Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more then a tiny zoo...
It's odd how much the Studio Zoo process took over my life for five weeks earlier this summer.

It's even odder that nearly five weeks after the cameras turned off, Studio Zoo has once again taken over.

The album grasps you from the first lick of "Where To Start", a lick that like most Faulkner riffs, amazes the ears and makes a lot of people think,...
Published 13 months ago by D Quilty

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss
I absolutely love Newton Faulkner's work and have seen him live which is an amazing experience...but...

This album does not consistently deliver; there are some excellent moments that make it worth the price and much more, but there are also tracks which lack the craftsmanship of his previous offerings.

I'm still a great fan and will be seeing him...
Published 13 months ago by Christopher Rowe


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more then a tiny zoo..., 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
It's odd how much the Studio Zoo process took over my life for five weeks earlier this summer.

It's even odder that nearly five weeks after the cameras turned off, Studio Zoo has once again taken over.

The album grasps you from the first lick of "Where To Start", a lick that like most Faulkner riffs, amazes the ears and makes a lot of people think, "How?". From there, what follows is a collection of incredible songs (personal favourites are hard to select at this stage) that show Newton Faulkner's incredible range of talent both instrumentally and vocally, as well as a very unique production sound that you would not guess had been recorded in a small home studio surrounded by webcams.

The inclusion of artists such as Mumford and Sons bassist Ted Dwane, X Factor competitor Janet Devlin and cellist India Bourne are incredible additions to an already immensly musical atmosphere.

I already wrote on Twitter, "Not only a great album but a great souvenir of five weeks of some great entertainment", a sentiment that sticks with me everytime I will listen I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally awesome album, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
This is just perfection! I've watched the live making of this studiozoo album and it has been wonderful to be a part of, and see how the music maestro known as Newton Faulkner has written, recorded, mixed and mastered this masterpiece. I have every one of Newton's albums, and everyone of them is timeless in its own right. I highly recommend the whole collection :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE MUST BUY!, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to tune into Newton Faulkner's Studio Zoo live stream to watch the master at work while he produced this exceptional album. During the five weeks of recording I was only absent one day, so I can declare with complete honesty that this album MUST become part of your music collection.

Newton (and talented brother, Toby) have outdone themselves with this brilliant collection of songs...every single one a hit. The bar has been raised and I predict this album will be talked about for a long time to come. A classic in the making and an absolute must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
This album is just awesome. Phenomenal songwriting, and musicianship in every song. Just brilliant track after brilliant track.Looking forward to the next one! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 5 Sep 2013
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
I absolutely love Newton Faulkner's work and have seen him live which is an amazing experience...but...

This album does not consistently deliver; there are some excellent moments that make it worth the price and much more, but there are also tracks which lack the craftsmanship of his previous offerings.

I'm still a great fan and will be seeing him live next year - tickets purchased! - but I don't expect to want to listen to the whole album repeatedly - it has gems (which I'll leave you to find) amongst some less valuable items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Brave, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
With the modern musical world focusing on mass consumerism and let's make lot's of money, Newton Faulkner has always been a source of meaningful music for me. Even so, this seemed a very brave album for Newton Faulkner as it once again, steps away from trying to impress the huge crowds by making modern engineered music, he's made a meaningful album with some very great songs, even different from his other albums. It's one of those special albums that will last the test of time and will actually get better the more you listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album by Newton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Zoo (MP3 Download)
Some misses on this album, but the majority of lovely folky songs more than make up for those!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At His Best, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
Newton Faulkner never ceases to amaze. Was not let down and back to his best. Keeps getting better the more you hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must by buy, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Stevan Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Zoo (Audio CD)
After seeing
Newton play this album live in Liverpool it made buying this a must .. The lads got pure talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Studio Zoo
Studio Zoo by Newton Faulkner
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews