Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid medieval action film
Whilst this film clearly has a low budget it doesn't over stretch it's self and it does what it does very well. It has strong acting and costumes. The film is mostly set in woodland so we aren't subjected to any unconvincing sets. I would recommend this film to anyone who enjoyed films like Ironclad (2011) or the Black Death (2010). I would definitely watch this one again.
Published 6 months ago by Matthew

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total tripe
total tripe - do not bother. thought it was going to be like the "Vikings" TV series but it certainly was not
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. L. M. Mitson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid medieval action film, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this film clearly has a low budget it doesn't over stretch it's self and it does what it does very well. It has strong acting and costumes. The film is mostly set in woodland so we aren't subjected to any unconvincing sets. I would recommend this film to anyone who enjoyed films like Ironclad (2011) or the Black Death (2010). I would definitely watch this one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total tripe, 11 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day (DVD)
total tripe - do not bother. thought it was going to be like the "Vikings" TV series but it certainly was not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely interesting., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] (DVD)
I know this film was made on a shoestring budget, as it was made by my nephew, and I was most impressed with the atmosphere and
the story told was pretty accurate. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''I am Hereward of Northumbria!'', 12 Jan 2014
By 
Huscarl (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] (DVD)
What a thrilling find this one was. After recently watching (it that's the right expression) 'Hammer of the Gods' and finding it one of the worst films I've ever had the misfortune to witness, I was hesitant to return so quickly to the 'Viking' genre, except this isn't strictly speaking a Viking film, they are in it, in fact they are the bad guys chasing our hero's down but the hero's themselves are Anglo-Saxon (Englisc/Anglecynn are actually how our English ancestors described themselves, the term 'Anglo-Saxon' coming later into popular usage.) Straight away, this fact sets 'Darkest Day' apart from the bargain-bin two-bob horned Viking films out there.

We join a young Monk named Hereward (Marc Pickering), his older tutor named Father Ęthelstsan (Christopher Godwin) and a grizzled Wessex warrior going by the name Ęthelwulf (Mark Lewis Jones) - who all give excellent performances, as they protect the Lindisfarne Gospels on the journey to Iona after the Norse have ransacked the Northumbrian island in 793, heralding the beginning of the 'Viking age' on this island of Britain.

The opening statement of the film is actually a mistake, although an understandable one - one version of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicles does indeed give the date for the attack on Lindisfarne as 8th January 793, although most experts such as Michael Swanton, see this as 8th July 793 which would have made for calmer sailing conditions on the North Sea, and is also the date given in the 'Annals of Lindisfarne'.
The opening scene itself is ethereal and sceince-fiction like with an eerie, otherworldly feel as the naked and sobbing monks are herded by the Nordic incomers.

This is basically a 'chase' movie, as our three hero's are followed by a vicious Viking death squad, intent on capturing the priceless book. This film pulls no punches, there is a brutal rape and murder scene and a brilliantly disturbing one of Christ coming off the cross with his crown of thorns to tell young Hereward to ''become my wrath''. This film certainly feels authentic in terms of dialogue, costuming, and storyline and is a blessed relief compared to the aforementioned 'Hammer of the Gods' and the numerous other efforts of this genre which are hardly fit to be mentioned alongside this one.

Our small band are joined by an attractive Pictish woman (the Picts lived in northern Britain before the Scots invaded from Ireland - keep up at the back!), and also encounter a 'Christian' party in the wilds who are obviously still influenced hugely by the pre-Christ beliefs, which is a nice touch as there would still have been many pagans or heathens amongst the ordinary folk at this time in the late 700's.
What sets 'Darkest Day' apart is that it is not simply pro-heathen/pagan, as is popular at the minute, nor is it pro-Christian - at least not the kind of snivelling, pious, turn-the-other-cheek Christianity. As our brave warrior Ęthelwulf says, ''Does this not resemble the cross?'' as he thumps his sword into the soil, showing the cross shaped pommel. ''There are many ways to serve Christ, boy''.

Indeed, I was impressed by the complex religious issue's touched upon in the often contradictory Church history of England, especially the role the iron sword played in first converting the English/Saxons and then uniting them against a common foe in the pagan Danes and Norse.
I would go as far as to say young Hereward represents the English resistance to the Danes - weak and unsure at first after being taken by surprise, but quickly adapting to the threat and showing resolve to unite the land and repel the invaders. The end scene, where Hereward raises his sword and urges his followers to destroy the Viking longships coming into view on the ocean will get your blood pumping, that's for sure!

This film achieves what it sets out to do - tell a story from the oft-neglected Anglo-Saxon point of view and would be enjoyed by those who liked '1066-Battle for Middle Earth' and also another low-budget film set in the same period named 'Severed Ways' which also touches upon competing religious and social beliefs, from the Norse point of view in Vinland, North America. If you're interested in this time period, 'Darkest Day' is a must.

One minor problem which I blame on the marketing people rather than the director (Chris Crow), and that is the DVD cover - why o' why do they feel the need to put 'Viking' in such large letters and show a massed army in the background - all this achieves is attracting the wrong crowd who expect a big-budget 'Braveheart/300' film and end up disappointed and confused by a much smaller but much more intelligent and authentic story.
If the story is good enough, the film will sell but when it is marketed to the wrong crowd, it will get unfair criticism and end up in the bargain-bin alongside 'Hammer of the Gods' (damn, mentioned it again!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] (DVD)
good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A History well produced., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] (DVD)
Now the first thing to say is forget what you see on the cover. Why or who, never mind the WHAT produced a cover that has nothing to do with the film. Apart from the main figure who in the film is not a very nice Viking at all. This film is for its cost very well shot, uses people and setting to the maximun effect. It is no Gladiator, its not meant to be. It tells a story of how when the "men from the sea" came calling to what was one of our most important holly sites, and what happened. For those of you who want dragons and vast cgi armys doing battle with hordes of monsters cascading down from a volcano.....this aint for you.
If you want a well filmed, well acted and strong character film were people have actually thought about this important story and I for one think has deliverd that story then enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I was so looking forward to this but was extremely disappointed with a cast of less than 10 trying to ..., 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Viking - The Darkest Day (Blu-ray)
I thought this would have legs ........... it did, right out the door, what a shocker of a film. I was so looking forward to this but was extremely disappointed with a cast of less than 10 trying to portray a Viking invasion of the North East of England ... could have been so much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stilted, slow paced and cringe worthy.
Not a patch on other Viking movies or the recent Vikings series with Travis Fimmel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intersting Rather Than Scintillating, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steady performances and authentic looking settings but it is important to note that there is little historical fact to the story itself. That said still worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD]
Viking - The Darkest Day [DVD] by Chris Crow (DVD - 2013)
£4.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews