Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2013
Fabulously seductive album that sounds like it was made in the early part of the 21st century with it's eye firmly on the future rather than tired retreads of what was done much more successfully and creatively 30 years ago.

That it appeals more to the brain than the feet is what makes it special and different. Intelligent without being impenetrable.

Music for people who are interested in music. Challenging and appealing.

This is where 'pop music' would have gone in the late 80s and early 90s if it hadn't been for the brain numbing impact of drugs and the vacuous hedonism of 'club culture'.

Teamed with Robyn and Active Child's recent releases this album makes me feel thrilled about music in a way I haven't been for a long time.

If the 'song' content improves the next release from Jessy could be very special indeed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 September 2013
Jessy Lanza's first foray into the listening world is a very, very chilly affair.
Cool as a cucumber and oft times as cold as the frostiest of November mornings.
'Pull Back My Hair', a collaboration with co-writer/producer Jeremy Greenspan,
is shot through with glacial ersatz soul and competently constructed melodies
which strive to touch the heart but end up appealing more to the intellect.
This is not to say that the music fails to engage our interest and attention;
there's a good deal to admire in its glistening polished surfaces but at the
end of our encounter these nine inventions don't give us a great deal to love.

Ms Lanza has clearly been touched by the ebullience of Eighties' disco but her
muse is recast in cut-and-paste approximations which are in fact the antithesis
of the true spirit of the dance. There is little sense of spontaneity or true joy.
Her voice, too, is a bit of a thin and crispy instrument which strikes an elegant
pose but lacks any real power or the capacity to communicate credible emotion.

If I had to pick one track from the bunch then 'As If', with its bumbling synth
bass line and fidgety percussion, is probably just about as good as it gets but
I can't help but feel that it's all just a bit too slick and clever for its own good.

Ho Hum.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
It's funny - I held off buying this for ages, reading some negative comments about lack of depth, emotion and the 'iciness' of the whole shebang. Having spent a while with it now, I experience the exact opposite. Yes, a lot of the music is fairly sparse boogie-funk and slow jams for a near future but Jessy's gently cooed vocals are sensuous and seductive - check out 'Pull My Hair Back' and 'Strange Emotion' for evidence.

The LP, produced by Junior Boy's Jeremy Greenspan, is all whipcrack snares and hi-hats, electronic finger-pops, limpid synth pads and keyboard stabs - state-of-the-art future R'n'B. Most importantly, there are tunes to die for - 'Keep On Moving' and 'Against The Wall' would be top of the charts for months on a more just planet.

This is never far from the CD player along with Cooly G's excellent Playin' Me - seductive late night music for kicking back to.
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
great album, not to sure who to compare it too. its got several different sounds going on. if you like R&b, techno, dance, urban u should like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
A fine record by Jessy Lanza. You can feel touch of Junior Boys production here that is guarantee of quality and very pleasant listening expirience. Maybe still not Jessie Ware level, but very close and even more interesting on moments. Recomanded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)