Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually modern music
Fabulously seductive album that sounds like it was made in the early part of the 21st century with it's eye firmly on the future rather than tired retreads of what was done much more successfully and creatively 30 years ago.

That it appeals more to the brain than the feet is what makes it special and different. Intelligent without being impenetrable...
Published 14 months ago by magnolia

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold Soul
Jessy Lanza's first foray into the listening world is a very, very chilly affair.
Cool as a cucumber and oft times as cold as the frostiest of November mornings.
'Pull Back My Hair', a collaboration with co-writer/producer Jeremy Greenspan,
is shot through with glacial ersatz soul and competently constructed melodies
which strive to touch the heart but...
Published 15 months ago by The Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually modern music, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Pull My Hair Back (Audio CD)
Fabulously seductive album that sounds like it was made in the early part of the 21st century with it's eye firmly on the future rather than tired retreads of what was done much more successfully and creatively 30 years ago.

That it appeals more to the brain than the feet is what makes it special and different. Intelligent without being impenetrable.

Music for people who are interested in music. Challenging and appealing.

This is where 'pop music' would have gone in the late 80s and early 90s if it hadn't been for the brain numbing impact of drugs and the vacuous hedonism of 'club culture'.

Teamed with Robyn and Active Child's recent releases this album makes me feel thrilled about music in a way I haven't been for a long time.

If the 'song' content improves the next release from Jessy could be very special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual Boogie & Slow Jams, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pull My Hair Back (Audio CD)
It's funny - I held off buying this for ages, reading some negative comments about lack of depth, emotion and the 'iciness' of the whole shebang. Having spent a while with it now, I experience the exact opposite. Yes, a lot of the music is fairly sparse boogie-funk and slow jams for a near future but Jessy's gently cooed vocals are sensuous and seductive - check out 'Pull My Hair Back' and 'Strange Emotion' for evidence.

The LP, produced by Junior Boy's Jeremy Greenspan, is all whipcrack snares and hi-hats, electronic finger-pops, limpid synth pads and keyboard stabs - state-of-the-art future R'n'B. Most importantly, there are tunes to die for - 'Keep On Moving' and 'Against The Wall' would be top of the charts for months on a more just planet.

This is never far from the CD player along with Cooly G's excellent Playin' Me - seductive late night music for kicking back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold Soul, 10 Sep 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pull My Hair Back (Audio CD)
Jessy Lanza's first foray into the listening world is a very, very chilly affair.
Cool as a cucumber and oft times as cold as the frostiest of November mornings.
'Pull Back My Hair', a collaboration with co-writer/producer Jeremy Greenspan,
is shot through with glacial ersatz soul and competently constructed melodies
which strive to touch the heart but end up appealing more to the intellect.
This is not to say that the music fails to engage our interest and attention;
there's a good deal to admire in its glistening polished surfaces but at the
end of our encounter these nine inventions don't give us a great deal to love.

Ms Lanza has clearly been touched by the ebullience of Eighties' disco but her
muse is recast in cut-and-paste approximations which are in fact the antithesis
of the true spirit of the dance. There is little sense of spontaneity or true joy.
Her voice, too, is a bit of a thin and crispy instrument which strikes an elegant
pose but lacks any real power or the capacity to communicate credible emotion.

If I had to pick one track from the bunch then 'As If', with its bumbling synth
bass line and fidgety percussion, is probably just about as good as it gets but
I can't help but feel that it's all just a bit too slick and clever for its own good.

Ho Hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pull My Hair Back [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Arsen Solovka "Arsen" (Mraclin, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pull My Hair Back (Audio CD)
A fine record by Jessy Lanza. You can feel touch of Junior Boys production here that is guarantee of quality and very pleasant listening expirience. Maybe still not Jessie Ware level, but very close and even more interesting on moments. Recomanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pull My Hair Back
Pull My Hair Back by Jessy Lanza
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews