures.

Also, Hartnell suffered ill health as he was declining with having to learn all his lines and had to take a number of days. With these increasing health problems, Hartnell eventually and reluctantly decided to leave `Doctor Who'. He didn't want to go and was so upset to leave.

So, how would William Hartnell leave? What would his final story be like? It was decided that he should leave two stories into the fourth series of `Doctor Who' when the change-over from one actor to the next would take place.

His final story was by Dr Kit Pedler (and Gerry Davis), who was a scientific advisor to the series. This would be Kit Pedler's most significant contribution to the series, as his story would feature the first appearance of the most classic and popular 'Doctor Who' monsters - the Cybermen!

The story has the Doctor and his companions Ben and Polly arriving on the south pole of Earth in 1986. There they come across a Snowcap base where scientists are monitor a rocket in Earth's orbit. Trouble starts, as another planet appears looking exactly Earth.

This is the planet Mondas and visitors come from that planet to the Snowcap base. These are the Cybermen and they mean business. They come to invade and take Earth's people away as well as draining power from Earth to revive Mondas - causing a collision between both planets.

I found this story a little hard-going. It tended to be slow for me as there are lots of things going on with science and rocket launches that completely baffled me at times. Also with the third episode lacking William Hartnell as the Doctor made it less exciting and disappointing for me.

Regarding the Cybermen, I was absolutely shocked and horrified. These are the first Cybermen and they're very primitive. I'm spoilt from watching the new series Cybermen in 'Rise of the Cybermen'/'The Age of Steel', as I expect Cybermen to be robotic and made of steel from today.

In their first appearance, the Cybermen costumes are flimsy and pretty awful. They have hair dryers on their heads and wore cloth faces. They also had exposed human hands painted silver and looked rather silly when they walked with their clunky chest units with detachable circular guns.

These Cybermen have names such as Shav and Gern, which is unusual since Cybermen don't have names. I liked when they opened their mouths to speak and close them when they finish, resembling the new series Cybermen with their mouths glowing blue 'on' and 'off' when talking.

I found the Cybermen voices utterly shocking. They were done by Roy Skelton. The Cybermen voices are computerised and sound very strange, to which I call them 'confused' Cybermen. It was pretty terrible and sounded like they were singing when speaking and couldn't take them seriously.

So not my most favourite Cybermen I'm afraid. And yet even after this one, they became popular and were brought back to fight the Doctor again. I'm glad they got rid of that 'Tenth Planet' look for later stories, looking rather more splendid and robotic which is how they should be really.

The original Mondas Cybermen never appeared in `Doctor Who' again on TV, although they did appear in a famous and brilliant Big Finish audio drama with the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa called 'Spare Parts' that focused on the creation of the Cybermen and are well-voiced by Nick Briggs.

William Hartnell manages to give a strong performance as the Doctor, despite his health. I like it when he seems to know about Cybermen. I like it when the Doctor challenges the Cybermen on emotions and manages to come back in `Episode 4' and stand up to them (in 'animated' form).

Michael Craze as Ben and Anneke Wills as Polly are the Doctor's companions. I hadn't seen much of Ben and Polly since most of their stories are non-existent. It's nice to get nearly complete stories with animated episodes to fill in the gaps, so that we can see more Ben and Polly.

I liked Polly's reaction to the Cybermen as she's shocked by their lack of emotion. She constantly defies the Cybermen emphasising the point they have no feelings. Ben gets to be the action hero, taking over from the Doctor in episode 3 and f speaks his mind to the scientists and Cutler.

The rest of the guest cast include Robert Beatty as the aggressive American General Cutler; David Dodimead as the sympathetic scientist Barclay; Dudley Jones as Dyson, Alan White as Schultz, Earl Cameron as Williams and Steve Plytas as Wigner (who I've seen `Fawlty Towers').

Eventually we come to the regeneration sequence. Before that once they defeated the Cybermen, the Doctor's rather frail - 'his body wearing a bit thin'. Seeing him even in animated form it was such a sad moment. 'It's far from being all over' he says, as he, Ben and Polly head back to the TARDIS.

To me, having the Doctor dying because he's getting old is a poor way to end William Hartnell's era and makes his Doctor rather undignified I'm afraid. Especially as this is William Hartnell's last story, he doesn't go out on a triumphant exit like the recent Doctors have done lately.

When they return to the TARDIS, the Doctor is at the console before he collapses to the floor. As the TARDIS takes off, the Doctor's face becomes emblazed in a white light getting stronger and stronger. Eventually the light dies down, and the Doctor has turned into a new man.

William Hartnell turns into Patrick Troughton. Even in animated form as well as surviving footage, it's truly spectacular. I'm glad Blue Peter managed to keep this sequence for it to survive all these years.

Of course, 'regeneration' is something we take for granted. Back then, it was unheard of. It started a trend of regenerations for actors to play the Doctor and is one of the reasons why it's lasted for over 50 years. Without this story, there would be no regeneration and no way to keep the show going.

Regarding the animation of `Episode 4', I was thoroughly impressed with it. I liked how they did the Doctor, Ben, Polly and the other characters as well as re-animating the Mondas Cybermen. It was impressive up to its regeneration sequence and was the exciting moment to watch in the story.

The DVD special features are as follows.

On Disc 1, there's an commentary with Anneke Wills, Christopher Matthews (Radar Technician), Earl Cameron (Williams), Alan White (Schultz), Donald Van Der Maaten (Cyberman), Christopher Dunham (R/T Technician) and designer Peter Kindred, moderated by Toby Hadoke.

There's a making-of documentary called 'Frozen Out'; a VHS reconstruction of `Episode 4'; a PDF file containing the Radio Times listing, an info-text commentary option; a photo gallery and a 'coming soon' trailer for the next Cybermen story 'The Moonbase'.

On Disc 2, there's a rare William Hartnell interview that was recorded in the 60s shortly after he left `Doctor Who'. There's the `Doctor Who Stories' featurette with Anneke Wills as Polly. There's also `The Golden Age' documentary with historian Dominic Sandbrook.

There's the 'Boys! Boys! Boys!' interview Peter Purves (Steven), Frazer Hines (Jamie) and Mark Strickson (Turlough). There's 'Companion Piece', a documentary focusing on the companions (including a reference to my favourite companion Nyssa); and there's a 'Blue Peter' item.

`The Tenth Planet' is a well-known Doctor Who story to feature the end of William Hartnell's Doctor. It's a decent send-off for the actor who played the First Doctor INot his greatest exit, but certainly a worthy and memorable one. William Hartnell, you will never be forgotten!

The next story for the Doctor, Ben and Polly is 'The Power of the Daleks'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD that will help complete your collection!, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
Fans have waited years for this four episode set. Episode 3 is still missing and believed lost forever so it has been animated an matched with the original audio recording. This is a good result and it enables the whole story to be watched in its intended glory.

This is particularly special as it is the first outing of the Cybermen, and the last story featuring William Hartnell. Episode 4 features the first ever regeneration and for that reason alone this is a collectors item. A second DVD is included in the set packed full of special features.

This story was one I originally remember watching from behind the settee and unlike some it has kept its fear factor reasonably well. The setting in snow has made it very easy to keep the suspense.

An excellent Dr Who adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nine out of ten planets can't be wrong, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
One of those mythical adventures in the Who canon, 'The Tenth Planet' has two things going for it - the first appearance of the Cybermen and the original regeneration. The 'base under siege' plotline that would come to the fore during the Troughton and Pertwee eras debuts here and evokes a suitably claustrophobic atmosphere that the monochrome picture seems to intensify. The Cybermen themselves are uniquely creepy in this story, with their cloth faces, blacked-out eyes and disembodied 'telephone answer machine' speech patterns, less robotic than they quickly became and still possessing recognisably human qualities as though their transformation were still midway through the process.
The knowledge that this story was to be William Hartnell's swan-song hangs over events and it's hard for the viewer's attention to veer far from him, searching for signs of his impending end; some carefully-placed enigmatic lines and Hartnell's accidental absence from episode three due to genuine illness actually work in preparing the viewer for the story's climax. That we are denied this climax in full is naturally something of a disappointment, but thanks to 'Blue Peter' we do at least have the regeneration itself, and the animated episode four as well as the photographic reconstruction do a decent job in the absence of the real thing. Ben and Polly continue to impress as companions, with Hartnell's abrupt disappearance midway through the story providing them with extra dialogue and fleshing out their characters nicely, emphasising once again what a shame it is that more of their stories haven't survived.
Anyway, it's great for me to finally see this story after making do with photos all these years, and unless episode four turns up in Darkest Africa, this DVD is as good a package as we could hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "The Glory of the Arcadian Groves..., 27 April 2015
By 
Tom Henshaw (Macclesfield, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] (DVD)
...is gone, and here ne'er to return." Thus runs the song by Jeremiah Clarke, penned as a lamentation on the death of the great English composer, Henry Purcell (1659 - 1695). This is NOT one of my favourite Dr. Who yarns. It shows - all too clearly - the direction in which producer, Innes Lloyd, wished to take the programme. It's a poor yarn to mark the enforced departure of star, Bill Hartnell; in fact, personally, I find it quite dull. Somehow - the magic's gone. But, what would have happened if Bill Hartnell had hung on? The original script for this serial includes no replacement scene at the conclusion of part four. It was only in July 1966, that Bill Hartnell, finally, bowed to exerted pressure, and agreed to relinquish the part of the character he had virtually created, and leave the show which he loved and had come to regard as his own. Bill's Dr. Who shone, just that bit more brightly, with companions he clearly felt comfortable with; that affection - and security - comes through. Two of Bill's best travelling companions, Peter Purves's Steven Taylor, and Jackie Lane's Dodo Chaplet had been summarily ditched. Would there have been more yarns with the surreal magic of The Celestial Toymaker (a direction for Dr. Who that Bill favoured)? The highly enjoyable humour and tongue in cheek fun (coupled with a surprisingly gritty final part) of The Gunfighters? The initial mystery, then, quiet excitement of the undervalued yarn (part H.G. Wells - part Flash Gordon) The Savages (the final part of which includes the unconvincing, but genuinely moving departure of Peter Purves)? Then, the joyful triumph (despite the appalling dismissal of Jackie Lane's character, Dodo) of The War Machines? I have to say that, in my opinion, the answer would be no. One only has to look at the lack lustre quality of the serials lined up for Bill's replacement, Mr. Troughton.

Incidentally, The Ark (again, featuring my favourite team) is also a belter!

Now - to Anneke Wills's contribution to Frozen Out, a documentary about the making of The Tenth Planet. Ms. Wills: "...apparently, in the year or so, before Mike and I came on board, the ratings had been dropping off. So they wanted to do something about this. And it had to be, it had to be Bill's departure. There was no way of getting round it. But he wasn't having any of it..." Then, on screen, a table is displayed, showing the viewing figures for the following serials: The Celestial Toymaker, The Gunfighters, The Savages, The War Machines, and, The Smugglers. Application of the pause facility will reveal, not a steady decline in viewing figures but, rather, the maintenance of a quite respectable mean of around six million! In fact, the serial for which the figures show a noticeable decline is The Smugglers (first outing, as bona fide companions, for the "Swinging Sixties" duo)! Ms. Wills: "Mike and I were dead chuffed because we were going to have a script written by a scientist." Here she refers to Dr. Christopher "Kit" Pedler, a doctor of medicine who specialised in diseases of the eye. It will be remembered that the story involves the appearance of a twin planet of Earth, which, somehow, in the long distant past, decided to leave the Solar System and wander off on a jaunt, before returning in 1986. So much for the science! Ms. Wills also recalls that it was Dr. Pedler's wife, also, apparently, a doctor, who came up with the title The Tenth Planet (a mathematician?). Referring to one of the first scenes (shot on film) Ms. Wills recollects that: "There were many problems. We didn't have Bill, for a start, we had Gordon Craig, his double." The scene takes place in a simulated blizzard; you'd be hard pressed to tell whether it was Bill Hartnell, or Old Mother Riley! Ms. Wills: "Bill, unfortunately, had this real block about coloured people. He was really stuck in these kind of antique prejudices. And unfortunately this came out, of course, working with Earl Cameron. I have to say that Michael Craze and I were ashamed for Bill, actually." Earl Cameron, who gave many excellent performances in British films of the 1950s and '60s - including the great: Sapphire (1960) - shares no scenes with Bill Hartnell in The Tenth Planet. Earl Cameron: "I have to be very honest, if he was unkind, I wasn't aware of it."

Three of Bill Hartnell's favourite musicians - as evidenced by his participation in Roy Plomley's Desert Island Discs, 1965: Louis Armstrong (famous coloured jazz trumpeter). Paul Robeson (great coloured bass, actor, and Liberal activist,). And, Yehudi Menuhin (Jewish classical violin virtuoso).

Bill Hartnell once said: "I think that if I live to be ninety, a little of the magic of Dr. Who will still cling to me." If I live to be ninety, a little of the magic of Bill Hartnell will still cling to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Tenth Planet [DVD] by Derek Martinus (DVD - 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews