Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Medley of Ghoulish Horror Fun
It's the near future and nearly everyone on Earth has died due to plunging temperatures and continuous snow. It's an Ice Age out there! Food ran out, people starved, the situation seems hopeless. At least two groups manage to survive though, living deep underground, and they agree to watch out for each other. There is always the worry about contagious disease wiping...
Published 5 months ago by Valerie J.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but enjoyable.
Due to some form of disaster (which is explained) the remainder of human civilization must survive arctic conditions whilst searching for a safe-haven. The colony itself is lead by Laurence Fishburne (he of calm authority) who to be fair probably raises the film from 2 stars alone. His second in command (played by Bill Paxton) has a harsh way of dealing with people who...
Published 10 months ago by godzilla78


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Medley of Ghoulish Horror Fun, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
It's the near future and nearly everyone on Earth has died due to plunging temperatures and continuous snow. It's an Ice Age out there! Food ran out, people starved, the situation seems hopeless. At least two groups manage to survive though, living deep underground, and they agree to watch out for each other. There is always the worry about contagious disease wiping out a colony and so if someone falls ill, they are quarantined. If they don't recover they have the option of being shot or walking off into the snow - not much of an option, is it? - but a ruthless guy called Mason (Bill Paxton) doesn't even want to give the sick that much. When Colony 7 receives an SOS from Colony 5, the leader of Colony 7, Briggs (Laurence Fishburne) decides to investigate and takes Sam (Kevin Zegers) and a youth, Graydon (Atticus Dean Mitchell) with him, leaving Mason and all the others behind. But what they find at Colony 5 is far more worrisome than the discontent they left behind at Colony 7.

The Colony (2013) has received very mixed reviews with some rightly stating that it seems like a lot of horror movies grouped together. I don't want to write any spoilers here (and be warned, the trailer is a bit of a spoiler) but it is true. However, I enjoyed the movie and I found the tension was building up nicely after the first half hour or so. Some of the science is a bit out of the window, I think. I mean, is it possible to have endless snow in a world that has frozen solid? Doesn't there have to be some warmth somewhere for water to evaporate, rise, cool, and fall as snow? Just asking.

Anyway, as I say, I enjoyed the movie and I did find myself holding my breath at times which is quite unusual for me. There are a couple or so of really graphic violence scenes which the squeamish might not like. I suggest you watch it with an open mind, give it a chance, and see what you think. For me, it was great, ghoulish, fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The colony, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Colony (DVD)
bit of a poor attempt at a horror movie far too predictable and not enough suspense not worth the time really far better movies on the same kind out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but enjoyable., 5 Sep 2013
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
Due to some form of disaster (which is explained) the remainder of human civilization must survive arctic conditions whilst searching for a safe-haven. The colony itself is lead by Laurence Fishburne (he of calm authority) who to be fair probably raises the film from 2 stars alone. His second in command (played by Bill Paxton) has a harsh way of dealing with people who may be ill and thus a threat to the colony from the common cold etc. The plot, script and characters are what you would expect from the genre - fairly predictable and lacking any depth.

All communication has been cut off from one of the other colonies so Laurence and a couple of others set off to investigate. Well you can imagine, things go horribly wrong which then becomes a fight for survival. I don't want to give any spoilers but if you have seen the trailer then you kinda know what to expect. And that is exactly what you get. The film doesn't offer any suprises and quickly becomes formulaic. There really isn't anything more I can say about the film, not the best but certainly not the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Postapocalypic pants, 31 May 2014
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
Colony aimed to tell a big story, of people struggling to survive in an arctic future, of the internal conflicts that seethe and boil in an enclosed, claustrophobic camp of survivors; of power struggles, the fear of disease, and of attack from those who've embraced the worst possibilities of a starving struggle for survival.

But there's only so much you can do with a tiny little budget, and plainly too much was spent on a few bang-flash FX, a greenscreen snowscape, and Laurence Fishburn and Bill Paxton - both of whom should have known better than to appear in something this trashy. In short order it dissolved into people pointlessly shouting at each other, running from Bad Things in endless, clanking underground corridors, and the unfeasible notion that humanity might be saved by one single tub of seeds (plant not specified). Colony makes the low-budget mistake of confusing aggression with atmosphere, and dumb, slugging it out with enthralling action. Fight scenes consist of people hitting each other more times than any human could endure with blunt or sharp instruments, or daft big explosions from convenient sticks of dynamite. The violence was so cartoonish, I almost expected Bugs Bunny and W E Coyote to arrive. By the time the ravening horde turned up (led by an incoherent nosferatu-substitute having an especially bad hair day) we had almost lost the will to watch to the end.

But we survived. However, films like Colony make it hard to depend on Laurence Fishburn's choice of future projects when he used to be one of our fave actors who selected interesting roles in deserving movies. What has happened to his career?
(Bill Paxton survives to thrive in the big time, it seems, putting in a sterling turn in Edge of Tomorrow...)
3/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold comfort, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
Not quite the horror some have tried to make out. This is more an action adventure movie with a fairly unique setting. The script isn't particularly strong, the characters are very familiar and whilst the budget isn't blockbuster, the sets look good and they have been well dressed. At the dawn of a new ice age, the earth's population retreated below ground in order to survive the harsh weather. We join one of these colonies and see that lack of food and medical supplies are a constant blight to the community. They're forced to make harsh choices when someone gets a sniffle! When radio communication from their neighbouring colony stops, a small band of heroes goes out in search of answers. They return with the bleak news that the other colony has come to a sticky end. Unfortunately, the gang of adventurers is followed back home! The general premise capitalises on this seemingly never ending apetite for zombie type rampages but the madness here is brought on by extreme circumstance and hunger rather than a virus. Paxton and Fishburne are dependable but ultimately, despite one or two impressive visuals, the movie doesn't deliver enough 'flash bang' entertainment in any department. Don't get me wrong, it's very watchable, just not as gripping as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic (for a B-movie anyway), 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
If this film was released in the cinema, you may come away regretting paying for having to sit through that. But it wasn't. It was released straight to DVD. And, among the other offerings that find their way into `bargain bins' up and down the country, this one actually stands out.

Basically, the world has suffered another ice age and the few survivors are left to fend from themselves in their `colonies.' The first thing that makes this movie nice is the setting. Yes, snow is pretty bleak and uninspirational, but it works well here and adds to the feel. Plus you have Lawrence Fishburne and Bill Paxton, who both turn in fine performances.

The story is slower in the first half and then changes pace when the action kicks off, so be prepared for that. It's also a bit of a mish-mash of other movies (you can play `spot the movie rip-off' a fair few times - I noticed bits borrowed from Day of the Dead, Dawn of the Dead 2004 and 28 Days Later), but you have to remember that it is just a B-movie.

It may be that `The Colony' is one of those movies that has a concept which actually exceeds its capabilities. Normally, when I watch a movie, I tend to want to cut out about half an hour of pointless bits from the middle. However, here's a film that I thought should have been longer. There are quite a few plot threads which could have been expanded on. However, because of the short running time (probably due to budget constraints), the film does feel a little rushed.

If you accept it for what it is - a B-movie - then you should enjoy it. It wouldn't stand up against Hollywood's big budget action movies, but it's not a bad way to spend an hour and a half of your time.

A generous 4/5 (maybe really a 3.5).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "You know you are scr---- when even rabbits won't f---", 14 July 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
If only I have listened to this warning, I would have saved 90 minutes of my life which I will never get back... Sadly, I didn't. I really wanted to like this film, but ultimately I couldn't. Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

In near future weather machines were build to control the climate change - but they malfunctioned... One day it began to snow and never stopped since... Most humans perished and the few survivors live in underground bunkers to escape the extreme cold of new Ice Age. In one such outpost, Colony 7, led by former soldiers Briggs (Laurence Fishburne) and Mason (Bill Paxton), a distress radio signal is received from Colony 5 - which after that remains silent... As Colony 5 is linked by a pact of alliance with Colony 7, Briggs takes two men, Sam (Kevin Zegers) and young Graydon (Atticus Dean Mitchell) and together they go to see what assistance they can offer. They will not like what they find... And then the film really begins...

This Canadian 2013 post-apocalyptic SF/horror had some potential, as the initial idea was good and the settings (grim industrial sites lost in the middle of frozen wastelands) were well done. At 16 million USD budget was honorable for a small production and two good, well known actors (Fishburne and Paxton) were hired. However, almost all this potential was cruelly wasted, mostly because of weakness of scenario, which seems have been written on the knee, during a short break taken by the scenarist from his day time job (which I would advise him NOT to quit...) .

Everything in this film is a cliché and every single development can be anticipated like 10 minutes in advance. We are told who will be Ze Bad Guy (ZBG) in the first 30 seconds of the film (it is the character played by Bill Paxton) and just in case the first scene in the film doesn't identify ZBG clearly enough, oh, I don't know, let's just name him Mason, to make things more obvious...))) Dialogs are completely devoided of interest and the ONLY memorable line in the film is the one used as the title of this review. In fact, the writer of the scenario was so uncomfortable with dialogs, that just to save himself some effort he made certain that half of the characters are unable to speak at all...)))

Both renowned actors, Fishburne and Paxton, are completely wasted in this film - one (not saying which one) has not enough time screen and the other is asked to do and say things that he himself cannot believe he is doing/saying them, so stupid and illogical they are... The main female character, Kai (Charlotte Sullivan) is just there to make some figuration and the main male character, Sam, is so pale and banal, that I completely didn't care what will happen to him... There are some action scenes, but they are really so lame that I simply fast forwarded them. Finally, last but not least, absolutely NOTHING in the story ever makes sense and every time when a promising idea or development appears, the director just kills immediately the person who could carry them...

Bottom line, this film is a major disappointment and almost a case study about how NOT TO make films... Two stars only for some nice images of this frozen world - otherwise AVOID this thing as if it was Mutant Drug Resistant Ice Age Flu...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good story line, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
Good story line, but like a lot of films, starts in the middle, and ends with lots of loose ends, could have made more of the story, with some good ideas not played through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
Hadn't seen Laurence Fishbourne for a while and brought the dvd because I wanted to see him. He lived up to my expectations although I was sorry he got killed off too early in the movie. The rest of the movie was lacklustre and the plot left gaps which begged questions. Somewhat predictable but just an ok movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WE LIVE AND DIE BY THE RULES,, 14 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Colony [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens as a prepper's orgasm. 400 hundred people live underground in a self sufficient colony. The world has been hit by climate change, famine, and disease. Apparently the flu virus survives year round frozen temperatures. People who have a disease, are killed or forced to leave the colony to prevent infection. Briggs (Laurence Fishburne) is in charge of the colony. His antagonist is Mason (Bill Paxton) a man who has his own, less humane set of survival ethics.

When an incident happens at Colony 5 (they are #7) Briggs takes off to investigate along with Sam (Kevin Zegers) plus token landing party victim.

The post apocalyptic scenery was good. The acting was good. The plot didn't really go anywhere that I found interesting. I don't want to give a lot away, but they spent a lot of time building Sam's character for him to be the most boring of the lot. Things do pick up when they get to Colony 5, but it was too late in the film for them to finally introduce the action scenes.

A soft 3 stars.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colony [DVD]
Colony [DVD] by Jeff Renfroe (DVD - 2014)
3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews