Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Roman story for adventurous people.
A good tale and quite well written except - The amount of bad language used could detract from it reaching a much wider audience. That language MAY have been used but other authors can get the story across without using so much. Generally though, a good read.
Published 3 months ago by NRP Wilson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard adventure
A rattling good adventure about Caratacus (his spelling) and his resistance to the Claudian invasion of 43 AD. Sadly I have to deduct stars because this self-published volume is riddled throughout with mistakes in spelling, grammar and punctuation; I persevered, but it was most distracting.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. C. J. Nicholls


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Roman story for adventurous people., 17 Nov. 2014
By 
NRP Wilson "nrpwilson.co.uk" (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good tale and quite well written except - The amount of bad language used could detract from it reaching a much wider audience. That language MAY have been used but other authors can get the story across without using so much. Generally though, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood of Rome: Caratacus by John Salter, 30 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This, the debut novel of John Salter, is the story of the legendary Briton Caratacus and his quest to protect his homeland from the Claudian invasion of Britain. Most of the book focuses on the 2nd Augusta Legion under it's Legate Vespasian as he strives to convince the various tribes to acquiesce to Roman rule and order. The author brings to life some very interesting characters both Roman and Briton in this well researched tale. The Britons Caratacus, Adminius and Brenna bring to life the differences of opinion as to whether submission to Rome or the destruction of the invader is the better choice for their home and people. Their motives and emotions are vastly different from each other(I won't say who is of which opinion so as to not reveal a spoiler, though Caratacus' choice is probably well known) and are the heart and soul of the conflict.

As in any good story there are plenty of plot twists especially one towards the end that is very nice yet very nasty and I was taken completely by surprise. The battle scenes are well done, the gore is not overly excessive yet enough so that you get the feel of what it would have been like to be a Roman legionnaire facing a menacing group of frenzied, woad covered warriors. You also get to know what it was like to be an advance scouting party of Roman cavalry from the intense fear to the comradeship of the men involved. I am looking forward to the next volume in this saga as the battle for Britain is far from over and Caractacus is as determined as ever to throw the Romans back into the sea. My rating for this is 3.8 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic! Gruesome! Gritty!, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This debut novel is not for the squeamish as it places you at the heart of the ferocious and blood-thirsty battles between the Romans and the early Britons. With well-researched historical detail and appealing characters on both sides it culminates with an unexpected twist to the plot. I feel compelled to find out what happens next and will have to get my hands on Part 2 of this Saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars . . . and the Roman tide rolls forward., 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another book covering the Roman advance thru Albion. Let us hope it's not John Salters last.
With such an exiting moment in history Mr Salter opens the panorama as seen thru the eyes of several characters.
Exiting, fast paced, we can almost smell and taste the reality. Most enjoyable read!
We hope that Mr Salter is back at his keyboard, weaving the next tapestry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood of Rome: Caratacus, 10 Oct. 2013
A very gripping story, based on the invasion of Britannia by the Romans. Although a little slow to start as the historical background is provided, the book quickly develops, with some fast-paced battle scenes. The characters are well introduced, and you quickly get a sense of their beliefs and role within the invasive and defensive armies. The battle scenes are graphically described, and you are left with a real sense of what it would have been like to have been involved.

Overall, a very entertaining read which kept me gripped throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard adventure, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rattling good adventure about Caratacus (his spelling) and his resistance to the Claudian invasion of 43 AD. Sadly I have to deduct stars because this self-published volume is riddled throughout with mistakes in spelling, grammar and punctuation; I persevered, but it was most distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed!, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Ian Dewar "Author" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Salter's first epic in the 'Blood of Rome Chronicles' leaves the reader in anticipation for what is to follow? A refreshing take on the Roman invasion of Britannia, Salter skilfully takes history and storytelling to a new level. As a debut novel it excels and its principal characters both intrigue and inspire. As a Roman 'junkie' I approached this novel with some trepidation but I was not disappointed! John Salter's writings position him alongside Cornwell and Iggulden and I for one can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, excellent author, delivered with all expedience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood of Albion more like, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it is historically factual with few errors I can't wait to read the rest of this series of books. Well done Mr Salter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very good read !, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of Rome: Caratacus (The Blood of Rome Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A very absorbing read. Well researched and enthralling storyline is only marred by the obvious lack of a good proof reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews