Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Red than Dead
An action/spy/comedy movie, which is a sequel to Red [DVD]. That was inspired by a graphic novel about retired spies. This movie is more of the same.

It might not work as a jumping on point if you've not seen the first film. But if you're reading this you probably have. So that shouldn't be a problem.

Following on from the end of said first film,...
Published 4 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mess.
I loved RED and really looked forward to RED2. Unfortunately I was dissapointed. Yes, there is plenty of action and mayhem but to be honest I felt that they had tried to get too much into the story.
The team is sent all over the world, It got more and more complicated. Virginia (Helen Mirren) is given order to kill them and that adds complications.
RED was...
Published 4 months ago by Peter Miller


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Red than Dead, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An action/spy/comedy movie, which is a sequel to Red [DVD]. That was inspired by a graphic novel about retired spies. This movie is more of the same.

It might not work as a jumping on point if you've not seen the first film. But if you're reading this you probably have. So that shouldn't be a problem.

Following on from the end of said first film, Frank [Bruce Willis] and Sarah [Mary Louise Parker] are now a couple. But whilst he wants to keep out of the spy life to keep her safe, she wants the danger and excitement of it.

When old friends return and old secrets come to light, she might just get her wish...

Nearly all of the cast from the first film return. Aside from Ernest Borgnine and Morgan Freeman. For obvious reasons. And Karl Urban. For no apparent reason. Although Brian Cox barely features. It tries do the same as before, that being outrageous action sequences and character comedy, and it doing those again there is enough new and different stuff in here to make it work.

When it comes to the central relationship though Bruce Willis does seem to be a bit bored and going through the motions. But Mary Louise Parker has such great comic timing, and like all the others in the cast is clearly having a lot of fun in making the film, that it works fine.

In striving for a light tone and a 12 certificate it does mean that when some of the violence does get slightly serious and people get hurt it does feel slightly out of tone to the rest of the film. But that's only a minor complaint.

Some may wish to be aware that a small handful of moments are subtitled. Subtitles you can't turn off. But that's no more than a few minutes.

All in all a very entertaining sequel and a good watch. A third film might be pushing it, but that probably won't happen anyhow since this underperformed at the box office. But I'm glad they made this, and that I got to see it.

The disc has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

It begins with several trailers, which you can skip via the next button on the dvd remote.

There's slightly more here extra wise that most dvds of late.

A four minute long gag reel. As ever with these in the middle of people pulling funny faces there are some mildly amusing moments.

Five deleted/alternate scenes. Which can be watched individually or all in a row. If you do the latter they run for four minutes in total.

Four featurettes, which can also be watched individually or in a row:

The cast.
The Weapons.
The spy gear and tactics.
The stunts.

Running times are twelve minutes, eight minutes, six minutes, and seven minutes. All are quite detailed and a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAPPENS IN THE KREMLIN, STAYS IN THE KREMLIN, 3 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The film incorporates Wikileaks as the new problem child for Moses Frank (Bruce Willis) and company. An article claims he and Marvin (John Malkovich) were involved in a 1979 operation called "Night Shade." They have become wanted men.

In an expanded role Sarah (Mary-Louise Parker) our meek lady from Kansas has become a thrill seeker and joins the group as they travel the world to find "Night Shade." In addition to Interpol and the Feds looking for our heroes, there is also a hitman (Byung-hun Lee) after them and Victoria (Helen Mirren) is also contracted to kill them...Malkovich proclaims "Friends don't take out a contract on friends." They are allied by KGB agent Katja (Catherine Zeta-Jones) to the displeasure of sweet innocent Sarah who says..."Can't we just kill her?"

The film is filled with Malkovich one liners which we enjoyed in the first movie. The expanded role of Sarah added to the feature. This is perhaps a notch below the first installment, but a worthy action-comedy sequel that will be in my collection when it comes out.

Parental Guide: No sex or nudity. One half spoken f-bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess with the RED guys, 14 Mar 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red 2 (DVD)
I did like this film. It is full of way over the top action, and loads of big explosions. I find this entertaining. The only reason I could not give it 5 stars is simple when you have one action scene after another for a whole hour my brain does start to switch off. This film is I 1 hour 40 minutes. I think they could have cut out about 20 minutes and I think it would have been perfect. The other thing that did let this film down for me was Bruce Willis' character when he is not in an action scene. It is similar (actually identical) to the character he played in at the beginning of the second whole nine yards film. Winy and camp. During action scenes he is as cool as ever.

The story Bruce is being framed for something called project "nightshade". Now he must first try and figure out what is "Nightshade" and who is actually responsible. The rest of the RED are also involved, but now all on the same side. Could this be anything but explosive? Personally as I grow older always find it fun watching the older guys schooling the youngsters. All in all a good but slightly over run action film, with some great one-liners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mess., 21 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved RED and really looked forward to RED2. Unfortunately I was dissapointed. Yes, there is plenty of action and mayhem but to be honest I felt that they had tried to get too much into the story.
The team is sent all over the world, It got more and more complicated. Virginia (Helen Mirren) is given order to kill them and that adds complications.
RED was basically a very good, solid story with a team that one could relate to. RED 2 just tries to do too much and too many twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Red 2, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Will have to watch this film again as, on first viewing, it wasn't as good as the 1st one. Second viewing may change my mind but not convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
bruce willis and co are great it just goes to show you one thing you cannot under estimate the older generation great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Oops..., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Would've like to tead that this is an ex-rental BEFORE I bought it.....
Dunno if it effects the disc. Box shows a bit of wear also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
great product at a reasonable price for a knew dvd. Very funny film which we all enjoyed
great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
The first film was better overall with a fun decent plot.
This isn't as strong but the actors seem to keep in all in place with some fun scenes helping.
Anthony Hopkins as always is great, not sure about C.Z.J though and with a dodgy accent. Helen Mirren: WOW

Overall, it's entertaining if it's a quiet evening for you and not much to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the film, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first and this was no different. Easy going and funny. Would recommend if you are not looking for a serious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac356570)

This product

Red 2 [DVD]
Red 2 [DVD] by Dean Parisot (DVD - 2013)
6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews