Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
good stuff
Published 25 days ago by P. A. Burton

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I GOT A REAL SHORT FUSE FOR INBREDS
The story centers around "The Hunter" (Martin Copping) a man who has survived the zombie outbreak. The outbreak was caused by use of a new and popular recreational drug of unknown origin. The Hunter eventually ends up with a small group of survivors which include Father Jesus (Danny Trejo) and two women who vie for the attention of the new guy. Their goal is to fly to the...
Published 17 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I GOT A REAL SHORT FUSE FOR INBREDS, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The story centers around "The Hunter" (Martin Copping) a man who has survived the zombie outbreak. The outbreak was caused by use of a new and popular recreational drug of unknown origin. The Hunter eventually ends up with a small group of survivors which include Father Jesus (Danny Trejo) and two women who vie for the attention of the new guy. Their goal is to fly to the proverbial safe island off the coast of California. The dialouge seemed fairly decent except for some unnecessary first person narration, which appears to have become too much of the norm since the success of "Zombieland."

Part of the film is shot as a grainy grindhouse, which worked well, but its use was haphazard and ended quickly. The music was grindhouse metal and the blood splatters on the camera lens. Fast Lane Debbie(Jade Regier) who is a better pole dancer than nurse, teases us with her overt sexuality. There was a WTF CG creature, apparently a new unquestionable plot must since a "Residence Evil" sequel did it.

The film had some good scenes and oozed with potential. If you are going to do a grindhouse film, you must go all the way to appeal to a grindhouse audience. This is a watered down film. Okay as a rental.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs that I recall. No nudity. Sex scene inspired by Natile Portman (keeps bra on)...seriously? In a Trejo grindhouse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "..AN AVERAGE POST-APOCALYPTIC ZOMBIE HORROR..", 26 Oct. 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big Danny Trejo fan as mainly why I watched this in the first place, shame he's not in the movie for more than about 10 minutes total, The story is about a new drug that takes over as the biggest street drug to ever go on sale which eventually somehow is the cause for the end of mankind, anyone who didn't die from the drug died from the zombie infestation they turned into, a few survivors now remain living in the wasteland which was once our homes. This is a half decent zombie movie, there certainly is much better ones but this has an original style that tries to be very grindhouse with its splatter gore that splashes up the camera view, and surreal colourful flash backs and fireball wipes etc, the movie has a reasonable cast, its good to see the last 2 chicks left on earth are a couple of hotties with big hooters! There is some good bloody kills in the movie but the effects are 50/50 with some good practical kills that are let down by a CGI kill that's not quite so good, there's even a half decent CGI monster zombie a bit like something ripped off from resident evil, If you like low rent cheesy horror zombie movies then check it out, its still rather entertaining, nothing worth going back to much though.

Blu-ray has a decent picture quality.
No features.
Region B, 89mins, 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars firstly the fact the the guy we would expect to be our main character going off the front cover at a glace isn't and has little, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Hunter (DVD)
This was a film full of disappointments: firstly the fact the the guy we would expect to be our main character going off the front cover at a glace isn't and has little more than a shockingly poor cg fight scene the looks like it was made in 5 mins by a student who had taken far too many drugs. Attempts at humour that just fail miserably. And most of all I was disappointed with myself for watching to the end. Like many others have said its a grind house style b movie the doesn't really do much grinding and that perhaps belongs further down the alphabet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Calling it a `B-movie' would be generous, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so we have a film called `Zombie Hunter' and it stars renown B-movie actor Danny Trejo. So... what are we expecting? I'm guessing that most of us know it won't be Shakespeare and would settle for some silly, over the top, zombie-bashing fun. Right?

I wish. Sadly, right from the start we're treated to possibly the most corny monologue from the film's leading man (who isn't Danny Trejo, incidentally). And, worst of all, this guy who seems to be doing his best impression of Christian Bale in the Dark Knight trilogy, keeps jabbering on all the way through the movie. Seriously, his monologues are so bad, you'd think they were funny - perhaps a way of making sure we didn't take this film seriously. However, they're just not amusing enough to be funny. There is no humour in this film.

If you have a B-movie with no stars and little budget, you don't expect it to try and compete with Hollywood's A-list efforts. You expect the film to play to its strength. However, this doesn't. It's not funny and, if it thinks it is then I simply missed every last `joke' in there.

You won't care about any of the characters. Every last one is a walking-talking cliché who you'll know whether they're destined to live or die from the first moment you see them.

Yes, the `zombie kills' are nice. They're filmed in slow motion and have a decent about of blood (albeit purple blood for some reason). However, zombies have been at the forefront of film-making since the first Resident Evil film. By now a film has to have more than just a bit of stylish direction when an undead creature is killed.

If you're looking for a cheesy zombie film to simply entertain you then look elsewhere. Or just stick to Shaun of the Dead. That's funny, gory and has characters you'll actually care about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Terrible!, 26 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
I was going to say I was pleased I only paid £1.50 for this dvd but I still felt robbed.
Absolute pants! terrible acting, no plot, terrible dialogue, terrible CGI, terrible terribleness and an entire pile of awful.
If you see this to buy used for 0.01p then pass it by and get something else. But not that awful Cowboys and Zombies - that was just as bad.
It dishonours the spirit of good Zombie films.
Absolute S***TE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 18 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Waste of money a real let down. Do your self a favour & save your money or buy some thing else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Zombie flop, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I did not get though 10 mins it was that poor but that's view if you have enjoyed it then that's fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will give you nightmares,...for all the wrong reasons!, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Am Sanders (Cambridge,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
If you like your zombie flicks with lame plots,dull characters,awful CGI with purple/pink blood/entrails splattering all over the camera lens then you're in for a treat.
Everybody else should steer clear of this steaming pile of garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its got great bookends but quite, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Danny is not the main lead in this and is not in the film for long, its got great bookends but quite paddedd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Zombie Movie Ever, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Zombie Hunter (Blu-ray)
Main character is a MadMax wannabe with catchphrases that make him look an idiot, film goes further down hill with really bad zombie make up and CGI rip off of Resident Evil monsters.Usual zombie story, A group want to escape to a better place free of zombies, stereotype Fat bloke, Slut, Old guy who can fly a plane plus others (guess whos gonna die). Not even worth watching for Danny Trejo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Hunter [DVD]
Zombie Hunter [DVD] by K. King (DVD - 2013)
£3.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews