Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The marmite album...
This was definitely Def Leppard trying something completely different!! For me it worked. They stripped away all the gloss that was so right for 'Hysteria' and some of the dross from 'Adrenelize', added a pinch of grunge (and I do mean a pinch) and came up with 'Slang'.

This album was always going to be different because it was Viv Campbell's first album where...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Richard Rogers

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pearl of Euphoria
This record does not really sound like Def Leppard, at least like the Def Leppard we know and loved in the 80's. I prefer this effort to deliver something a little different that the dumb copy of themselves in Adrenalize.
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The marmite album..., 29 July 2010
By 
Richard Rogers "spitfire" (Flintshire, N Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
This was definitely Def Leppard trying something completely different!! For me it worked. They stripped away all the gloss that was so right for 'Hysteria' and some of the dross from 'Adrenelize', added a pinch of grunge (and I do mean a pinch) and came up with 'Slang'.

This album was always going to be different because it was Viv Campbell's first album where he was involved in the writing process. It was a step in the right direction. 'Hysteria' captured the mood and the sound of the times perfectly. No one can doubt its legend status. 'Adrenelize' seemed to over egg the pudding, never mind the impossible task of following one of the biggest selling albums of the decade! It was sounding stale, rock music was changing...

What 'Slang' does best is it gets thru the record quick!! The first 3 songs are finished inside 10 mins. There are no long intro's, drawn out guitar solo's, just good songs. Stand out tracks are 'All I Want Is Everything', 'Where Does Love Go When It Dies?' and 'Pearl of Euphoria'

In a way this feels like Def Leppard have grown up... or maybe the harsh reality of life and the struggles the band endured along the way had forged a new vision... maybe this band had the balls to do something different... 'Slang' is what it is, for what it is; a damn good rock album that I still play and enjoy after all these years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The obligatory experimental album!, 5 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. K. Smith "Kev Smith" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
This was released back in 1996, on the back of first DL greatest hits album, 'Vault', it was said that Vault was the ending of the first Leppard era, and Slang was the start of a new one.

Well, people who are expecting the usual Leppard 'hair rock' will be surprised with this offering. Indeed, it leans in parts to Nirvana (Deliver Me), and in parts to Boyz II Men (Breathe A Sigh).

So a surprising mix, and it never sounds at all like Def Leppard (the title track aside). It is only Joe Elliott's distict voice that gives the game away.

It's a shame that this never got the commercial success to go alongside the critial acclaim, because it is truly an excellent album. It goes from the ultra-heavy (Gift of Flesh) to lush ballad (Blood Runs Cold) in a moment, and despite the mass of different sounds here, nothing sounds out of place.

Album highlights are the excellent 'All I Want Is Everything' and 'Work it Out', the latter being one of the best songs DL have ever recorded in my opinion.

In short, I would recommend this to anyone, as it has just about everything - heavy rockers, lush ballads and just about everything in between. Just don't expect another 'Hysteria' or 'Pyromania', as this is something totally different.

Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great update to an interesting album, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Phil (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
This is a review of the 2014 deluxe edition. It has been nearly 18 years since originally released and it is not relevant what 'musical trends' are going on at the moment, so the fact that this album sounds so different doesn't matter anymore. The original album contained a real mixture of styles and was all the better for it, there was classic Leppard with the title track, some harder stuff and some more experimental stuff with 'Turn to dust'. Some of the bonus tracks give a real insight to how the final versions had evolved and 'All on your touch', a track that didn't make it on the original recording could have become a standout track had it been fully evolved. This collection is well worth a listen, I hadn't heard the original for a while, and re-listening to it now along with its extra tracks has made me realise how good the album really is. It is a bargain at 10 for all this music, and makes you realise how inventive Def Leppard can be when they want to! Not a Leppard classic, but certainly a good listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pearl of Euphoria, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
This record does not really sound like Def Leppard, at least like the Def Leppard we know and loved in the 80's. I prefer this effort to deliver something a little different that the dumb copy of themselves in Adrenalize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Def Leppards Best Album, 10 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
This is where the band got serious and showed some adventure and the end product is their best studio album. A lot of fans slated the sudden change but ten years on it is the one album that truly stands the test of time. Got everything they done. From one night in Sheffield in front of 30 people I think it was, to international superstars the band totally deserve it and this is the one CD that I think shows how good this band can be. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisited, 21 May 2006
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
I'm a huge def leppard fan but I hated it when I first listened to it. Then about a month ago I accidentally put it on in the car(it had found it's way into the "Hysteria" case) and something happened, maybe I grew up or something but I just heard a completely different album and I have to say that it's currently my favourite. If your expecting vintage 80's def leppard thought, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Experimental Leppard but worth a listen, 30 Mar 2002
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
A move from the formula of Hysteria and Adrenalize, the Leps have moved away from collaboartion writing to more individual, experimental songs. This album will not be to everybody's tastes but hardcore Leps fans must give it a listen. There are a few too many slow songs but there are a few stand out tracks. Pearl of Euphoria is an epic worthy of the Leps, as is the Campbell penned Work It Out. The opening two of Truth? and Turn To Dust set the tone for the album. Not classic Def Leppard, but an album that has been neglected and seen as the album that might have killed off the Leps. I like it because it is different. Not the cliched rock that you expect from the Sheffield band. It may have been there undoing but I applauded them for having the balls at trying something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slang Deluxe Edition - extras and packaging could be better, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
I am a long time Leppard fan, having started with the single Hello America in 1980 and carried on buying each album on release and seeing them a number of times in concert. I always liked Slang. It was a bit of a change in direction and was needed at the time. Adrenalize very much built on the big production sound of Hysteria and that probably couldn't be taken any further at the time. So if you don't already have Slang, this Deluxe Edition remaster is worth it as there are some really great Leppard songs in there including some fantastic ballads such as Breathe a Sigh and Where Does Love Go When It Dies plus some quite different rock songs such as the title track itself. The remaster is good, not much different from the original to my ears but I quite like the sound of the original anyway.
I didn't give it 4 or 5 because the package itself and the choice of extra tracks lets it down in my view.
I have the original Slang CD which came with a free CD featuring six Acoustic tracks live in Singapore. It is a great package.
It's quite unusual to say the original release beats the reissue in terms of extras, but it certainly does as live acoustic versions of Armageddon It, Two Steps Behind, From the Inside, Animal, When Love and Hate Collides and Pour Some Sugar on Me are well worth having. You'd be better tracking that down if you can.
The previous Deluxe Editions for Pyromania, Hysteria and Adrenalize are excellent in terms of extras. On Pyromania we got a live show from LA Forum from the Pyromania tour. On Hysteria, all the B sides and remixes plus some live tracks from the period. On Adrenalize all the B sides and some more live tracks. All three were consistently presented in gatefold digi packs and form quite a good collection of reissues. I expected Slang Deluxe to follow suit and maintain the consistent standard of the deluxe reissues.
Here we get various original 1st drafts and rough mixes of some of the Slang album track and a few extra songs that didn't make it to the album.
What is missing are the B sides from the Slang era singles. I would have liked the extras to include the versions of Bowie's Ziggy Stardust, Jeff Beck"s Cause We Ended as Lovers and Led Boots, When Saturday Comes, Jimmy's Theme etc plus the live versions of Slang, Deliver Me, All I Want Is Everything, Another Hit & Run, Rock Rock etc that were released at the time as B Sides. Some of the B Sides are included (Cant Keep Away From The Flame, Move With Me Slowly but the rest are missing in favour of the 1st drafts and rough mixes. I think that is a mistake and a missed opportunity to maintain the high standard of the previous deluxe editions.
Finally the packaging is very poor in comparison to the three previous Deluxe Editions. Rather than a gatefold digi pack, we get what is a double jewel case (the type that can take up to four discs and takes up the space of three CD boxes on the shelf). Nowadays, this looks quite old fashioned. The original release with the extra Acoustic Live in Singapore was packaged better in a single size, flip out style 2cd box.
Next to the previous three Leppard Deluxe Editions, Slang looks poorly done to me. There's no excuse for that. In terms of costs of production, all the recording costs are sunk on the initial release so it's just remastering and repackaging and adding a well compiled, comprehensive disc of extras. No reason why that is compromised on this release in comparison to the previous three.
In summary, Slang the album is excellent, buy it if you don't already have it but as a Deluxe Edition, this falls short of the high standard set by the previous releases and that's disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the next step, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
'slang' was a step in the wrong direction for many def leppard fans but to me it was a step into the future, since this album failed in chat success the leps have returned again to there roots a bit more, i love this album, for me i thought they wrote an album ahead of there time, this album shows how they have progresed. 'slang' the single for me was a 'pour some sugar on me' for the 90s, def leppard have never been a cool band to like, alot of people would class them as a really cheesy band, but this album has no cheese whatsoever, its a proper modern rock album,they havent tryed to sound like anyone there, i would have liked to have seen def lepard stick with this style a bit more, loads of samples and the production is just right, it isent over produced like alot of there albums. it has a very indian vibe.this album shows a mature side to def leppard, maybe not right for someone who just wants one album to see what there like, it could be my fav album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slang (Audio CD)
Fab thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slang
Slang by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews