Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars102
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2012
This isn't really about the KLF. it's about the ideas that led to the KLF doing the things they did, and the ideas that led to those ideas. As such it's much more interesting and, dare I say, useful than your bog standard music biography.

It's also a really good guide to understanding where Bill Drummond is coming from in his art over the last decade, complementing books like The 17 well.

Personally I enjoyed how ideas and people I've been fascinated by over the last few decades are tied together, from Ken Campbell to Alan Moore to Robert Anton Wilson, and how often pretentious, academic issues that idiots love to obsfucate are explained and contextualised in plain entertaining language.

Book of the year, no question.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I was up until 3am reading this. It's brilliant.

It's certainly about the KLF and burning a million pounds, but it's also about so much else. Including itself.

It's thought provoking, deeply considered, and lively, whilst also being very clearly written. Perfectly balanced.

If you remember the KLF and something about them burning a million pounds, you should read it. If you're the KLF's biggest ever fan, you should read it. And if you've never heard of the KLF you should most definitely absolutely download it right now and start reading it straight away because your life is about to change.

Really.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Having lived through the rise and fall of the KLF without really caring all that much about the weirdness that surrounded them, this book is a wonderful exploration of just how weird Messrs Cauty and Drummond are and why.

Genius, I couldn't put it down and now I can't stop thinking about it. Read it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I will be honest and say this is not what I expected a book about the KLF to be like, in many ways it's much better, traditional music books can be very dry and boring with fact after fact giving you very little insight into the band/group in question, this book is different, not only does it let you feel like you are there during the period described it also helps you understand why the KLF were so influential. The ideas in this book are, I must admit, totally new to me but it is written in such a way that it made me search out more books on the subject. A really good read for any fan of the KLF, it may even open your eyes a bit to the modern world...Enjoy...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This is a hugely entertaining and thought provoking read. Even if you are only vaguely interested in the KLF its worth checking out, as in a way, its about much more than the KLF. The KLF are used as a case study to investigate chaos, coincidence, meaning etc. At its heart though, this book is about how we view reality, through either magical thinking or objective rationalism, and how we mistake our models of reality for reality itself.
It's also a ripping yarn about one of the most original musical acts ever.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Initially I was put off from this book by the other reviews that said that it flies off at tangents and delves heavily into Discordianism and synchronicity and so forth. I wasn't really interested in that, I was more interested in Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty and the story of their time working together and the insane things they did. Nevertheless I bought it anyway and took my chances.

I'm glad I did- it's a great book. Yes it does jump around a lot, but it never strays all that far from its core, which is essentially a biography of Bill Drummond from the 1980s to mid 1990s, from his first job (which is relevant) through to the burning of a million pounds. The patterns of coincidence are well explained and it is, despite what other reviewers have said, mostly in quite a chronological order (except for the 'tease' of the prologue).

The most interesting aspect for me is that Bill Drummond is portrayed more as a victim than as a hero. Established as an impulsive, coincidence-driven, map-obsessed and whimsical man, this account of The KLF's story shows him as more of a victim of circumstance (or possibly deliberate Discordian intervention- though I don't happen to believe that) than as a master of his own destiny. It's a bit like Danny Wallace's "Yes Man" scenario, where a man strictly follows a particular and unique set of rules through life and ends up in some very unexpected places.

Jimmy Cauty is portrayed as a bit of a bit-part player, which has happened in other accounts of The KLF as well and always seems a bit inaccurate- Cauty is quite clearly an important figure (and a loon) in his own right and more time could've been spent on him.

There's also an incredible and glaring omission - Drummond and Cauty's 1997 reunion as 2K is completely and utterly overlooked throughout the whole book. The discography section at the back utterly fails to mention it, as does the rest of the book, despite the fact 1997 is mentioned for other events- it is even stated that Drummond & Cauty never collaborated musically again after 1992, which simply isn't true! 2K involved Drummond and Cauty re-addressing their KLF mythology (as old men in wheelchairs wearing horns) and to have left it out of the book completely seems like a mistake. The One World Orchestra track they did together for the Help! compilation is completely missed out too. This isn't just fan nitpicking, these are two fairly major musical items being missed.

As music biographies go though, this is both one of the best bands to write out, and one of the best-written ones I've read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This book isn't really about The KLF. It's more a collection of philosophical ideas covering quantum physics, religion, conspiracy theories, art, magic and Doctor Who. The story of The KLF is the glue that holds these wide-ranging ideas together and it makes for an interesting, albeit slightly haphazard read.

If you're expecting an anecdote-heavy, revelation-filled biography then you'll find yourself surprised. Whether this surprise will be a pleasant one for you is difficult to say, so you'd be advised to check out some sample chapters before purchasing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I can only echo what the other reviews in saying this book is above and beyond being a biography of the KLF and them burning a million pounds.

I have had to start reading it again as i have been thinking about a lot of the ideas proposed in the book a lot since finishing it.

Even if your not a fan of the KLF or aware of the work of Bill Drummond and James Cauty i would recommend picking this book up at the first chance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
As a document of the KLF (also known as the Justified Ancients of MuMu, furthermore known as the JAMs) and their activities, this book is limited. As a exploration of the magical thinking that may (or may not) have influenced the absurd things Drummond and Caulty have done, this is as logical justification as one is likely to find. It works best as a companion piece to Bill Drummond's '45', and 'The 17' and serves as fascinating and deeply entertaining journey into serendipity, coincidence and chaos. The far reaching connectivity of things and ideas are presented, much like Adam Curtis's TV programmes, or (if you're old enough to remember them) James Burke's 'Connections'. Throughout it all runs a sense of silliness that reads like Douglas Adams in places, yet the internal logic manages to convincingly connect 1950s satirists, Lee Harvey Oswald, Alan Moore, The Illuminati, Playboy, Jesus and Whitney. And it all makes perfect sense, or is utter nonsense. Just give in to it, be hugely entertained and feel like you've been on a roller coaster of ideas. And much like the band that it pretends to be about, it doesn't overstay it's welcome and leaves you wondering what the hell just happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
The KLF were never a conventional band so why should a biography about them be any different?
Often observant always thought provoking this book is more than a simple biography of a pop band but a look at the structure of our lives and society it's self.
Once read the ideas put forth in this book will stay with the reader for a long time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)