Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Although I did find the ending a little contrived, it didn't detract from a very good piece of writing. I would also have liked to see what happened to Aparajati, after the ending. Would she be another cog in the wheel_ preserving the status quo, would she like many others suffer "compassion fatigue" as she tries to change all that is wrong in Indian society.

I had a lot of empathy for her story and it does sound all to familiar unfortunately. Thank you Mangala for writing this and bringing this appalling situation to light. If domestic violence wasn't brushed under the carpet as much as it is, if people were not so willing to accept it, it wouldn't be such a problem.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
This book depicts how women are treated in India. It illustrates the backward thoughts of elders and their offspring. The main character is an extremely intelligent woman who does her utmost to put things right and do herself and her injustice. Wonderfully written and thought provoking. The author should be congratulated.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
A painful tale. A fantastic story. Maybe a little confusing at times but probably because I didn't discover the glossary at the back til I finished the book. A good read for a woman who perhaps is doubting her worth. In fact anyone who needs a pointer of hold on it can get better sort of thing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
I have read lots of books like this one, but found this book very boring , only reason carried on till the end was I took it on holiday and had nothing else to read, I would certainly not recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Beautifully written book. Brilliant ending. Lyrical descriptions of Bharat interspersed with the reality of the suffocating social and cultural norms that continue to hamper equality there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
I have not enjoyed a book as much as this for a long time. I loved all the little stories she tells. You must read it during the day, it kept me up half the night I couldn't put it down. I didn't want it to end. I would definitely read more books by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
I would have appreciated the translations at the beginning of the book, rather than having to guess throughout the text.
A really great book, an excellent read. Thank you. I feel privileged to have read it, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Most people are unaware of the problems of women in certain countries who are widowed, divorced without choice or single. It makes for very sad reading the 21st century. However, I'm glad I read it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Gives a good insight into life in an undeveloped part of India.
An interesting read but with so many similar names it takes a while to identify who is who and when
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
I enjoyed this book and learned lots about this culture and the role of women. I liked the stories of the older generations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.